We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to start bike riding”

Murray to Mountains Rail Trail
Book In Advance
More Info
US$75.54*
and up
Beechworth to Milawa Self-Guided Food- and Wine-Tasting Bike Tour
Ranked #1 of 30 things to do in Wangaratta
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Australia's premier rail trail offers more than 100km of scenic, sealed, off-road bike trail in North East Victoria. Starting in Wangaratta, the rail trail connects culinary villages including Milawa, Beechworth, Rutherglen, Bright and Myrtleford. Discover the diverse landscape of the High Country region - from natural bushland to open farmland, fertile valleys and some of Australia's most spectacular mountain ranges. The rail trail meanders alongside clear rivers, vineyards, hops, orchards and groves, with plentiful food, wine and craft beer experiences dotted along the way.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
203 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“A great place to start bike riding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Finally we had our bikes serviced and set out on our first bike ride for many years. We only rode 10km on the rail trail from Beechworth as a first day trial. It was great. Flat sections and a couple of light grades up then down. It is well sign posted and the trail is generally smooth and free of debris. Really good for we newbies. Any body could manage this ride. We'll go further next time. Best to take some water and at this time of years flies are a pest so repellant is handy.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank judykbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    17
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Well maintained trail”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

The Murray to Mountains trail is a nice and easy ride through some pretty parts of the Victorian countryside. Most of the trail is quite flat, so it is suitable for riders of all abilities. I rode my road bike with no problems as the whole trail is well maintained with a surprisingly good surface. There are however a number of single track side trails that will keep the mountain bikers happy. The trail passes through a number of nice towns so you're never far from a cafe to refuel. It is well sign posted so you really can't get lost. The number of road crossings and gates to open is very minimal which makes the trip more enjoyable. Overall a great easy ride. Just watch out for those magpies!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Sallie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
191 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We did the rail trail from Wangaratta. We stayed the first night in Beechworth which is a lovely little town. The ride to Beechworth has about 15km of uphill but it isn't a steep grade and I managed it with panniers and I am a not strong 59 year old cyclist. There are water stops on the way but they suggest boiling the water so we just took enough for the ride. There were many flies around Everton station and on the ride up to Beechworth so I suggest taking a fly veil. They weren't a problem elsewhere. We then rode to Myrtleford down the road which is nice and fast and there weren't many cars. At the T junction at the bottom of the hill you turn left on the road and go up a rise and then you join the rail trail on the left at Taylor's Gap. from where we joined the Wangaratta-Myrtleford trail. We stayed 2 nights in Myrtleford and rode without panniers from Myrtleford to Bright return which I think is about 60km and very flat. This is definitely the prettiest part of the trail and you go past sheep and cattle pastures, vineyards, flower beds and enjoy great views. Just lovely! The ride back to Wangaratta has a great downhill after Taylor's Gap. Don't be put off by the Taylor's Gap title as it isn't that high or steep or long.
We were quite surprised that the whole rail trail is sealed so it is all-weather. Often it isn't that obvious as the seal is under gravel but sometimes it is more obvious but that didn't bother us. After hitting very wet goopy sandy gravel after heavy rain on part of the Goulburn River High Country rail trail just out of Yea later that week, we realised how great an all weather surface is.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
11 Thank Marjorie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gympie
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fond Memories”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Arrived in Myrtleford on a Sunday. Hired bikes from wonderful Claire at the Myrtleford Cycle centre and set of for Bright. 3 hr easy run for 17 yo daughter & I. Stopped for ice cream and sight seeing but still in Bright in time for the end of the Sunday session of live music at the brewery. Good rest at the Bogong view motel. Clean and economical. Monday rode 55 K to Everton. Comfortable ride, bit of an effort over Taylor's Gap, but not too bad. magpie opened ear up. Spent night at everton caravan park in a cabin. Basic but ok. Local shop had best ever steak sandwich...the lot for $7. Tuesday easy day. Two hour solid up hill to Beechworth. Well worth it, great ride, about 3% all the way. Beechworthis a beautiful town. Dont misss the Gorge. Splurged on a night at Gorge Walk B&b, terrific host, very informative. Wednesday back to Myrtleford. 2 1/2 hours ride. Down hill all the way from Beechworth to Everton. Terrific fun 1/2 hour down. Easy ride back to Myrtleford(except for when the magpie knocked me off my bike!). Highly recommend ride to anyone interested in cycling. I ride a little, my daughter hardly at all. But both managed and had a great time.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank FamilyGuyGympie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great trail!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

I had a lovely time on the rail trail, and cycling around the region more generally.

The only thing I don't quite understand is why all the write-ups seem to recommend going uphill - for logistical reasons I went down and it was lovely, I imagine in hot weather uphill would have been a nasty grind.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AnitaNgaire1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Murray to Mountains Rail Trail also viewed

 
Wangaratta, Victoria
 

Been to Murray to Mountains Rail Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing