We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, budget but very good in this price bracket”
Review of Ryley Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ryley Motor Inn
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Wangaratta
Reviewed 6 December 2012

For 80 something $ per night, I was expecting something very ordinary and was pleasantly surprised by the Ryley. While it is basic in design and decor, it is quite comfortable and very clean and light. As well as quite a reasonable bed, there was a microwave and fridge, a table and chairs, good quality tv and free wifi. The common area has a pool and several outdoor settings. There is a nice park next door and the centre of town is 5-7 minutes walk. The owners were friendly and efficient. Very good value all in all. Some renovations were underway too.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank galtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2012

I take a break at this motel on my way from Canberra to Geelong. The motel has everything needed for an overnight break. Beds are comfortable, rooms are warm when cold and cool when it is hot. The ensuite is very functional. Hairdryer, and coffee/tea making faciilities. Flat screened TV.. The motel does not have a restaurant but it is central to town and restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Having booked a family unit of 2 bedrooms for 2 nights we were surprised to be directed to a very dark unit. The entry led into the main bedroom with a queen bed, a small bench, little refrigerator, and microwave - nowhere to wash dishes or chairs to sit on. The other bedroom was internal with no ventilation and the bathroom rather basic. Both rooms featured a heat pump and TV BUT there was nowhere to sit so what were four adults going to do? Because of lack of ventilation the unit had a peculiar smell. We booked out of the motel and the owner said our money would not be returned. Our booking had been done via Agoda but the hotel claimed that they would be charging for both nights. As to where we could sit - well - they had an outside area with plenty of chairs! After numerous emails Agoda has agreed to refund us.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pianostar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

My wife and I stayed here for one night while touring around Victoria. Our room was small (I think it was the smallest one in the motel) but it suited our needs perfectly. The room had a new digital tv and new heat pump which we put to good use while it was -2 outside.
The motel is within walking distance to many shops and restaurants so no need to get back in the car after a long days drive.
The hosts were very friendly and made us feel welcome. Would definitely stay here again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DareDevilDerek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

If you're driving the Hume Highway between Melbourne and Sydney, this is a very convenient stop to break up the trip. The staff were really friendly, and they offer free DVD rental (though the selection is a bit limited) which was a bonus after a long day of driving. We stayed during Easter weekend and so I suspect we paid a little more than usual, because I didn't feel the value for our money was great. The room was a bit dark/dingy and the bed wasn't all that comfortable, but there was no noise and I slept well. They also have a pool, which we didn't use but was a nice touch. All-in-all it was just fine, but I would probably try my luck with a different place next time.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Rooms are in need of updating. Carpet worn and old. Bathroom although clean was old with rust around taps. Some staff were friendly. Was not able to sleep in as the plumbing noises from next door was atrocious. You get what you paid for. The best thing in the room was the chairs which were very comfortable. I think I would prefer to pay $30 more for a better standard of room. Parking was very tight and not close to your room.Grounds were pleasant.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shirley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

I stopped in for the night on a recent road trip on the Hume Highway. While the hotel is clearly quite old, it is well maintained. The room was very comfortable and clean. The bathroom is small.

Hosts are very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dvd_blah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wangaratta hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Wangaratta Gateway
0.2 mi away
Hermitage Motor Inn
Hermitage Motor Inn
#5 of 10 in Wangaratta
91 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Warby Lodge Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Wangaratta Motor Inn
Wangaratta Motor Inn
#7 of 10 in Wangaratta
81 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parkview Motor Inn
Parkview Motor Inn
#2 of 10 in Wangaratta
237 reviews
1 mi away
Advance Motel
Advance Motel
#4 of 10 in Wangaratta
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryley Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryley Motor Inn

Address: 52 Ryley St, Wangaratta, Victoria 3677, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Wangaratta
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Wangaratta
Price Range: £81 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ryley Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ryley Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing