We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room in a stunning town”
Review of New Orleans Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
New Orleans Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Arrowtown
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great room in a stunning town”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We were genuinely impressed by the 'deluxe' room we got at New Orleans Hotel. The decor was really quite classy, the room was very clean and had a view out over the riverbed behind the main street. Double glazed windows meant our room stayed toasty warm all night. An extra blanket was provided just in case. Tea/coffee equipment was good quality and all very clean and nicely presented. The accomodation part is set off to the side of the pub/restaurant so we had no problem with noise at all, and its main street location made it so simple to wander the township.The price was great too - we had stayed at a hotel in Queenstown the night before which was more than double the price which was very disappointing by comparison.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabby3317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    29
    32
    20
    17
See reviews for
15
68
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Good clean room, thoughtful staff and very Eco- friendly power saving room. Just enjoy the tranquility of the mini town and have a good view outside the window , thought nothing but relax. It's a hotel with legacy. Also there is a bar and pool downstairs.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yannanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We would first like to say that the staff here are wonderful, the food was reasonably prices, to portions generous and the food tasty.

However, the room (room 10 in ourcase) was cramped with three beds in the room, two pushed together to form a double and the single blocking the toilet door.
The decor was, we can only assume, was in the process of being updated since someone had painted a ring around the light fittings near the door
There was a nasty looking stain on the carpet by the bed.
And like previously mentioned you had to hop over the single bed to get into the bathroom (which was large, spacious, and bright!?!)

But NONE of this matters because of the noise. We're not sure what makes so much noise but we thought it might be the extractor fans from the kitchen but that doesn't explain what piece of machinery keeps trundling into life every hour during the night, that is covered by some wooden fencing outside room 10's door. It is so loud that we did not get a proper nights sleep on any of the three nights we were staying. Not great for a romantic long weekend.

The location is great, the hotel is nice but the noise will put us off reccomending the hotel or staying again

Room Tip: "Room ten is NOISY"
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dangermouse715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Arrowtown hotels

Gosford, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We Spent a very enjoyable night here. Very good clean room, good food in the pub, nice open fire, with friendly efficient staff. The atmosphere in the pub made you want to sit and enjoy the fire and food. It is a very nice country town with old world charm. As we are here in Autumn the trees were all in full colour.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thriftysusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

First start off on a high note. the food at sinner was really tasty. Our room was so crowded with 2 beds that we had to lift our suitcases over the bed to enter the room. The double bed was shaped like a V. We had to hug the edges of the bed otherwise we slid into the center. It was cold that evening and the heater wasn't working. We t and got the manager but he couldn't get it to work either. We managed vy putting on a few layers of clothing and the next day they sis five us a portable heater.
This is thepart that upset me. The aecond night they had a band play at the pub. No problem, couldn't really hear them play and anyway they close at 11pm. At 3:20 AM we hear 3 blokes talking really loudly out side our room. I stick my head out and ask them to please quiet down. they apoligise but continue drinking and getting louder and louder. I asked a few times but I didn't want to deal with 3 drunks. I tried to call the hotel manager vut nobody is around. I was just avout to call the police at around 4am when they left. I explained to the owner and manager the next day why that was irrisponsible to leave tneir fuests to fend for themselves. In their favor, they insisted we take back one nights' payment and the owner said he was working on exactly that problem of who to call. I hope they do that and get some new mattresses. the town is great and it's close to Queenstown.

Room Tip: Maybe the new rooms that have a wooden door are better than the glass door we had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annallen_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We stayed here on our holiday to New Zealand and we absolutely loved it! It was traditional and comfortable and was very country side! It is very close to Queenstown and is great if you have a car! Arrowtown itself is really beautiful and I would hands down recommend this place!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mitchellp22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Its a while since I have stayed in a "pub" but on checking in to the New Orleans it was like a walk back in time. However the room was beautifully appointed with new fittings, an ensuite and a view over the Arrow River. The New Orleans may have been built in 1866 howver i was more than comfortable in my room. Off to the bar for a few craft beers and a chat to the Owner was informative and very friendly. that night we dined in the hotel restaurant and after a hearty soup of the day I topped mine off with local Blue Cod a real local delicacy. On return to Australia the total cost for room, dinner and breakfast came to a mere AUD$ 130 Real value for money in an area with plenty to do and see. Thanks New Orleans...

Room Tip: Room with a view a must here
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Codes_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrowtown
0.2 mi away
Arrowtown House Boutique Hotel
7.3 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Queenstown Remarkables Park
7.8 mi away
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
#26 of 58 in Queenstown
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Millbrook Resort
Millbrook Resort
#1 of 5 in Arrowtown
1,002 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arrowtown Motel Apartments
0.5 mi away
Arrowtown Holiday Park
Arrowtown Holiday Park
#1 of 4 in Arrowtown
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orleans Hotel

Property: New Orleans Hotel
Address: 27 Buckingham Street, Arrowtown 9302, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Arrowtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Arrowtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in beautiful Arrowtown on famous Buckingham Street, The New Orleans (New O, as the locals call it) is one of the last historical running hotels in New Zealand. We pride ourselves on providing simple, honest old fashioned hospitality. The hotel has 9 well appointed rooms all featuring free wifi, new furniture, bedding and decor (updated 2012). Our award winning Bistro and Bar featuring local seafood, extensive wine list, NZ Craft Beer and much, much more is open 7 days from 8am. Recently we have extended our premises to Include Little Micky Finns, Arrowtown's very own Irish and Gourmet Pizza Bar. Featuring genuine Emerald Isle Memorabilia and boasting the best Whiskey collection in town. Book now. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your New Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing