We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable & Clean”

Best Western Warby Lodge Motor Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Warby Lodge Motor Inn
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Wangaratta
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comfortable & Clean”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have stayed here for business on 3 occasions in the last 6 months, each time for 2 nights.

The rooms are of a good size & to the usual Best Western standard of cleanliness..
Good sized TV set with USB capability.

Air Conditioners are "vintage" (brown with a corded remote control!). Works OK in winter for heating but didn't cope for cooling on a previous trip in summer. Not sure if any rooms have upgraded air conditioners; I would suggest to ask, especially in summer.

Great location; an easy 5 minute walk into main shopping area & ample off street parking. It does have a swimming pool which seems satisfactory; probably something I wouldn't use.

This is rated as a 4 star motel. I think 3.5 is probably more accurate but overall is a good place to stay & I will stay here on my next trip.

Room Tip: I stayed in the rooms at the rear & didn't notice any traffic noise. Not sure what the groun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tez2103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    39
    19
    4
    5
See reviews for
14
27
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I was in this area for a sporting event, and spent two nights at this venue.
Reception was easy and friendly.
The room was clean, the bed comfortable and the shower hot with good water pressure.
Plenty of eating places within easy walking distance.
I will be happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms are both on ground and first floors. Choose ground if you do not want stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rarpos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Do Not stay here the manager is very rude!! Rooms are old & rundown, also very dark & dingy. Our room had a stale smell. Also very noisy as the noise echoes from the carpark & doors slaming so hard to get a refreshing nights sleep.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tonja T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wangaratta hotels

Canberra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

warby lodge motor inn was a great hotel .customer service was very good ,rooms were clean and well and set out staff in reception are very helpful hotel is in a good position close to town and shops and clubs

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Mick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

We got the family room. It is ok but nothing special.

The second bedroom has a frosted glass window to the main room which means it does not get dark for the kids while mum and dad watch TV.

Bathroom was fine and sink outside bathroom is good for a family.

Location is good. Close to the centre of town and restaurants etc.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank CanberraDyertribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I've been to this place in Feb 2013 and Feb 2014 when visiting Wangaratta to run the local marathon. On both occasions, the marathon took place the same weekend as a speedway car racing event , and the motel was booked full with a mixture of marathon runners and petrolheads.

Whilst the marathon runners were looking forward to a good night's sleep before getting up to run 42.2km at 6.30am, the petrolheads' idea of fun was to bring slabs of beer and mixed alcohol back to their rooms, play loud music well after midnight, get drunk and swear really loudly.

This happened both years, and on neither occasion did the manager tell these idiots to shut up. When my wife and kids checked out at 10.00am (I was running my marathon), my wife asked the manager why he didn't do anything about the noisy, drunken guests, and he just shrugged her off.

On top of this, the motel is located on the main road through town, and there must be a nightclub closing around 4am nearby, because at 4am, there was a constant stream of drunken, swearing idiots making their way to who the hell knows where.

What else? Our room had a toaster and microwave, but no cutlery or crockery, so we had to nick over the road to Coles and buy some disposable plates and cutlery. Evidently the management don't want anybody to actually use the toasters and microwaves, but were kind enough to provide coffee mugs and teaspoons to use with the electric kettle.

All the light fittings had those awful curly fluorescent globes, so the room is lit in a very stark white light. Even the bedside reading lights.

Finally, despite the fact that our room was not booked for the night following ours, the manager refused to allow a checkout at 12.00pm (normally 10.00am) to allow me to come back and have a shower after running the marathon. I just had a look at the booking status on wotif.com.au and the place is virtually empty on Sunday night.

I'm not even sure if I'll be running in the Wangaratta marathon next year, but if I do, I certainly won't be staying at this place. This place claims to be a 4 star motel, but I worked in a 2 star Melbourne CBD motel when I was at uni, and this place is definitely 1 star.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve_20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

you get what you see. The Warby is a clean and tidy hotel without the bells and whistles. If you are looking for a clean hotel with breakfast in Wangaratta, this is the place to stay. The check in process was friendly and quick. Checkout was the same. It is a popular destination for business travellers. (firm mattress)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wangaratta
0.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Wangaratta Gateway
0.1 mi away
Hermitage Motor Inn
Hermitage Motor Inn
#5 of 10 in Wangaratta
80 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wangaratta Motor Inn
Wangaratta Motor Inn
#7 of 10 in Wangaratta
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Lindenwarrah
Lindenwarrah
#1 of 1 in Milawa
329 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parkview Motor Inn
Parkview Motor Inn
#2 of 10 in Wangaratta
221 reviews
1.0 mi away
Advance Motel
Advance Motel
#3 of 10 in Wangaratta
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Warby Lodge Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Warby Lodge Motor Inn

Property: Best Western Warby Lodge Motor Inn
Address: 55 Ryley Street, Wangaratta, Victoria 3677, Australia (Formerly BEST WESTERN Warby Lodge Motor Inn)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Wangaratta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Wangaratta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Warby Lodge Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Warby Lodge Motor Inn Stay at this four-star Wangaratta motel, an ideal base from which to tour the magnificent North-East Victoria, a region known as the "Legends, Wine and High Country". Located 200 meters from the town center and opposite beautiful Merriwa Park, the BEST WESTERN Warby Lodge Motor Inn is well positioned for local activities and attractions. The BEST WESTERN Warby Lodge Motor Inn offers luxurious accommodation in Wangaratta. It is the perfect base from which to take in the pleasures of Victoria's North East. All rooms have queen-sized beds, 32" LCD TV's with whisper quiet air conditioning. Spa suites are available which feature a twin spa, and two bedroom family suites are also available. Enjoy the outdoor swimming pool, BBQ area and FREE WiFi access during your stay at this excellent Wangaratta motel. Explore the history of the legendary bush rangers at nearby Glenrowan or the historic town of Beechworth. Taste some of Australia's best wines at the surrounding districts of Rutherglen, or Milawa and the King Valley. Ski the spectacular High Country in winter or marvel at its beauty in any season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Warby Lodge Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing