We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful curries”
Review of Saffron Restaurant

Saffron Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 41 Restaurants in Arrowtown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Seafood, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The award-wining Saffron Restaurant, located 20 minutes from Queenstown in historic Arrowtown, is known worldwide for its fabulous food and wine. Tourists, foodies and locals all appreciate the zest and passion of this vibrant establishment. Saffron showcases the best seasonal local produce of the South Island. The wine list, featuring the top producers of Central Otago wines, matches the contemporary cuisine and attentive service. Across the historic alleyway from Saffron is The Blue Door bar, the perfect place to start or finish an evening. Further along is Agave, offering a more relaxed dining style with a great mexican cuisine. Suited to all seasons, Saffron has the choice of outside dining in spring, summer and fall, and a blazing indoor fireplace in winter. Open 7 days a week Lunch from 12 noon Dinner from 6pm
St. Louis
Level Contributor
225 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Wonderful curries”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

In Arrowtown, on the main drag at 18 Buckingham Street, phone 0064-3-442-0131. Very expensive. A small dining room, very popular, so reservations are essential. Beer and wine only. A very good wine list, and with very reasonable prices. Great specials, great lamb and fish dishes, wonderful curries. Try the lentil soup.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GreggSt_Louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    352
    90
    54
    22
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Stellar nosh!”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

ANZAC day was busy in Arrowtown but we managed an early walk in table for lunch. The menu was not huge but choosing was difficult as one kept being tempted as the next option was read. We settled on the dry beef curry and the braised lamb. They were both, in a word, extraordinary. The subtlety of flavours in the lamb in a deliciously rich stock left me wanting to lick the plate. I asked for a spoon! The beef curry was in my wife's opinion exceptional / and we have eaten extensively in India. The advice re wine was spot on notwithstanding somewhat rushed service that may have been impacted by the arrival of a table of 20 non English
speaking guests. Not our first visit to Saffron and definitely not our last.

Helpful?
Thank Timww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
115 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Delicious high quality dining”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

A meal at Saffron is well worth the taxi fare from Queenstown. Lovely atmosphere with excellent staff. I have to rave about the eye fillet, that was accompanied by a chunk of smoked beef cheek... as in just smoked and still smoking. Oh my goodness..... and the steak was superbly cooked. We were unfortunately a bit rushed (our fault completely), and I look forward to going back and savouring the experience over a few hours.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JnKnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Most creative and best chef in Queenstown area”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Probably the best chef and most innovative in the Queenstown area. Pretty and romantic restaurant. Good service. Have you ever had truffle ice cream? Goat cheese sorbet? Baked banana with pomegranate and sweet couscous Moroccan style? Only problem is to drive to Arrowtown and park. But worth it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank haciendado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“One of the Best”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

One of our best dining experiences in recent times.
The menu is comprehensive, and the chef (co-owner) produces his magic before your eyes behind a facade of highly polished copper pans that he no longer uses due to the high cost of annual maintenance - he now uses imported French pans..
The service is excellent and overseen by the other owner, the chef's better half.
The wait staff had a complete grasp of the menu and variations, and also the local wines.
The owners have also produced a magnificently illustrated book of the region through the seasons and also some recopies that they use.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saffron Restaurant also viewed

Arrowtown, Otago Region
 
Arrowtown, Otago Region
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 

Been to Saffron Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing