We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent!”

Coolum Surfing School
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Learn to surf in the warm waters at Coolum Beach on the beautiful Sunshine Coast. All levels of fitness and all ages. U can learn to surf today, save time and money and get some professional tuition with the Surfing Australia Level 1 & 2 surf coaches at Coolum Surfing School. School holiday kids surfing programs. Soft and Hard Surf board and body board hire available. Open 7 days a week, open all year round.
mooloolaba
2 reviews
“excellent!”
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Loved the lesson at coolum surf school, learned loads about oceanology, wave selection, managing crowds, safe surfing and of course caught some nice waves. Staff were excellent, really friendly, enthusiastic and gave good feedback on things to work on. We also fitted in a bit of video coaching which was cool.

Cheers

Chris (Ireland)

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank chrissynic00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoolumSS, Owner at Coolum Surfing School, responded to this review, 3 December 2015
Hey chrissynic00,
We are stoked you enjoyed your lessons with us and hope your were able to take away a lot from it :) sounds like you guys had a great time. Thanks for the kind words!

Cheers
Chris & Gen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    4
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coolum Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

The crew at Coolum Surf School will have you riding waves in your first lesson! Book in a few lessons or sign up for the Surf Groms program, and you will also learn how to read the surf. We have just signed on for our second year of Surf Groms and our son is loving it. He has graduated from a foam board to a his own fibreglass board. He loves the coaches who work so well with the kids. If you are in Coolum you really should give Chris and Gen a call and book in a lesson or two! Well worth the money, you will have a ball!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Briallyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoolumSS, Owner at Coolum Surfing School, responded to this review, 3 December 2015
Hi Briallyn,
We are stoked your son made the transition to his fibreglass board, we hope he is loving it! and enjoyed his time in surf groms with us. Thanks so much for such a positive review, we really do appreciate it :)

Cheers
Chris & Gen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chippenham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Top Surf school !”
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Tried a couple of surf schools and these are the best.
Chris is an excellent instructor,and boy was he encouraging.
It's a shame I am 10,000 miles up the road,as I am sure a week with him and I would be ready for Hawaii !
Thanks Again, Paul

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank paulywaulychippenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoolumSS, Owner at Coolum Surfing School, responded to this review, 3 December 2015
Hey paulywaulychippe,
We are stoked you enjoyed your time with our coach Chris, hope you have continued with your surfing and maybe even tackled some Hawaiin waves! haha.
Thanks a lot for your feedback, means a lot to us all at Coolum Surf School.

Cheers
Chris and Gen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Family Experience!”
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We had a private lesson with Coolum Surfing School (CSS) for 2 adults and 2 kids. Gen (as mentioned in previous posts) was responsive and flexible. We needed to move out our start time due to a late arrival into Coolum, and this was handled easily over the phone while we traveled. We met at the CSS truck near the SLSC, and the staff were well organized, providing us with warm well-sized wet suits and rash vests. Since none of us had surfed before, Pierre took us through the basics of surfing and surf safety - clearly and succintly explained. All of us were able to stand up on the board by the end of the lesson. Pierre related well to both the adults and kids in our group - very patient and fun! Rachel took photos of us on the beach and provided us with a USB key full of photos for a reasonable price. We rarely get family photos, so it was a treat to get a bunch of professional family photos (beautiful pics). The CSS group lesson is a highlight of our trip to SE Queensland this year. Unreservedly recommend CSS for both adults and kids - FANTASTIC!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Frequent_C_Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewantin, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Faultless”
Reviewed 8 May 2012

I had never been on a surfboard before but these guys know their stuff and made it easy - I even stood up!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank mieux2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coolum Surfing School also viewed

Coolum Beach, Sunshine Coast
Coolum Beach, Sunshine Coast
 
Coolum Beach, Sunshine Coast
Coolum Beach, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Coolum Surfing School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing