We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely superb”
Review of Poplar Lodge

Poplar Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arrowtown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Poplar Lodge
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Not many hostels provide beds with heated mattresses, hot water bottles and extra blankets, but this one does! A lovely hostel with a homely vibe. Very comfortable beds, clean bathrooms, well-equipped kitchen and a stones throw from the Main Street. This place had real charm, and stood out from all the other hostels we stayed at in NZ. 10/10.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank emkay33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014

The lodge is in an excellent location, just off the main street of Arrowtown. The bedrooms and bathrooms were nicely furnished and immaculately clean. Great value for money. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katherineann1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Great value lodging which was really clean and well furnished. Jeremy and Aiden were a great help on arrival and with advice about onward travel. Kitchen is spacious and place doesn't feel crowded at all. A welcome retreat from the battery-hen hostels of Queenstown. Would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgp1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed in a double room sharing the bathroom and everything was net and clean.
Our only remark is that it might get quite busy in the kitchen if the hostel is full capacity.
They provide you great information regarding what to do an see around.

Room Tip: if you want to save money take the double room without a bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTraveller z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PoplarL, Owner at Poplar Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2013

Thank you for posting a review for Poplar Lodge - we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and found our facilities clean as this is a priority for us. We are always happy to help with advice to ensure you make the most of your time in Arrowtown - there is so much to do in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

The lodge is situated right in the beautiful town center of Arrowtown and is run by friendly hosts. The place is clean and very quiet. However, the kitchen furniture looked pretty old and a bit worn and I think it could need a make-over. The living room area had the charm of a doctor's waiting room with all the sofas and chairs lined up along the walls and I didn't fancy spending time there which I thought was a pity. Just try to re-arrange the furniture and add a bit of a cozier atmosphere, the house is really worth staying.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jboe12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PoplarL, Owner at Poplar Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am glad you found the lodge clean and quiet and hosts friendly. We are certainly lucky with our fantastic location right by the centre of historic Arrowtown yet in a quiet street.

I am sorry you did not find our comfortable lounge inviting. I have to say I am surprised though, as many of our guests comment on the homely feel of the lodge and tell us how much they enjoy our comfortable armchairs and sofas - it is a great space to relax and meet fellow travellers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

This is a rather more up-market backpackers than your average, and is in a fantastic location just seconds away from the main street of Arrowtown. Nice clean rooms, with a large lounge and clean kitchen. The owner was very helpful and stuck around to make sure one group weren't making too much noise late one night. If you're the kind of person who doesn't mind taking your shoes off at the front door, this is a wonderful place to stay. I'd definitely recommend it for those doing Arrowtown / Central Otago on a budget.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fh375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PoplarL, Owner at Poplar Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at Poplar Lodge and for taking the time to post a great review. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and appreciated the clean facilities and our location close to the town centre. Our priority is to ensure that guests have a comfortable stay and we are more than happy to help at any time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Bike racks on property - ours was right outside our room (room 7) and undercover. The Queenstown bike trail runs behind the hostel. 2 minutes walk to main street; 5 minutes walk to Chinese Village. Shared toilet/bathroom downstairs and more facilities upstairs. Communal kitchen and dining room/lounge. Light and airy and very welcoming. No lift. We had free internet use and at $70/double it is very good value.

Room Tip: If downstairs the best rooms are 6 and 7 as 5 backs onto the bathroom/toilet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marjorie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PoplarL, Owner at Poplar Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to make a review on Tripadvisor - it was good to see you both back at Poplar Lodge and bringing your friends too! We are glad you found our new bicycle racks useful. We are getting a number of guests either with their own bikes or hiring one of ours so the racks are proving very popular! Arrowtown is certainly a fantastic base to get out on the Queenstown Trail which runs just by the lodge.

Just for any future guests who might want to request a room with bike racks just outside the room, it is in fact room 5.

Hope we see you all back here in Arrowtown again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arrowtown hotels
0.2 mi away
New Orleans Hotel
New Orleans Hotel
#4 of 5 in Arrowtown
129 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arrowtown House Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Settlers Cottage Motel
Settlers Cottage Motel
#4 of 12 in Arrowtown
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Shades of Arrowtown
Shades of Arrowtown
#3 of 12 in Arrowtown
164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arrowtown Lodge
Arrowtown Lodge
#5 of 12 in Arrowtown
36 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arrowtown Holiday Park
Arrowtown Holiday Park
#1 of 4 in Arrowtown
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poplar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poplar Lodge

Address: 4 Merioneth Street, Arrowtown 9302, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Arrowtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Arrowtown
Price Range: £22 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poplar Lodge is now a holiday home, offering clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation in historic Arrowtown. With 7 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms there is space for everyone! Central heating,electric blankets, large garden, BBQ. A minute walk from the town, the river and tracks to the hills. Poplar Lodge is the ideal base for summer or winter activities. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing