We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very "pleasant' indeed. Gorgeous backdrop, peaceful garden, close to Millawa, Bright, Beachworth.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wangaratta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mount Pleasant Homestead
Ranked #1 of 6 Wangaratta B&B and Inns
Melbourne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very "pleasant' indeed. Gorgeous backdrop, peaceful garden, close to Millawa, Bright, Beachworth.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights, and took advantage of the loan bikes and rode along the bike path to town. The weather was just perfect, sitting in the small garden watching the lovely blue wrens and enjoying local wines and produce. Although it looks a little old and tired on the outside its gorgeous inside. We booked this as part of a red balloon gift. We've since found out that it is a rather pricey getaway to be in the middle of nowhere .... But sometimes this is exactly what we need!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrandMrsMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed for a weekend in May at this thoughtfully renovated farmhouse. The setting is very quiet and peaceful, watching the cows emerge from the mist in the morning was just lovely. The location is quite isolated (so quiet!) and very relaxing, great setting to unwind. The house has all the amenities you'd want, ducted heating and electric blankets were very welcome! Lots of books, magazines and local tourist brochures. I couldn't avoid getting my hair wet in the shower but other than that the bathroom was great. Bed was comfy, kitchen well equiped (and stocked!), what more could you ask for?

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Shelley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

It was a wonderful two night stay - breakfast was yummy and the place was great. The decor was beautiful - attention to detail in every aspect with nice finishing touches like port and chocolates for the evening. The spa was a great way to end our day of touring around Victoria. Thank you Ruth for your suggestions on places to visit - we tried some great wines and had some great food. it made for a lovely three year anniversary

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VRenz_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Our one night stay at Mount Pleasant Homestead was very peaceful and relaxed. The house was very welcoming and had all the mod cons. Breakfast provisions were excellent and plentiful, from muesli mix to fresh fruit, yoghurt, fresh bread, salmon, bacon, eggs, orange juice, milk, butter, mushrooms, tomato, tea and coffee. We had the house to ourselves and we re able to choose which bedroom to use - a difficult choice with either en-suite or spa bath.no need to bring bathrobe or slippers, just bring your toothbrush!

There are two bikes outside so go for a ride, we did!

Ruth and Noel have done a great job renovating the place, mixing new with old.

The promptly is close to Wangaratta where there are lots of eateries. We chose Renaldos Casa Cucina and were very happy with the meal and service. There is plenty to do and see in the areA so put aside a minimum of two nights to have a great experience in the High Country.

We certainly recommend the place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

From the outside it appeared we were staying in the average "farm house b&b". Very neat, with lovely shade trees in the yard that were a pleasure to sit under.
Ruth met us and was most charming and friendly as she showed us how to enjoy the facilities.
Going inside we were delighted with the careful selection of quality furnishing and fittings that makes Mt Pleasant stand out, from quality water on tap,( not so common on farm stay properties), to a well stocked and appointed kitchen, quality sound in the lounge room and an excellent bed. A wonderful b and b. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hec A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

We had a most relaxing stay at this B and B. Close to main city and good restaurants. Back bedroom bed was squeaky and there was some constant hum of freeway noise. Friendly welcome. All necessities provided. Very pleasant accomodation.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kyamra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
116 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed two nights at Mount Pleasant and thoroughly enjoyed the peace and tranquility. Ruth is an ideal host: relaxed and fun to chat to. The house had everything we could want including ample provisions in the fridge for breakfast. That was very welcome. The showers were wonderful with tons of hot (really hot) water.
At night it is quiet and dark and miles from anywhere. The stars were the best I'd seen in a long while. The homestead is about 15 minutes from the Milawa Gourmet Region with its restaurants, wineries and bakery. We didn't run out of things to see in the two days.
Really enjoyed the stay and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barrye09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wangaratta
4.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Wangaratta Gateway
6.6 mi away
Lindenwarrah
Lindenwarrah
#1 of 1 in Milawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hermitage Motor Inn
Hermitage Motor Inn
#5 of 10 in Wangaratta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Advance Motel
Advance Motel
#3 of 10 in Wangaratta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
4.3 mi away
Parkview Motor Inn
Parkview Motor Inn
#2 of 10 in Wangaratta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
4.1 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Pleasant Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Pleasant Homestead

Property: Mount Pleasant Homestead
Address: 181 Wightons Road, Wangaratta, Victoria 3678, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Wangaratta
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Wangaratta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mount Pleasant Homestead is a luxury boutique accommodation offering guests a self-contained "home away from home" in a secluded rural setting. Ideally located near many wineries in Milawa and King Valley region, this boutique homestead offers elegantly furnished suites, each with their own bathroom/ensuite.The full kitchen/dining room has an oven, ceramic hotplates, dishwasher and espresso coffee machine.The colourful separate lounge has an LCD TV, Austar, DVD with surround sound and ipod connection.The fully ducted RC/AC home has a wood fire and mood lighting for added ambience for the enjoyment of our guests.Set amongst established gardens with a verandah and paved outdoor barbeque area, this "hidden gem" is nestled in the heart of the gourmet region and the King Valley.A trip to Bright or Beechworth is just a leisurely drive up the Ovens Valley. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing