We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellence in Wangaratta” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Hotel Wangaratta Gateway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Quality Hotel Wangaratta Gateway
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Wangaratta
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellence in Wangaratta”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

After a week in Falls Creek staying in what was probably the worst place my family had ever seen they were desperate for even a half decent highway motel. The stay at the Quality Hotel surpassed all expectations. From the friendly helpful receptionist to the fantastic room we were impressed. We stayed in a 2 bed room apartment - a very newly constructed and excellently outfitted apartment. One King Bed and two King Singles - brilliantly comfortable. Whilst it was an overnight stop the kitchen(ette) had every thing you needed for self catering. Roomy and well laid out we would have been impressed under any circumstances let alone coming from the previous 5 nights in 3rd world conditions!

We also discovered there was an excellent restaurant attached to the hotel - and rather a nice little bar.

Now all we need is an excuse to come back.....

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrantOfSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    92
    26
    6
    3
See reviews for
54
87
12
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed over a weekend. The rooms are standard size and layout for a hotel room, but have been nicely refurbished and the bathrooms are very nice with an excellent shower, with plenty of hot water. My pet hate is plumbing noise from other rooms and there were none. The pool area was excellent, breakfast good and reasonably priced, the staff in the restaurant and reception excellent. The only downside on the Saturday night was the noise from the carpark at the back of the hotel, and family in a front room complained of the same thing coming from the street. The sunday night was quiet.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ptj6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

One night, midweek. Queen room. Wife & I. Attending a semi-social event.
Google searched: "Wangaratta hotels motels", the day before travel. Search results:
Booking.com = AU$149
Wotif = $139
Trivago = $170-175
Hotel website = $139
Phoned hotel = $157
Booked room on the Hotel's own website. Quick, easy, prompt response.

+s:
Efficient check in
Very convenient private garage for guests
Complementary split of Yellowtail red for me and one of white for the missus on arrival - excellent idea to steer guests to positive thoughts about the establishment
Strong WiFi everywhere
Comfortably large queen room, comfortable space: 2-seater sofa, round dining table 2 armchairs, desk and chair
VERY comfy bed
Wall Plug points conveniently at the writing desk ( no crawling under the TV to charge the iDevices)
Good sized toilet and shower space; hot water is VERY hot.
Obviously a superbly heated swimming pool! Kids cavorting around in it this freezing day.
Very impressive looking dining room
Well stocked public bar manned (boyed?) by Uncle Jack's gormless young'un. pleasant, courteous service but.

-s:
(Just a little pout) WHY do I have to phone reception for the WiFi password? Put it on the entry card pocket!
Limited room service hours. Tough if you are hungry between 9am and 6pm! Or if you fought you way up the Hume for 3 and a half hours in bucketing rain and you crave an arvo sanger. Bar-frig chips? Ptchew!!
Inadequate range of chewies anyway. Good selection of alcohol.
TIP: get a room AWAY from the Main Street which is noisy at night from the hip young things laying down rubber in front of the KFC.
WHY do I need to call reception to get the juice on how the heater remote control works?? It's 4C outside and it took me a chilly 6 minutes to get it right by trial and error. Heater works very well - had to get up a couple of times to turn it down.
Get that bathroom extractor fan working; a quick hot shower and it looked like a still from Fargo. And what's that broken? twiddly thing on the wall just outside? (see attachment)
Poor acoustic insulation between rooms. Fortunately our fellow guests were relatively quiet.

NOTE: these -s are offered as helpful tips; they mostly do NOT detract much from a very comfortable stay. Certainly would recommend this establishment.

Room Tip: get a room AWAY from the Main Street which is noisy at night from the hip young things laying down r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Enjoyed a single night with my partner and two children. Bathroom was newly refurbished, an better than I would have expected for this price point. The room was comfortable and clean, and while the weather was very chilly and wet, the reverse cycle A/C was very effective.

Front counter staff could be a little more helpful on check-in going over details needed for the stay, but this is a very minor thing. Free Wi-Fi was available (though we had to go back to reception to collect the password).

More convenient for North-bound overnight stays (U-turns required both ways for south-bounders).

I'd stay here again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dvd_blah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Had the family room perfect for 1 adult & 2 teenage kids. Had breakfast in the restaurant which was good value for the amount of food we received. Lots of great places to eat dinner in walking distance. Wang was cold but our room was cosy. Especially loved that they cleaned my car windscreen overnight.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
178 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Not a fan of this motel.

Having stayed in quite a number of motels in Wangaratta I thought I'd give this one ago. I was aware it was a cut above many of its competitors in size and in-house amenity so I looked forward to sampling what it had to offer.

The good - well located to city centre and eating options. Undercover parking available which is handy on frosty nights. Comfortable bed in a quiet room. Split system A/C did good room in keeping the room warm quietly.

The not so good - furniture in the room was tired - circa 1980's with loose threads and numerous wear marks. I was surprised to see hair around the bath/shower for such a highly ranked motel. The bath/shower (really not a fan of these) was tight and a big step down (around the glass screen) onto the tiled floor - take care! Card for the room door didn't work and required replacement. Front desk staff seemed more interested in their personal conversations rather than serve. Room was snug with too much furniture crammed in.

In short - I have stayed in better places in Wangaratta for less money.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed overnight for business and was pleasantly surprised by this hotel.

I stayed in the 'new wing' and for the first time in long while actually said, "wow" out loud when I opened the door to my room. It was huge, spotlessly clean, beautifully furnished, comfortable and blissfully quiet. Loved the comfort of the enormous bed, the amazing cloud-soft pillows (I purchased two for my own home!!), quality of linen and towels.

Reception staff were super friendly and helpful, bar staff knowledgable about the wine list, and restaurant staff very efficient. Matt was particularly good and he made some excellent recommendations.

The restaurant food was a very high standard and well worth staying 'at home' for. Undercover parking is perfect for winters in the country!

Highly recommend - go for it!

Room Tip: Ask for the new wing - you have to walk outside past the pool but it's worth braving the outdoor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 00DW00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wangaratta
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Warby Lodge Motor Inn
0.1 mi away
Hermitage Motor Inn
Hermitage Motor Inn
#5 of 10 in Wangaratta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wangaratta Motor Inn
Wangaratta Motor Inn
#9 of 10 in Wangaratta
3.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Lindenwarrah
Lindenwarrah
#1 of 1 in Milawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parkview Motor Inn
Parkview Motor Inn
#2 of 10 in Wangaratta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
1.1 mi away
Advance Motel
Advance Motel
#3 of 10 in Wangaratta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Wangaratta Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Wangaratta Gateway

Property: Quality Hotel Wangaratta Gateway
Address: 29-37 Ryley St, Wangaratta, Victoria 3677, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Wangaratta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Wangaratta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quality Hotel Wangaratta Gateway 4.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Hotel Wangaratta Gateway is a place our guests describe as 'their home away from home, where the experience is exceptional, the staff deliver above and beyond and the stay memorable'. Located in Victoria's High Country our AAA rated 4.5 star hotel offers 77 suites and apartments, Atrium restaurant - crowned the 2014 TAA Regional Hotel Restaurant of the Year, state of the art conference and event facilities, heated pool, spa, sauna and gym. Stay, dine, meet, celebrate and explore this very special part of Victoria. We look forward to welcoming you to our award winning hotel... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Quality Hotel Wangaratta Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Wangaratta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing