We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good basic motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hermitage Motor Inn
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Wangaratta
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good basic motel”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Although not flash by any standards the Hermitage has lots to recommend for a night or two. It's beds are very comfortable and the king single the perfect bed for teenagers. This motel is neat and tidy without frills. Plenty of hot water and good wifi,

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouLou22297701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    34
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
22
33
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Moorooduc, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Very comfortable, clean and quite motel. Walking distance to everything the town has to offer. Easy parking, the staff were extremely accommodating. The motel offers large rooms with table and chairs very very comfortable bedding with crisp clean sheets! Much better value that some of the other surrounding motels which I have stayed at.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 77Hughy_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

My husband and I stayed at this lovely Motel on two nights before and after a weekend trip to Melbourne. The main reason we chose to stay there was its close vicinity to the railway station so we could walk there to catch the train to Melbourne. Our upstairs room on both occasions was spotlessly clean, spacious and very comfortable. The linen and towells were good quality. I was particularly impressed with the very long vanity bench space; plenty of room for toiletries. The location was excellent; walking distance to shops, restaurants and of course the railway station but very quiet as it is off the main highway. The owners were friendly and helpful and the roses were blooming beautifully too!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank porge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
damstown
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Found this gem when looking aound near the shops for somewhere to stay, just off the main road. Was a perfect quiet location. After spending 9 hours on my motorbike was warmly greeted and impressed by the motels colonial facade. Was pleasantly surprised by the price as well. Room was large, spotless and comfortable. Would definatley go straight to this motel when next in Wangaratta.

Room Tip: Downstairs room was good for unpacking motorcycle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

The motel is located in a quiet area of town and has been fitted out to a good standard for its price range. Unfortunately someone has not paid attention in its construction and as a result even low volume TV's and normal conversations can be heard from room to room. This is very poor considering everything else is pretty good. I would definitely not stay here again as at the end of the day, you use a motel for sleeping - and it this one it was very difficult.

Room Tip: one where the two next to you are empty !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wild_World_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HermitageG, Owner at Hermitage Motor Inn, responded to this review, 10 March 2013
Hello,
So sorry to hear about your poor nights sleep – this is MOST unusual and we would like to investigate the matter further. Is it possible for you to contact us and let us know what night you stayed and what room you were in? Your response will be appreciated, looking forward to hearing from you soon.
Kind regards ... Jenny & Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

This motel is a short walk to the centre of Wangaratta, and so offers easy access to a reasonable range of restaurants, yet is on a quiet side street so there is no traffic noise. The rooms are well appointed and are clean and comfortable. The owners were friendly and offered helpful advice. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hansie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baxter
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Absolutely fantastic place to stay with very friendly and helpful service at a great price for this 4 star motel. Everything spotless and in top notch condition...could not find any faults. Room very spacious despite there being a queen bed, large single bed and 2 seater couch. Bathroom large with plenty of bench space.
From the initial enquiry phone call to our departure, Jenny could not have done anything more for us. She even offered to turn the air conditioner on an hour before our arrival on a 40 degree day.
Definitely will recommend this motel to our friends and we will return next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KAVlasveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HermitageG, Owner at Hermitage Motor Inn, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Thank you to everyone for taking the time to write reviews. Our aim is to provide clean, comfortable rooms and friendly, helpful service to all guests. We have been receiving some great feedback and it is fantastic to know that all the hard work is paying off.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wangaratta hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Wangaratta Gateway
0.2 mi away
Best Western Warby Lodge Motor Inn
0.1 mi away
Wangaratta Motor Inn
Wangaratta Motor Inn
#7 of 10 in Wangaratta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Parkview Motor Inn
Parkview Motor Inn
#2 of 10 in Wangaratta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
1.1 mi away
Advance Motel
Advance Motel
#3 of 10 in Wangaratta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
3.6 mi away
Wangaratta North Family Motel
Wangaratta North Family Motel
#4 of 10 in Wangaratta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermitage Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Motor Inn

Property: Hermitage Motor Inn
Address: Cnr. Mackay & Cusack Streets | entrance Mackay Street, Wangaratta, Victoria 3677, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Wangaratta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Wangaratta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hermitage Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hermitage Motor Inn, Wangaratta.* Well appointed accommodation.* Central, Quiet, "off the main street" location.* Cleaniness that our many repeat guests rave about!* Most importantly, AFFORDABLE. What else could you want for, we are the perfect location when travelling the North East of Victoria. The Hermitage is located in the beautiful historic prescient of Wangaratta, central to the Milawa, King Valley and Rutherglen wine and Gourmet regions and just over an hours drive from the Alpine Regions. While in Wangaratta stroll to the many restaurants and cafes, or take in a performance at the renown Wangaratta Performing Arts Centre located just minutes away. We pride ourselves in offering quiet, modern well appointed accommodation. Select from our range of accommodation styles: Executive Queen, Twin, Triple, and 2 bedroom Family rooms, we also offer two spa suites for that extra special occasion. All our accommodations feature comfy Queen bedding, Dining & well lit Desk area, Sofa, 32” LCD Televisions, individually controlled Split system to supply your Heating and Cooling and many other little features to make your stay a pleasure. For your convenience Wireless Internet is available in each room. When exploring the fantastic North East region of Victoria come stay in Wangaratta and experience our friendliness and superior level of service. We hope to see you soon…. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hermitage Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing