We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant and relaxing lunch”

Stables Restaurant & Wine Bar
Ranked #9 of 41 Restaurants in Arrowtown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$26
Cuisines: European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Enjoy the ambience of our fully restored 1876 stone building. Open for lunch and brunch from 11am with dinner being served from 5pm. Our al fresco setting is extremely popular during the summer months or take a step back in time in our beautiful interior for fireside dining. Our food is classic and hearty, focusing on slow cooked New Zealand produce, Aged steaks from the grill, and fresh seasonal produce. An excellent array of Central Otago wines. Feel free to join us for a full dining experience or enjoy some beverages and tapas.
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Pleasant and relaxing lunch”
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

We Arrived without a reservation for lunch but we were quickly offered a nice table on the lawn. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The food was served efficiently and was delicious especially the steak pie. We highly recommend The Stables for a pleasant and relaxing lunch.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank PJC953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    138
    34
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful anniversary dinner here. The staff really took care of us, good food, lovely atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

The food was okay but we were seated upstairs where there was no outlook (perhaps that was our fault for not asking). That could have been okay but the music was turned up so loud it was hard to talk and although we asked for it to be turned down, this wasn't done. It made it hard to enjoy our meal and we felt we had to leave as soon as our main was served. Service was slow too.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank morgandNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Perfect for a hot day”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Drove in from Wanaka for a visit and it was the outdoor seating that got our attention. At first sign asking for kitchen help and wait staff did concern us but we wanted to give it a try. Waitress greeted us and we got a nice table for two in the courtyard in the shade as it was quite warm. Meal was quite tasty and did not notice what was described as wait time issues.
I would come back again

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“sat in the garden with supurb food and a smile!”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Arrowtown is touristy and I wasn't expecting anything special on the food front but what a gem the Stables Café Restaurant is, sat here in the garden, warm & cloudy, sent of rosses, great food excellent service and for our late lunch can't think of anywhere better!
Sue just consumed a delicious homemade scone, with lashings of Jam & cream, greedy me had a main of pulled shoulder of lamb with homemade potato gnocchi and lamb broth, sensational, melted in the mouth whilst I was reading my emails (excellent free wifi) and the coffee is spot on, highly recommended and well worth seeking out if you are in the area.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BigDen55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stables Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

Arrowtown, Otago Region
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 
Arrowtown, Otago Region
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 

Been to Stables Restaurant & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing