We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adequate” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Advance Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Advance Motel
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Wangaratta
Certificate of Excellence
Wellsford, New Zealand
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Adequate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

The hosts are friendly and accommodating, the rooms are clean and comfortable but quite small. We stayed one night and for a short stay this motel was adequate. It also has the advantage of being located close to town.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Lesley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
takeabreaktoday, Owner at Advance Motel, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    64
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
49
63
14
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Us couple of guys stayed here at the Advance on Sunday evening 15th December on our way to Melbourne. Easy to find, friendly welcoming couple, inexpensive, clean, comfortable, good bedding, good shower and quiet, what more could one want after a long drive from Sydney? The references to the local eateries was helpful as well. A much needed walk into the town centre was only 10 minutes. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cadigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
takeabreaktoday, Owner at Advance Motel, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Thank you boys :) It was a pleasure having you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

I wouldnt hesitate to book this motel again ... great levy bank tracks into town ...loved the salt water pool and heated spa and the water toys provided for the kids along with other lawn games to play. Really super comfy beds - even the sofa lounges were comfortable - stayed for 5 days. Sparkalarkle clean room. So nice to be somewhere the 'fur babies' were welcome! The owner/managers Tiffany and Mike genuinely great managers. Love Wangaratta!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kidzdogsnme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
takeabreaktoday, Owner at Advance Motel, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
What lovely comments. Wangaratta is a great place. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warragul, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at this motel a few times over the years. We stayed here this time while visiting Beechworth for "Opera in the Alps". The Advance motel is clean, comfortable and quiet. Michael and Tiffany are great hosts.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank RossL46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
takeabreaktoday, Owner at Advance Motel, responded to this review, 24 November 2014
Thank you. We enjoy seeing you every year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
419 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

We are on an extended holiday in Australia and this is probably our 10th motel and by far the best. Lovely setting, good pool and gardens, sparklingly clean rooms which are more modern than most, well equipped, excellent air con (we were there with temps of 44 outside) The owners were on a break themselves so we were taken very good care of by Michael & Jackie, who couldn't have been more helpful or friendly, nothing was too much trouble for them.
Reception has cold drinks & ice creams plus an extensive DVD library which we made use of as we were avoiding the heat in the late afternoon. Wifi is free and is decent speed.
My only niggle is that as the motel is "dog friendly" the dog owners can be rather selfish, I was put off using the pool as dogs are allowed inside the fenced area, one dog did it's business and the dog's owner ignored it. On our last day, high temperatures I know, there was a dog taking a dip in the pool.
Apart from that I rate this motel as exceptional.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alisonka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

As a disabled person find a good room that I can function is very difficult. The disabled room at the Advance Motel is brilliant. Plenty of room, Top mobility aids and a very helpful manager.
Such a lovely change. Very reasonable tarriff as well .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garry2794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Loved this place, stayed one night on the way home from Sydney to melbourne. Michael the owner/ manager is very friendly, pool is clean, spa clean, rooms clean , lots of shade from the heat and plenty of chairs for sitting in the sun.
Michael is also very knowledgable of the area for day tripping.
Will definitely return and recommend.
Tho, do think the shower could do with a good bleach.

Room Tip: Close to the town centre , short drive to beechworth,rooms have microwaves and toasters, breakfast o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lear0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wangaratta hotels
1.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Wangaratta Gateway
1.1 mi away
Hermitage Motor Inn
Hermitage Motor Inn
#5 of 10 in Wangaratta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Warby Lodge Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Wangaratta Motor Inn
Wangaratta Motor Inn
#9 of 10 in Wangaratta
3.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
1.0 mi away
Parkview Motor Inn
Parkview Motor Inn
#2 of 10 in Wangaratta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
2.6 mi away
Wangaratta North Family Motel
Wangaratta North Family Motel
#4 of 10 in Wangaratta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Advance Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Advance Motel

Property: Advance Motel
Address: 55-59 Parfitt Rd, Wangaratta, Victoria 3677, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Wangaratta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Wangaratta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Advance Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Motel with a variety of recently updated suites. Flat screen T.V's. Free wireless internet and parking. Walking distance to bowling alley, cinema centre, park, restaurants and pubs.Scruptious breakfasts delivered to your private suite.Pets are welcome into 4 suites only upon the owners discretion.Meeting facilities for up to 20 including Projector, screen, whiteboard, fax, docking station. AVIS CAR AND TRUCK RENTALS AVAILABLE FOR PICK UP AND DROP OFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Advance Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing