We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Salads in New Zealand” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of A Taste of Gibbston Valley

A Taste of Gibbston Valley
Ranked #16 of 41 Restaurants in Arrowtown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: New Zealand, European, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Visit our wine tasting room in historic Arrowtown. Stop in for a wine tasting and try our range of Gibbston Valley Wines.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Salads in New Zealand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

My partner and I visited Arrowtown during the Autumn festival and had a great lunch at the Gibbston Valley restaurant. I had the chefs salad and my partner had the salmon. Everything was so fresh, well prepared and well presented. It really made our trip great as it was just one day. I was pleasantly surprised by the range of gluten free options and thought the small shop was a nice touch. Would definitely visit again when I'm next in Arrowtown.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Janefrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    45
    9
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“FOOD soooo YUMMY and Unique”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

I love good service and I looove unique, out of the ordinary food-GO to this special little cafe and get both with the added extras of a fun larder to buy great and different local food AND wine-tasting too!! The team was kind and friendly and the cafe was so interesting to look around-so many quirky fun things to buy, eat, read and do! AND did I say how yummy the food!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RobinaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wagga Wagga
Level Contributor
166 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“I wish I could give it 6 stars!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

This little establishment is outstanding in every respect! We had lunch here on a cold and windy day after some Arrowtown retail therapy and we were thrilled with our visit. Here's why:
1. Ambience - gorgeously rustic in keeping with Arrowtown. A great atmosphere.
2. Staff and service - friendly, helpful, efficient - Kiwi hospitality at it's best!
3. Drinks - amazing hot chocolate! Excellent coffee - wine looked pretty good but we did not have any on this occasion!
4. Food - DIVINE!! Seriously, the chef is a genius - the best Carbonara I have ever had ANYWHERE! A really unusual and varied menu using the best of fresh NZ produce.
I would thoroughly recommend this establishment and it would love to have another meal here before I leave NZ.
Will done to all the staff at A Taste of Gibbston Valley - this is a real gem!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank sophieWaggaWagga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilversum
Level Contributor
92 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Breakfast, coffee and chocolate cake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

In this lovely town we had breakfast and coffee with cake. This was our best breakfast in month here in NZ. We had oven baked eggs with salmon, coddfosh crockets, toasted fruitbread. The coffee was perfect and not burned or bitter l(ike often in NZ) and the chocolate cake was perfect. They serve healthy fresh made juices and mixes right out of there kitchen! Service is excellent'

Helpful?
2 Thank Cotje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Wine tasting as good as the vineyard”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We did the wine tasting with Tamaki, who was just fantastic and we would recommend her in a heart beat! The cheese platter was good and they were really helpful about adding a gluten free option.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank julznz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed A Taste of Gibbston Valley also viewed

Arrowtown, Otago Region
 
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 

Been to A Taste of Gibbston Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing