We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice country motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hermitage Motor Inn
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Wangaratta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I seldom stay in country hotels/motels in Australia anymore however having driven to Sydney my wife and I spent four nights on the road staying in what we considered were the best motels available and, frankly we were disappointed with them until we arrived at the Hermitage.
The lady in reception was quick to show us a room which we decided to take for the night. This is a small motel in a quite street close to the town and hotels and restaurants.
The bed was very comfortable, bathroom spotless, a TV that was clear and had all the little things that you don't normally expect. We found the people polite and ready to please.
Irrespective of what anyone else says I can from long experience recommend this motel to any one staying in Wangaratta.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Firstly this place is in a quiet street and within an easy short walk to the centre of town. The property is well maintained, the room is clean and comfortable, and the pool is big enough to cool you down after a hot day of touring.
Wangaratta itself was a surprise with some pleasant walks and many dining options.
However it is a great place to base yourself to tour the surrounding area. If you are coming from Melbourne break your journey in Glenrowan and or Euroa for your Ned Kelly fix. From Wang wonderful historic Beechworth is 30 minutes away and you can swing back via Milawa for a cheese and wine fix if you have missed out. To the north Chiltern and Rutherglen are a short drive away for more historic buildings, great places to eat and of course wineries to discover.
Thanks for the vote if you found this helpful.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank nilintentum_reliquit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The room was nice and the female manager was lovely.

However the experience was completely spoiled when I went to finalise the bill with the male manager and got into a legitimate disagreement about the total.

During the verbal exchange the manager quickly became aggressive and motioned to physically strike me from behind the counter as well as being verbally aggressive, completely dismissive of my side of the story. He then quickly charged my credit card with the incorrect total without my consent as he already had my credit card details, I was not present at the time as my partner and I left the reception area to allow the hot head manager to cool down.

Needless to say I will not be back here and will be encouraging others to choose from the many other establishments within close proximity to this place.

Some people should choose their vocation more wisely.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank glennsmith37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HermitageG, Manager at Hermitage Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

I cant understand you can be like that and right something like this you start first yelling on me and throwing papers around when you come to settle your account after you told me to spa room previous owner quote you $ 100.00 per night and i present to you papers with clearly quote is
$ 150.00 per night and also you tray after to not paid the cook breakfast how you told to you not order Sunday breakfast after i present to you tax invoice writhing buy your hand where you put 2 people and sat and sun breakfast , and you tell me how you not wont to paid the bill and left motel.
i waiting one hours after to you come beck to paid your bill ,you not do that , i charge you buy credit card witch you provide on your booking

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

This was a good value option. Place was clean and tidy and well maintained. The owners were very friendly and helpful with advise and assistance when needed. Not so close to the town centre but near lots of other accommodation. No restaurant on site but near to lots of other motels with restaurants and offer breakfast in room.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sydneypeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We enjoyed our unexpected stay when driving from Bendigo to Sydney, and decided to stay as it was getting late. We passed by quite a few other motels on the main road but were very glad we turned to corner to stay at this lovely quiet motel. Although we were 'walk ins' we were greeted and shown a room for our consideration. They were quite busy and there werent many rooms left but we were happy with our roomy interior, clean bathroom, everything we needed, really and parking right outside the door. The supermarket and shopping centre was nearby and we were able to get a few things we needed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiamabnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

We picked this motel as it was on a quite side street away from the main drag. Reception was efficient and friendly. The room itself was basic, but clean, though the decor is dated with eighties furniture and the air conditioner was clearly from the eighties too...It still worked! The bathroom was quite spacious and clean with toiletries provided. The bed was not the most comfortable I've slept on, but adequate. Free wifi was provided but only for one device at a time. My husband and I had to take turns! Overall, fine for an overnight or short stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCQ01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Motel is located in reasonably quiet suburban street. Away from main road traffic noise but close to town. Room was a good size, plenty of space and wardrobe had loads of hangars for cloths. Everything was clean with good quality linen and towels. Bed was firm but comfortable. good bathroom, large bench space and plenty of hot water with shower.Adequate off street parking for guests. There were no sounds from other rooms and the aircon for heating and cooling is quiet. All you need for an overnight stay. Location provides easy walk or short drive to shops and restaurants. Also have arrangement with 2 restaurants for order in delivery service. Breakfast is extra and delivered to room. Only complaint was poor hotel wifi but had good 3G reception. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emanpee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wangaratta hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Wangaratta Gateway
0.1 mi away
Best Western Warby Lodge Motor Inn
0.1 mi away
Wangaratta Motor Inn
Wangaratta Motor Inn
#7 of 10 in Wangaratta
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Parkview Motor Inn
Parkview Motor Inn
#2 of 10 in Wangaratta
230 reviews
1.1 mi away
Advance Motel
Advance Motel
#3 of 10 in Wangaratta
203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ryley Motor Inn
Ryley Motor Inn
#8 of 10 in Wangaratta
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermitage Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Motor Inn

Address: Cnr. Mackay & Cusack Streets | entrance Mackay Street, Wangaratta, Victoria 3677, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Wangaratta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Wangaratta
Price Range: £77 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hermitage Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hermitage Motor Inn, Wangaratta.* Well appointed accommodation.* Central, Quiet, "off the main street" location.* Cleaniness that our many repeat guests rave about!* Most importantly, AFFORDABLE. What else could you want for, we are the perfect location when travelling the North East of Victoria. The Hermitage is located in the beautiful historic prescient of Wangaratta, central to the Milawa, King Valley and Rutherglen wine and Gourmet regions and just over an hours drive from the Alpine Regions. While in Wangaratta stroll to the many restaurants and cafes, or take in a performance at the renown Wangaratta Performing Arts Centre located just minutes away. We pride ourselves in offering quiet, modern well appointed accommodation. Select from our range of accommodation styles: Executive Queen, Twin, Triple, and 2 bedroom Family rooms, we also offer two spa suites for that extra special occasion. All our accommodations feature comfy Queen bedding, Dining & well lit Desk area, Sofa, 32” LCD Televisions, individually controlled Split system to supply your Heating and Cooling and many other little features to make your stay a pleasure. For your convenience Wireless Internet is available in each room. When exploring the fantastic North East region of Victoria come stay in Wangaratta and experience our friendliness and superior level of service. We hope to see you soon…. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hermitage Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing