We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location. Good value in Coolum”
Review of Coolum Motel

Coolum Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coolum Motel
Europe
Level Contributor
91 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good location. Good value in Coolum”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Hotel was great value if you just want a clean and quite place to sleep and spend most of your time out in Coolum. We were on a road trip and was a good place to stay for one night. It was about 500m walk from the main coolum strip. Place was quite bright, rooms had fridge, cable tv, a/c, hot showers and a balcony. Kitchen and laundry can be used by all downstairs. The manager was very friendly and helpful with information in the area. We got there late at 7pm and was more than happy to come down from his flat and check us in. It was $90 per night, rest of the area is around $150-200 for a basic room. I'd stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_from_sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    7
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
5
21
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed here lately and thought it was very good value, clean, ample parking and generally pleasant.

The rooms were of an appropriate size, TV with a full complement of channels, bathroom was fine and location was perfect.

The manager was a real character and was good fun. I wish all hoteliers were like him.

10/10

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken_Charlery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

My fiance and I stayed here this weekend in room 14. We were impressed with this place, it was great value for money. This place is great for the budget conscious traveller looking somewhere for clean and nice to stay.

The manager was great and went out of his way to help us - and accommodated a request we had - thank you!

This place is run as budget accomodation so don't expect any extras, it is clean and simple. Pack a hair dryer! :-) there is a communal iron which is great. The shampoo and conditioner and facial soap supplied are nice and the shower is really good. Nice tea and coffee facilities, tv and fridge.

Nice aircon, comfortable bed, right amount of blankets and pillows provided.

Didn't see a single insect in the whole complex (great for QLD!). Much better than our friend's accomodation for three times the price at Coolum at the Beach.

Nice and quiet and well managed - would recommend to anyone.

I recommend going to the eumundi markets 20 mins away - really good!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Obmm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Backpacking our way along the east coast, hostel to hostel brought us to Coolum. Failing to find a hostel in this cute beach town led us to Coolum Motel with the intention of only staying a couple of nights. We found the motel very pleasant and had an excellent location. The manager, aka John, told us about all the nice local places to visit and even drove us to Mount Coolum so that we could attempt the "Coolum challenge" (reaching the top in less than 8 minutes). We really enjoyed the place and felt very welcomed by John & his wife, which made us extend our stay to 10 days.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessipessi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens Tas
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2012

My husband & I stayed at Coolum Budget Accommodation for two weeks and found the Managers extremely obliging and friendly. The rooms and facilities were spotlesssly clean and the kitchen well equiped.The kitchen was very clean and guests respected the cleanliness and kept it that way. Laundry facilities were great with 2 washing machines which were quick and washed very well.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Hi, I stayed at this budget accom this is my 2nd stay.
I stayed the first time and the Mangers back 3 years ago.
Where very strict but very good with the cleaness off our the place was kept and the kitchen and the toilets spotless.
The 2nd time I stayed the new Mangers are very friendly.
But I didn't think the cleaning was up to standard the kitchen and the public toilets.
But the location is great and close to Coles.

Room Tip: Upstairs is good and more cheerful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coolum Beach
0.2 mi away
Coolum at the Beach
Coolum at the Beach
#3 of 4 in Coolum Beach
150 reviews
4.6 mi away
Pacific Palms Motor Inn
Pacific Palms Motor Inn
#1 of 3 in Marcoola
158 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Point Coolum Beach
The Point Coolum Beach
#2 of 4 in Coolum Beach
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Beach Retreat Coolum
The Beach Retreat Coolum
#16 of 18 in Coolum Beach
268 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Coolum
Villa Coolum
#17 of 18 in Coolum Beach
19 reviews
0.7 mi away
Coolum Baywatch Resort
Coolum Baywatch Resort
#13 of 18 in Coolum Beach
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coolum Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coolum Motel

Property: Coolum Motel
Address: 1862 David Low Way | Cnr Ann Street, Coolum Beach, Queensland 4573, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Coolum Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Coolum Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Coolum Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*Under New Management - June 2012* We are the best value budget accommodation in Coolum. If you are wanting a clean, comfortable and friendly motel we would love to take your booking. We are a short walk to the beach, many restaurants and Coolum shopping precinct. We have an inground pool that is maintained and fenced and a communal kitchen that is fully stocked with cooking equipment and a full sized fridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Coolum Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing