We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Point Coolum Beach
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Coolum Beach
Certificate of Excellence
canberra
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ideal home away from home”
Reviewed 21 November 2011

I've been searching for a coastal holiday destination / study retreat for a while now and have been thrilled to find 'The Point' at Coolum. I've stayed here several times over the past year, trying out various villas, including the 'coral sea', 'bay terrace' and 'hilltop executive suites' each having their own attractions - the higher up you go the better the views and less ambient noise from nearby traffic (to which I'm particularly sensitive). I've found my personal favourite now (on the 'hilltop') for its particular combination of stunning views, decor and silence except for sounds of the sea. This is a great location only 2 minutes away from the beach and walking trails along the coast line, 20 min walk to the local shops, with regular buses back (ideal as I didn't have a car), and the management have been wonderfully welcoming and helpful with a variety of requests. Very handy to have a heated swimming pool for a quick dip or a few laps (big enough to get a bit of exercise). If I could find a way to live here I would!

Room Tip: The higher up you go the better the view and quieter it is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirsty73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    84
    25
    2
    1
See reviews for
96
135
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Our family of four have stayed twice now in the luxurious 2 brm 2 storey villas at The Point and we have found the very spacious accomodation, convenient full size kitchen, spa bath in ensuite, quiet location, heavenly heated pool (with small wading pool for little ones), nearby bush walk to the beaches and spectacular ocean views to be our favourite holiday destination. The Point is totally relaxing whether you enjoy staying indoors or on site or you wish to venture Coolum's surrounds.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed in 3 bedroom Bay Villa with views right up to Noosa. The grounds are well maintained and the complex appears well managed. The unit itself was large and well set out with bedrooms on the middle level and living on the top. Lots of stairs involved however they would only bother the very young or infirmed. Backing out of the garage was a bit tight with the larger car due to flight of external stairs in front of the garage. Not all units had this problem. The unit was well equiped with crockery and cutlery plus the appliances were all high standard. All the units are individually owned and this is were the complex falls down. The unit used in advertising does not resemble the one we had. Although clean the unit was dated and in particular the furnishings need modernising to be still considered an upmarket resort. Another sticking point was that although the unit sleeps six the outdoor setting sat only four. The bed in the master bedroom was uncomfortable and when I communicated my opinion to management they appeared unconcerned and unwilling to provide feedback to the owner. Overall a good place to stay and would stay there again for the views alone.

Room Tip: Ask to see photos of the unit being booked prior to payment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bankgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballandean, Queensland, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Thank you to the point Coolum. We were greeted and treated as very special friends even though we had never been to this resort before. The villa was luxurious and the views spectacular. It was quiet and exactly what we needed to relax and destress. Being able to just sit and look up the coastline all the way to the national park in Noosa was fantastic. I would have no hesitation at all in recommending this resort to anyone. Thank you for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kym D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Our room was spacious and absolutely love the ocean view. We probably spent the first hour after our arrival sittin on the couch to look at the view!! The room was clean and tidy, although it starts to look tired. Kitchen is very well equiped. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Thank you Tanita! Location is great, just a short drive to Noosa. We didn't really like Harvest although Casa Reca is good.

Room Tip: I would highly recommend the hill top villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quyen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Our stay was wonderful. The unit was beautiful and very comfortable and the views amazing.
It was well located, a short drive to Noosa & shopping at Maroochydore and great dining at Coolum. We can't recommend it highly enough and will definately be returning.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 October 2011

When we arrived we walked in to see a wonderful view and a splash - a whale was breaching. Two days later we saw three whales breaching from the boardwalk just outside the apartments. There were also dolphins, hawkes, wonderful food at Harvest, some shops to explore in Coolum and at Perigian, and of course the beach. Our rooms were spacious and very comfortable. The angle of the accomodation meant it didn't catch that blasting wind that often makes ocean balconies uninhabitable.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coolum Beach
1.0 mi away
Element on Coolum Beach
Element on Coolum Beach
#1 of 4 in Coolum Beach
204 reviews
1.2 mi away
Coolum at the Beach
Coolum at the Beach
#3 of 4 in Coolum Beach
151 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Sebel Noosa
The Sebel Noosa
#7 of 10 in Noosa
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
9.6 mi away
RACV Noosa Resort
RACV Noosa Resort
#2 of 10 in Noosa
1,195 reviews
10.4 mi away
Peppers Noosa Resort and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Point Coolum Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point Coolum Beach

Property: The Point Coolum Beach
Address: 1 Bay Terrace, Coolum Beach, Queensland 4573, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Coolum Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Coolum Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Point Coolum Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in Coolum Beach on Australia's beautiful Sunshine Coast and offering panoramic ocean views over Coolum's secluded bays, world class golf courses nearby and only a short stroll into Coolum Village with a range of shopping and dining options. It's your gateway to experiencing all that the Sunshine Coast has to offer. Our superb range of 1, 2, and 3 bedroom ocean view villas suit couples or families seeking a holiday escape or corporate stay. The Point -Coolum Beach boasts panoramic ocean views from all villas throughout our 6 acre hillside property. Shopping and dining precincts in Coolum, Noosa and Mooloolaba are just a short drive away. World Class Golf Courses are within 20 minutes drive. These include Palmer Coolum, Twin Waters, and Noosa Springs golf courses. A secluded beach just 100 metres from our front doorstep, a whale watching platform 200 metres away and the Coastal Pathway is immediately across the street ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Point Coolum Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing