We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Neat old pub”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of New Orleans Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New Orleans Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Arrowtown
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Neat old pub”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Enjoyed our stay. Just a bit noisy at night when people were walking past our room many times in the wee small hours.

But very nice room and a great place to stay.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms are probably the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toddhunting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    28
    30
    20
    16
See reviews for
15
65
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
new zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

we stayed for a weekend never again and i did ask about the noise we were told its ok,well that was far from the truth we had room right by the stairs,up the back side right by the pub balconey the noise was terrible as place was packed we didnt get to sleep for hours,when i bought it to attention off the person i paid they didnt seam to care at all even though its a prime spot and place to stay i perfer to be never there again i think the price is to dare for what you put up with the rooms are fine just way to noisey would only use if i was desperate again it may be ok when the pub its self is not busy perhaps date was feb 2011

Room Tip: dont stay close to pub side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familyafair8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Arrowtown hotels

Akaroa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

i booked 2 rooms for a weekend 5 months ago the booking was confirmed by email, arrived there to be told that they were fully booked and no rooms for us. They offered to put us up in a older motel they owned, which was luckly as there wasn't any other accommodation left in arrowtown as it was concert weekend. we were disappointed that they had mucked the booking up, what would have happened if they didn't have another motel to put us in???
On the plus side they did give us a $100. meal voucher as an apology. I can not review the rooms as we didn't get to stay in the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank laurice b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

Woken at 12:49am by fire alarm. No management on site, very cold outside, 45 minutes later fire brigade gains access and disables the alarm. Wake at 8am to find there's no hot water. Manager did not seem too worried.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north yorkshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

What can I say? I should have taken a picture of it . Most certainly the worst lamb shank I have ever been presented with.
My best description of it is "a dried up bone with a bit of meat stuck on the end, swimming in a sort of red gravy with a watery mash awash in the stuff". Ugh!
C'mon New Zealand . You can do better than that!
Or I hope you can.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank journeyman064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

Room booked was described as attached to the 'inner courtyard', which would have been accurate if by courtyard they meant 'back alley'. I called the hotel to book a room, as I wanted to make sure it was quiet enough to accommodate our 18 month old son. Was told the hotel was only noisy on the weekends (our stay was during the week) and they put us in what they described as the 'quietest' room. Literally five feet from our door were ten trash and recycling containers into which were dumped glass bottles day and night. Next to this was a plastic table (complete with cigarette butts outside our 'non-smoking' room) used as a break table for hotel/pub staff, and we could hear every word of conversations through our wall (which was a paper-thin sheet of glass with blinds). Mops, ladders, laundry and building materials were scattered throughout our tranquil 'courtyard'. The room itself was fine, reasonable for the 115/night we paid, although the shower drain clogged, flooding the bathroom on our last day. I have to say I was really not expecting a lot, as the room was priced similar to (not below) the cheaper motels and holiday parks in Arrowtown. Furthermore, I can certainly appreciate that much more effort is put into the restaurant patrons than hotel guests. It's a budget accommodation, attached to a restaurant. I get that. However, I am baffled by how a hotel can put its guests between its trash cans and employee break table, describe it as a 'quiet' room and 'sell' the property as possessing an 'inner courtyard', and expect 'guests' to leave content. Finally, while mentioning where we were staying to business associate living in Arrowtown, the New Orleans accommodations were twice described as a dive. I only wished I had asked their opinion before we booked our room. The only plus was that our son's inordinate love of 'trash trucks' was fulfilled by the rubbish lorry's visit to our room. Thank you, New Orleans Hotel, for providing our son with such unrivaled entertainment.

I've never left a 'terrible' review on trip advisor, but I felt compelled to do so after our stay at the New Orleans. Never again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 301djd43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2011

Average accommodation and pleasant bar, however continental breakfast was miserly. Don't expect to feel satisfied or any extras.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anonymous255119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrowtown
0.2 mi away
Arrowtown House Boutique Hotel
7.8 mi away
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
#28 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
11.7 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Arrowtown Holiday Park
Arrowtown Holiday Park
#1 of 4 in Arrowtown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
1.3 mi away
Millbrook Resort
Millbrook Resort
#1 of 5 in Arrowtown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orleans Hotel

Property: New Orleans Hotel
Address: 27 Buckingham Street, Arrowtown 9302, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Arrowtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Arrowtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in beautiful Arrowtown on famous Buckingham Street, The New Orleans (New O, as the locals call it) is one of the last historical running hotels in New Zealand. We pride ourselves on providing simple, honest old fashioned hospitality. The hotel has 9 well appointed rooms all featuring free wifi, new furniture, bedding and decor (updated 2012). Our award winning Bistro and Bar featuring local seafood, extensive wine list, NZ Craft Beer and much, much more is open 7 days from 8am. Recently we have extended our premises to Include Little Micky Finns, Arrowtown's very own Irish and Gourmet Pizza Bar. Featuring genuine Emerald Isle Memorabilia and boasting the best Whiskey collection in town. Book now. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing