We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience even for 60 something's!”

Arrowtown Bike Hire
Book In Advance
More Info
US$55.65*
and up
Half-Day Self-Guided Ride and Wine Bike Tour from Arrowtown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Arrowtown Bike Hire is located in the beautiful alpine village of Arrowtown, and provides mountain bike hire for recreational riders who wish to explore the historic town or ride the local trails. With a range of wilderness trails suitable for all skill and fitness levels, riders can cross the famous Kawarau Bungy Bridge pedal past vineyards along the new Queenstown Trail.
Auckland
1 review
“Great experience even for 60 something's!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Fabulous varied scenery on great bikes. Friendly helpful service - we weren't just another number. Thanks!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kaypip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abante, Manager at Arrowtown Bike Hire, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Your a star! The only numbers we like to use are our phone numbers 0800 224473! Thanks for letting us know we hit the mark, as we are concerned, every ones is special! If you would like to be treated like a number, phone the Inland Revenue Department! lol. Look forward to seeing you again soon! Adin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    18
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing views and wine whilst riding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

The cost of the bike hire for the day was reasonably cheap and definitely worth it. It includes fantastic scenery including riding alongside Kawarau River and the Gibbston Valley wineries. We were driven out to the wineries to start off our ride near the bungy jumping. It was convenient for us because we wanted to ride between wineries. We were told several facts about the area including that some of the Lord of the Rings movie was filmed along the river. We visited several wineries including the Gibbston Valley winery that also had a cheesary. The ride was easy enough but the view was absolutely breath taking. Most wineries had free wine tastings. The cheesary included several different platters of local cheeses. We had a voucher given to us by the bike hire which paid for some of the platter. Our ride back to Arrowtown took around and hour to complete and is a 15km ride back. It was worth the views that we saw around sunset.
An overall fantastic way to visit wineries and experience Gibbston Valley and Arrowtown.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Krisbrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abante, Owner at Arrowtown Bike Hire, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thanks Team for the great review! We where looking at charging extra if you want to look at the scenery, but then we decided to throw it for free! Tell everyone, free scenery when you ride with Arrowtown Bike Hire!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
“Big thumbs up!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Friendly folks with a well-maintained fleet of bikes. Very knowledgeable about the surrounding paths and trails, (which are excellent). Hop to it!

Visited July 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abante, Owner at Arrowtown Bike Hire, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thanks Dave, that's a big thumbs up for riding at anytime of the year with Arrowtown's biggest and only all year bike hire shop. No casual part time summer only gigs at this joint. love your work, hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

The views and scenery were great and different the whole way. A great way to get some exercise and fresh air then watch people jump of a bridge at the end!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Katiestep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abante, Owner at Arrowtown Bike Hire, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you Katiestep, your awesome! just goes to show you can ride with Arrowtown Bike Hire any time of the year. Look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“Arrowtown Bike Hire Review”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Hi, my partner and I hired some bikes for half a day last Saturday from Arrowtown Bike Hire. It was a brilliant day weather wise, though a little frosty at the start but we soon warmed up. We did the 30km return ride to Gibston Valley Winery. We had a lovely lunch and tasting at Gibston and then made our way back. The trails themselves were highly maintained and easy to ride, with only a few hilly bits.The bikes were of a really high standard, comfortable seats and all in all it was an thoroughly enjoyable experience.

Visited June 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank angela r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abante, Owner at Arrowtown Bike Hire, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
You guys are awesome! Thank you and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Arrowtown Bike Hire also viewed

Arrowtown, Otago Region
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 

Been to Arrowtown Bike Hire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing