We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Last minute stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wangaratta North Family Motel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Wangaratta
Certificate of Excellence
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Last minute stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

A very pleasant motel with rural surrounds, extremely friendly and young owner/managers and surprisingly well appointed units. We checked in after 9.00 pm to this isolated Budget property, rather than drive for another 4 hours - I was impressed with the efforts in refurbishment/renovations, there was an obvious effort towards comfort in this older style motel, linen better than most. Well done!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    26
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
26
25
9
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

After staying here a couple of years ago I was very disappointment however after reading new management reviews I thought I'd give it another go. Very Impressed! Lovely new owners, place is looking great I highly recommend staying here, excellent value for money. Will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Our stay was one night only.

While the accommodation was old (ancient), and even a little cramped, the price was about half of what was being asked nearby.
The rooms are clean, stocked with clean linen, and well maintained.

When all you want is a clean bed, and basic facilities without paying through the nose, this place is perfect!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cracedweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
166 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Such was my overnight in Wangaratta ..

A long day in the car, lunatics on the road and a bit of stop/go roadworks made the day… At one road block I queried the GPS as to where was a local motel. The Wangaratta North Family Motel came up… I pushed go…

I was surprised, a pleasant reception - a bottle of cold water and a litre of milk and at an amazing price.

Just as good as many motels in Australia… Externally - not brilliant paint but the young owner managers are only eight months into what is an obvious full restoration. A nice couple.

The room - Two comfortable chairs - clean… new and unstained… table and chairs… A reasonable bed with pristine sheets. A sensible 32 inch flat screen TV - better than the tiny 19 inch units seen in too many motels. New drapes - decent bathroom albeit small and NO stink of smoke!!!
A new Panasonic AC unit… and not a small one either and for Victoria in high summer - very necessary.

I was actually impressed with a sensible reading lamp which not only brightened the room, it made it homely…

The place is also Pet Friendly, quite a sensible idea for a rural area or the casual grey nomad…

If management are only a few months into a restoration, then this place will become quite a comfortable stopping point … barely off the Hume Highway and I am sure I will stop again.
It is great to see people putting in an effort - they deserve a commendation.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pakenham, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

We needed a place to stop over on the Northward journey. Just needed a comfortatable room and didnt need bells and whistles. The room had 2 bucket chairs, a small table and 2 chairs, a queen bed, fridge, microwave, toaster, reverse cycle air cond and flatscreen tv. Linen was very clean. Spotless clean. Yards very tidy. Staff very nice and helpful.

I looked at the travellers photos and the place is not like that. there is no rubbish around like in the pictures. They are obviously still working on it as there are other cabins that are not fitted up.

Would definately stay again.

Room Tip: We were in 18, nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siacci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skelleftea, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Great stop for a very tired couple from the north of Sweden. A very nice motel with very helpful people.Very clean room and a lovely bed.They also let you have youre pets there.Best regards from Stig o Maggan

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stig P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

I am a backpacker from Taiwan, and i had lived here over than one month.
North family hotel is the best hotel that i've ever been, the place is not that big but it's pretty clean and make u feel home.
Also, it's pet welcome! The landlords are very very nice and sweet.
It's really a good place to stay. :)

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mollie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wangaratta hotels
3.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Wangaratta Gateway
3.7 mi away
Wangaratta Motor Inn
Wangaratta Motor Inn
#7 of 10 in Wangaratta
3.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hermitage Motor Inn
Hermitage Motor Inn
#5 of 10 in Wangaratta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Warby Lodge Motor Inn
2.6 mi away
Advance Motel
Advance Motel
#3 of 10 in Wangaratta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
2.8 mi away
Millers Cottage Motel
Millers Cottage Motel
#10 of 10 in Wangaratta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wangaratta North Family Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wangaratta North Family Motel

Property: Wangaratta North Family Motel
Address: 372 Bowser Road, Wangaratta, Victoria 3678, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Wangaratta
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Wangaratta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wangaratta North Family Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wangaratta North Family Motel is located on 3 acres just 5kms north of the Wangaratta CBD and 1.5km from the Hume Freeway. Offering older style motel and self-contained rooms and modern cedar cabins in a rural setting. Positioned on the Murray to Mountains Rail Trail. Conveniently located with easy, direct highway access to Wangaratta, Albury/Wodonga, Beechworth, Winton, Rutherglen, Glenrowan, Myrtleford, Bright and a host of other fantastic North East towns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wangaratta North Family Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing