We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing memorable”
Review of Pesto - CLOSED

Pesto
Price range: US$0 - US$17
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nothing memorable”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

the music was so loud and irritating when we went in we had to ask for it to be turned down as we couldn't even talk across the table to each other. there was only one waitress working for a lot of customers, who barely spoke to us apart from asking if we were ready to order.

The kids weren't offered any coloring in books which they had been given in the past. It would have been nice to entertain them due to the long wait for food.

Our orders were taken before a large table of people, the kids were complaining that they were served before us. it took a long time for our garlic bread to be served. the fries were soft and undercooked. The kids said the food was ok but not great. I ordered the Osso Bucco, the sauce and mash were tasty but there was barely any meat in it, just a lot of chewy fat - i left this on the plate as i had to try find the meat amongst the fat, and wasn't asked if the meals were enjoyed. Far too pricy at $26 for basically a small serving of mash and gravy.

once a second waitress came onboard we were served in a more relaxed manner.

The kids liked their sundaes but said they were full of whipped cream, more than ice cream and at $10 each its a lot for a kids dessert. The doughnuts were tiny dough balls, tasteless and a rip off at $13, i offered these to the kids and they didn't like them either.

Has a nice decor but the food and service wasn't enough to warrant the price or returning.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank apricots9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    39
    13
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
115 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice but .....”
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

We went as a group to this restaurant and were well attended to. The food was lovely and tasty. However, apart from the pasta and pizza dishes, the portions were a bit on the small side and we left hungry. Had been riding all day and for the price were surprised at portion sizes

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank na0mic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice, family-friendly find in Arrowtown”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We went here twice during our week in Arrowtown. One time we were just about the only ones there and the other time it was packed - both times service was friendly and attentive. The kids liked the pizzas and the gnocchi special dish I had was excellent - tasty and well-prepared.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Love the Pizza”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Picked up a take away the other night, Loved the thin base and real toppings. Nothing like the cardboard the franchise places serve. Pizza the way it should be.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank BarterTrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great little pizzeria”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We have been to Pesto many times over the years when visiting Arrowtown as we have family who live there. Pesto is generally very good. One aspect which can be an issue is the lack of booking for small parties. You either get there early i.e.: before 7pm or you go prepared to wait. Luckily though, if you take the latter option, just across the alleyway is the famous Blue Door bar which is run by the same owners, and this is where you wait. The maitre-d will take your name and come to find you there which is a nice touch, rather than you having to pop back intermittently.

The pizza menu hasn't changed much in a very long time, but this is part of the charm for us as we now know our favourites, but the options are all very delicious with interesting combinations. I cannot comment on the degree of change for the pasta and other main options. It is a great family restaurant, and generally we've had good service from wait-staff, who are often internationals. Having said that, on more than one occasion we've had one meal that arrives almost at the completion of the others being eaten. Whether that is a fault of front of house or kitchen, we've never been given an explanation nor an opportunity for compensation, but it does put a dampner on the meal if entertaining others.

It has great atmosphere, is always bustling and busy, and is a very good option for a relaxed evening meal in Arrowtown. Beware though: wear layers that can be removed as it's always stiflingly hot in there!

Highly recommended, and we'll be returning :)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank dreamsRfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pesto also viewed

Arrowtown, Otago Region
 
Arrowtown, Otago Region
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing