We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic view”
Review of Clubb Coolum Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clubb Coolum Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Perfect location on the Sunshine Coast. Directly opposite the magnificent beach, close to cafés and restaurants, plus the very good value surf club. The apartments could do with a bit of a make over and are looking a bit tired. Having said that they were very clean and well proportioned rooms These apartments would be perfect for families who want to self cater as they have an excellent kitchen plus laundry facilities. Don't come here if you want pampered luxury for instance you get one toilet roll provided and then it is up to you to purchase more! These apartments represent excellent value for money

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anniethompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014

This is the 15th year we have stayed at Clubb Coolum. We find that we can relax as soon as we arrive. It is close to local shops and a range of eating establishments. It is only a short drive to a number of entertainment options - the Ginger Factory and Spirit House at Yandina, Noosa National Park, Mooloolaba Fish Market, Eumundi Markets and the Blackall Range - Ludwig's Restaurant at Maleny and a great counter lunch at the Mapleton Hotel. We are always well looked after by the block's managers.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I stayed here to celebrate my birthday with my wife. We wanted a relaxing holiday close to the beach and we definitely found the right place for that. We were on the 11th floor with uninterrupted views of the ocean and Coolum beach looking North. We timed our stay with the low season and got a very good deal. Although a slightly older building, our room was very well maintained. If you enjoy an alcoholic beverage the café strip and Surf club are a couple of minutes stroll down the road.
The only down side was Coolum dining. There's not many fine dining outlets to choose from, plenty of daytime cafes but after dark the pickings are slim.

Definitely would stay again!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRC073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Stayed for 1 week in 2 bedroom apartment while visiting from U.K. in January 2104. We loved the apartment on the second floor with its fabulous ocean views. It was well equipped and beautifully decorated. Would have appreciated a tea towel in the kitchen and more coat hangers. Not something you pack on a long flight ! The owners were very friendly . Short walk to shops and restaurants. Would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: the hotel is elevated so anything above ground floor has good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gopher08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We love Coolum and try to have a getaway holiday there as frequently as possible - usually in September. We tend to avoid the Queensland summer months though and stick with the Victorian South Coast due to our southerner's fear of the heat and humidity. However, due to the unexpected we found ourselves in Coolum in January this year. As Melbourne was sweltering with 42 plus degrees we sat in this exquisite apartment with two balconies that opened up both the living areas and the bedrooms to the sea breeze.

This is the first time we stayed at this resort and it will not be the last - it is Coolum's secret paradise. It is located as you exit the town going south and is on the cliff top while much of Coolum is on flat plains. It is a 2 minute walk to shops and the patrolled area of the surf beach. It is across the road from a boardwalk along the cliffs and through rainforest. As far as position - the best we have ever experienced in many years of coming to Coolum.

It is the only resort with a tennis court ( not that we played but we watched from our back balcony), it has the best gymnasium I have ever found in any hotel around the world - which I did use!, a large games room for the teenagers, swimming pool and spa....even two sauna rooms!

We stayed on the second storey on the north side. This meant that we had a 60 degree white water view ( the front units would have had sweeping 180 degree beach views). Nevertheless we found our view wonderful - spent one morning watching surf life boats negotiate a very big swell, other mornings watched the surfers, checked out whether we wanted a swim etc. in addition to our view, we had the benefit of being surrounded by the garden canopy - woken each morning by the birds (including a kookaburra). The north side of the building has a brook and lily pond with our side balcony in prime position to enjoy this. You lie in bed and listen to the tinkling of the brook and the crashing of the waves!

The two bedroom apartment was spacious, had two large bathrooms, separate laundry, granite top kitchen, modern 50 cm flat screen tv, marble floors in living area, carpet in bedrooms, cream leather couches....was just gorgeous. It had air conditioning to all rooms but we loved opening it up to the breeze - the fact this apartment was on the north side of the building meant that the balconies were always useable - I suspect the front balconies of the other apartments could get too windy for sitting upon.

The managers Tony, Denise and Helen were truly amazing as indicated by the previous reviewer. Nothing was too much trouble to them even although it was a very busy time. For instance,we had several visitors and the managers went to a lot of trouble to find them a car space underneath.

We don't know how we have missed this resort in the past but we will not in the future. Our greatest surprise was that the cost of renting this apartment was the same as other less well positioned, less well equipped, and less quality apartments in the area.

Room Tip: If you want stunning views select the east facing apartments. If you want a great view as well as tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IntrepidAussie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

My family have been coming up to Clubb Coolum for the past five years. We have nothing but good things to say about this wonderful resort. The reception staff have been so helpful and nothing is too much trouble for them. The views are extraordinary and so close to the shops and clubs. The rooms are very well appointed and have been modernised over the past few years. What a surprise this year to see new glass balustrading on the balconies which makes the resort look so modern. All in all a wonderful place to come and unwind and enjoy the wonderful beach and local charm of Coolum Beach.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Booked through Wotif for a room that described as a luxury three bedroom apartment with beach views....well all that was correct was the number of rooms. They must self rate as these apartments can hardly be described as luxury as they are very tired and are badly in need of a renovation. The beach view was a glimpse between two buildings ... if you were out on the south facing verandah. Very different from the room photos supplied and I think that is a clear case of deceptive conduct.

They claim that the beach is 100m away and it is if you fall off the cliff otherwise it is a 250m walk down the street to the main Coolum surf area.

Foxtel is provided but difficult to locate on the TV provided as they remodulate the signal for channels 900+ and do a crap job at getting the frame size right - badly cut off on all sides. The TV in the main bedroom is something from the 90s and not viewable.

The security is very poor with a very simple knob lock on the main door. The keys come with tags that identify the room number so if they are lost so are you.

Unless you get a guarantee of a front facing apartment and don't pay more than a couple of hundred a night (peak) give them a big miss.

PS...don't forget to do the washing up and take out the rubbish or they will charge you!!! Luxury......

Room Tip: Make sure you get a front facing unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2wiseib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coolum Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
The Point Coolum Beach
The Point Coolum Beach
#2 of 4 in Coolum Beach
295 reviews
0.4 mi away
Element on Coolum Beach
Element on Coolum Beach
#1 of 4 in Coolum Beach
225 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coolum at the Beach
Coolum at the Beach
#3 of 4 in Coolum Beach
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Coolum Beach Resort
Coolum Beach Resort
#4 of 4 in Coolum Beach
55 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coolum Caprice Luxury Holiday Apartments
0.1 mi away
The Beach Retreat Coolum
The Beach Retreat Coolum
#14 of 18 in Coolum Beach
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clubb Coolum Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clubb Coolum Beach

Address: 89-97 The Avenue | (1740 David Low Way), Coolum Beach, Queensland 4573, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Coolum Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Coolum Beach
Price Range: £95 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clubb Coolum Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clubb Coolum Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing