We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sorry -Not worth coming back after 25 years” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coolum Caprice Luxury Holiday Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coolum Caprice Luxury Holiday Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria Australia
Level Contributor
564 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Sorry -Not worth coming back after 25 years”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

We decided to come back here for the weekend and see what it was like after 25 years and several family holidays. We shouldn't have bothered. It is tired and like a dirty car it needs to be detailed. Sorry for that comment, but unfortunately the whole place needs some elbow grease put into it. We love the view of the ocean from up high in our apartment. The beach is right across the road however we couldn't open the door to the balcony as the breezes were too strong. It actually blew the sliding door off the opposite window frame. No kidding! If the breezes are a continuing problem the management should be mindful of this when people are checking in.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanP196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoolumCaprice, Manager at Coolum Caprice Luxury Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thankyou for your review. Coolum Caprice is 30 years old but in the last year we have had a fresh coat of paint and upgraded the facilities and gardens. Our amazing views come from being a high-rise directly across the road from the beach. This unobstructed view does mean we are not as protected from the wind on our upper floors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    126
    22
    6
    3
See reviews for
153
105
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bli Bli, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

The location keeps us coming back. We've stayed in different rooms on different levels. Some have been fully renovated, some only partially renovated but all have had oceans views and the location means we can park the car and walk to everything we need. Heated pool and spa is great when the beach is a bit messy. Fully self-contained rooms gives us the option of eating in. A great place for a family break.

Room Tip: Ask for a northeast room for best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CS4561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoolumCaprice, Manager at Coolum Caprice Luxury Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thankyou for your review and continuing support. Being in the centre of Coolum has some great advantages, as you are only a short stroll to all that Coolum has to offer. The heated pool, spa, sauna, gym and games room allow guests the opportunity to partake in a number of activities when not enjoying the magnificent views and fully patrolled beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed it the northern penthouse for 7 nights, top spot amazing views and very helpful staff. We had a few little issues with our room and the lovely staff went out of there way to fix them. The free night was a very welcome surprise.

Room Tip: The northern penthouse was amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cameron_Weier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoolumCaprice, Manager at Coolum Caprice Luxury Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thankyou for your review. The penthouses are the ultimate family holiday with amazing views, modern fit-outs and your own private barbecue area, spa and sauna on the rooftop. You were such wonderful and gracious guests and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

We were so impressed upon arriving at this hotel. Walked in to a spacious 2 bedroom unit with modern fittings, amazing views and fantastic location. Later that day we realised the entire unit had one single small airconditioning unit and fans. This is followed by a sign in the lift from management asking guests not to turn a/c down below 23 degrees. My message back to management...sure....put another a/c unit in the unit, so that we can get the unit down to 23 degrees in the bedrooms, and we will do so....

Pros:
Fantastic location
Amazing views
Modern up-to date furniture and room
Very spacious
Nice big kitchen and dining table
Having Pay TV was great
Had a stereo and DVD player which was great.
Had a washing machine, dryer and bath tub.
Kids games room and gym were also fantastic.

Cons:
Again...beds were as hard as a rock. Some people like this, we hated them.
A/C didn't cool bedrooms down, and had to use fans.
Got a really bad night's sleep as a result.
Pool is too small for such a big hotel.

Would we stay here again? No. Would we recomend you stay here? If you like hard beds, and don't mind sleeping in rooms cooled mostly by circulating hot air with fans, then maybe.

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you don't like rock hard beds or if you are like us and like cool rooms t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoolumCaprice, Manager at Coolum Caprice Luxury Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Thankyou for your review. We understand that bedding is a personal preference so offer a variety of option to suit our guests individual needs. For those guests that require soft bedding we do carry mattress toppers that can easily be placed on top of the mattress. These can be arranged by contacting our friendly reception staff on arrival. Most units contain air-conditioning and it is requested that the temperatures be set to 23 degrees so all guests can enjoy air-conditioned comfort without putting too much demand on our electricity supply. Being directly opposite the beach and off the ground Coolum Caprice has fantastic ocean breezes to keep guests cool all year round.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
307 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

We have stayed twice now with our family in a three bedroom sea facing apartment. These apartments are corner facing at the front. We were on the 7 th floor and very breezy. Maybe a lower floor would have less breeze. We would choose the northern corner but these are only two bedroom.
Otherwise apartment ideal for us as a family. Well furnished but not over the top. Just right for a holiday.
Excellent for young children with heated pool and located just across the road to the beach.
We agree and get allocated the apartment when booking.
Hope to return next December.

Room Tip: We like the sea front views. We are restricted as we require a three bedroom apartment and they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoolumCaprice, Manager at Coolum Caprice Luxury Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Thankyou for your review. The heated pool and spa, and easy access to the patrolled beach makes Coolum Caprice a hit with the children. We look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed for three nights in a one bedroom on the eighth floor. Amazing views, great apartment with everything we needed and more...even an ice maker,much to my husbands delight! Staff were very friendly and helpful. Cant wait to stay again. Thank you to everyone

Room Tip: Higher floors have a great view and not so much noise from the pool area if there are kids around
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tira_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoolumCaprice, Manager at Coolum Caprice Luxury Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Thankyou for your review. Our one bedroom units are all positioned at the front of the building and well equipped with everything to make your stay comfortable. Located right in the middle of Coolum, with views straight out across the beach, and resort facilities Coolum Caprice allows you to do as little or as much as you like. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

We have been regular visitors to Coolum Caprice for decades, with stays from a couple of nights to a couple of weeks. The property is in a great position right across the road from the beach and surf club with plenty of choice for casual dining. The food at the surf club dining room has always been good but we are especially pleased with the current chef over there.

Coolum has been a favourite spot of ours and we have seen it change dramatically over the years. Much busier and noisier than it used to be. We chose the Coolum Caprice frequently because the front apartments have a great high view along the beach and almost always catch a breeze.

The back apartment bedrooms and one of the balconies face the West and at the height of summer can be very hot in the afternoon and early evening. Not great if you are trying to settle little ones in for the night. The Front Apartments Face East and North East and are pleasant at all times of the day.

As frequent visitors we always book a front apartment. On our recent visit we arrived to find that our booking had been changed without notice to a back apartment. I was not at all happy.

I understand that the management needs to get some occupancy into the less popular apartments but I think their "bait and switch" methods are appalling. If I had received notice of the change prior to travelling I might have considered booking a different weekend. What am I meant to do? Refuse the sub-standard offering and drive the two hours home again?

I will keep going back to Coolum, but after all these years of loyalty to the Coolum Caprice their little trick may have got them their occupancy targets for one weekend but has cost them a long term repeat customer and advocate.

I will look around for alternatives in the area next time.

Room Tip: Confirm that you have a front apartment by phone or email so they can't "bait and switch&qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MeBeanThere2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoolumCaprice, Manager at Coolum Caprice Luxury Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
The units positioned at the rear of our apartments are in an ideal position to capture both ocean views from Coolum Beach to Point Arkwright and Mooloolaba. They also have rear balconies that capture hinterland views. They are protected from the wind and cooler in the summer months, making them the preferred choice by many of our guests. I am sorry that you did not get the apartment that you expected. We have reviewed your file and the person that made the booking on your behalf made no requests for a particular position. The requests made to our staff were in relation to obtaining several units on the same floor. This unit was the most superior available on this floor and that was the sole reason the unit was chosen. We do try and accommodate all our guests and place them in their preferred position in the building. We are also happy to confirm the location of the unit at any time prior to your stay, if you should require it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coolum Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Element on Coolum Beach
Element on Coolum Beach
#1 of 4 in Coolum Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Point Coolum Beach
The Point Coolum Beach
#2 of 4 in Coolum Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coolum Beach Resort
Coolum Beach Resort
#4 of 4 in Coolum Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Coolum at the Beach
Coolum at the Beach
#3 of 4 in Coolum Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Beach Retreat Coolum
The Beach Retreat Coolum
#14 of 18 in Coolum Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clubb Coolum Beach
Clubb Coolum Beach
#4 of 18 in Coolum Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coolum Caprice Luxury Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coolum Caprice Luxury Holiday Apartments

Property: Coolum Caprice Luxury Holiday Apartments
Address: 1770 David Low Way, Coolum Beach, Queensland 4573, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Coolum Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Coolum Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Coolum Caprice Luxury Holiday Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coolum Caprice Luxury Holiday Apartments the ideal location for your Sunshine Coast beach escape. Stay in fully self contained apartments that are perfect for families, couples, sporting groups, and business conferences wishing to explore all that the Sunshine Coast has to offer. In the heart of the Sunshine Coast's famous Coolum Beach seaside village, Coolum Caprice is just a short stroll to superb dining and shopping and immediately across the road from the patrolled Coolum family and surfing beaches and the Coolum Beach Surf Club. Enjoy uninterrupted ocean views from your own private balcony. Our professional team at Coolum Caprice Luxury Holiday Apartments can assist to create your ideal beachside escape. Take advantage of our FREE booking service to organise attraction and tour tickets, restaurant reservations, prepare transport and transfers, golf games, and even organise champagne and chocolates for that special occasion.Contact our team today to book your holiday at Coolum's best accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Coolum Caprice Luxury Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coolum Caprice Luxury Holiday Apartments Hotel Coolum Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing