We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enought but a big odd”
Review of Poplar Lodge

Poplar Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arrowtown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Poplar Lodge
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We booked this place based on their website and didn't realise that this was a backpackers until we turned up.

We arrived and didn't know what we had to do? The main house is a reasonably old house that had 'private' stickers over most of the windows. We went in and had to ask someone (that was staying there) what to do and they told us that we have to phone the owners using the phone that was outside. Once we did this we were told which was our room. Luckily for us we had booked the studio unit that was seperate to the main house, as I don't think I would have wanted to have stayed in the main house.

The studio itself was really nice, an A framed unit, with a small kitchenette area, big bathroom and small TV.

The staff were really friendly and accommodating.

Overall the studio unit was really nice, even if it was a bit odd that it was on the same property as the main house.

Room Tip: Would definately recommend booking the studio unit if travelling as a couple, not in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank EmmaAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PoplarL, Owner at Poplar Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, found the studio unit comfortable and our staff friendly and accommodating. At times either the cottage or lodge could be booked to a private group - there were signs requesting privacy for those guests. We apologise that when you booked you were not given clear arrival instructions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2012

2011 - Booking accommodation was easy, management welcoming, I could store my bicycle safely, the kitchen was clean and well equipped, the bathrooms were great, the area and fellow travellers were quiet, the tariff reasonable. For the second visit, I explored the great eateries in Arrowtown! 2013 I'll be staying there again. Management are STILL welcoming and pleasant. Why go anywhere else. Stephen Jackson

Room Tip: Let them know if you are bicycling
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

The Lodge is a comfy and homy get away from Queenstown and a beautiful spot to explore the scenic area. The hosts are super friendly and extremely helpful if you ask for trips, walks or basically anything. Very clean rooms, large and clean bathrooms and showers. Made-ups rooms, towels and free tea and coffee. I enjoyed my stay there a lot and look forward to come back

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwiana178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PoplarL, Owner at Poplar Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a response. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in the lodge and look forward to seeing you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We stayed in on of the studios and had to keep the bathrom window closed as there was an awful odour coming in from outside think there may have been a septic tank nearby. Also we could hear everything from the studio next door the walls are paper thin.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ann m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PoplarL, Owner at Poplar Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Thank you for your comments and we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We apologise that you had keep your bathroom window closed - there is no septic tank either on our property or the neighbouring properties. We encourage guests to contact us immediately if there is a problem with their accommodation - we are available 24 hours a day to help.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

This was a great find. The rooms are clean, bathroom was incredibly clean for shared usage, and the owner was really friendly. We found this to be a great escape after spending a night in Queenstown. Would highly recommend to others!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahC05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PoplarL, Owner at Poplar Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Thank you for your comment and we are glad you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

This normal sized house with cottage out front is in a fab location a few steps from the wonderful Arrowtown centre, but having been converted into a backpackers for 20 people it doesn't work. Simply not enough room in kitchen or lounge to cater for this number. For me no homely feel, and in need of a total refurbishment and downsizing in the number of guests to a level suitable for the facilities.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HauntedHospital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PoplarL, Owner at Poplar Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Thank you for your comments and we are sorry that your stay at Poplar Lodge did not match your expectations. The maximum number of guests accommodated in the lodge is 16. Our facilities were obviously busy when you used them and we apologise for that. We welcome constructive critcism and are striving to improve wherever possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We loved the beautiful green outlook and access to walking tracks. The kitchen was a bit disorganised but the general living area was comfortable. The room was clean and comfortable. Pity about the group of motorbikers who didn't really have a backpacker mentality - in late and noisy! Also, once the hundreds of tourists left the village, it was charming to roam and visit the charming boutique movie theatre.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tav_mind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arrowtown hotels
0.2 mi away
New Orleans Hotel
New Orleans Hotel
#4 of 5 in Arrowtown
129 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arrowtown House Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Settlers Cottage Motel
Settlers Cottage Motel
#5 of 12 in Arrowtown
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Shades of Arrowtown
Shades of Arrowtown
#3 of 12 in Arrowtown
164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arrowtown Lodge
Arrowtown Lodge
#4 of 12 in Arrowtown
36 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arrowtown Holiday Park
Arrowtown Holiday Park
#1 of 4 in Arrowtown
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poplar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poplar Lodge

Address: 4 Merioneth Street, Arrowtown 9302, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Arrowtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Arrowtown
Price Range: £22 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poplar Lodge is now a holiday home, offering clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation in historic Arrowtown. With 7 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms there is space for everyone! Central heating,electric blankets, large garden, BBQ. A minute walk from the town, the river and tracks to the hills. Poplar Lodge is the ideal base for summer or winter activities. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing