We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good stop over point when traveling up down the coast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Beach Retreat Coolum
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“good stop over point when traveling up down the coast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

4th time here, staff friendly and helpfull, good pool,studio suite we had, had small balcony but ocean views were good,will be back

Room Tip: go for bigger rooms, studio rooms are small but comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bruce c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    98
    57
    31
    20
See reviews for
62
151
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Hotel style accomodation for the overnite traveler should have the following detail shampoo, soap, coditioner tissues and towells you cant see through. The beach retreat had none of these not even a face washer. This is let down particularly as it was a hotel style room and we were working all day did not finish the job, did not come prepared and needed overnite accomodation.
The view was great, the bed comfortable but the room smelled like it had ben locked up with the airconditioner on for month, smelly and damp!
It seems on questioning the proprietors that this is the norm now on the sunshine coast yet next door had all we required plus more, but we stayed for a week?

Room Tip: stick to the front and upper floors wher air circulates and take the details if you want a totally s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FreddyW51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Our family stayed here just recently on a weekend. The room we had had the potential to be more than reasonable but the decor is really quite dated. Our room was bright yellow with blue trim with a florally patterned blue and yellow sofa. The linen was spotless and the room clean but dated. For a small amount of money, the room could have been painted a more neurtral colour with a modern neutral lounge and the place would have had quite a different feel. The toilet water kept running which was obviously a significant problem because a note was taped on the toilet and on the bathroom mirror. I am no plumber but surely this would be reasonably simple to fix? The service was polite (not remarkable or offensive). The pool area was pleasant but the games room was not functioning. The view from our room was really awesome because we were on the water looking directly at the surf. The road noise is very significant though.

Coolum is a great place to stay. There are lots of closeby restaurants ( the Italian two doors down was really great! (good food, reasonable prices for this day and age and the service was
excellent), clothes shops, chemist, snack bars etc. I prefer Coolum to Noosa becaause the
prices aren't quite so expensive and Coolum is more relaxing.

We had a pleasant enough weekend but I am sad to say I wouldn't return. It is however a clean and tidy place and acceptable-it is just tired.

Room Tip: We asked for a sea view but I think all rooms had a sea view. I wonder if we paid more to be on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise01Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

The Beach Retreat offers a small range of options. I had booked into a studio but was upgraded to a small apartment (non serviced) so had great value for money. The apartment was well set out with large bathroom including clothes washing machine and a spa bath, a kitchenette with hot plate and a microwave plus kettle and toaster. The double bed was comfortable. A modest swimming pool was enjoyed by children while older couples seemed to like the spa built near to it. The beach was only about 100 metres away and a kerbside shower enabled you to wash off the sandbefore going back to the hotel. No meals were available but the nearest restuarant was fifteen metres away! The receptionist was helpful. Only problem was that the garage filled up and some of the group had to park some distance away.

Room Tip: Some rooms/apartments have sea views but these must be requested in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussietraveller36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

A spur of the moment decision ended in 3 days of relaxation and comfort in a fantastic environment known as Coolum. My adult children and I couldn't not have chosen a better place to stay than at "The Beach Retreat".What a great setting. The lush green of the mountain, the community of Coolum the unspoilt beach. Why would you want to go anywhere else when we have beaches such as this. We stayed once before a couple of years ago, at The Beach Retreat and weren't disappointed then either. Lovely rooms and with breathtaking views. How much better could the position be. Morning walks along the beach, magical beach,..............followed by a stop at the local bakery and coffee shop, with a short walk back to the room for a breakfast with that fantastic view. Fresh local produce purchased at the Eumundi markets ( great atmosphere )made for an equally pleasant lunch.
Dining out in the evening is so handy too with the sound of the waves and the smell of the beach in the darkness. What a great time we had............we are already booked in for Easter. Gives you a reason to go to work when you can come to such a lovely holiday destination.

Thanks to the staff for an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: position is always number 1... number 2 is how the staff treat you over the phone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ASTURIAS051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mackay
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

had a great time at the Beach Retreat. Bonus having another television in the main room, especially when the boys were watching the cricket. Clean, staff members very polite and helpful. easy access to every thing. Only complaint, no screens on doors if you wanted to leave them open and not worry about flies (pet hate!)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madmommyMackay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

good place to stay .... cafes & restaurants all very close ..... a 2 minute walk to the beach ......
friendly & helpful staff .....clean rooms .....

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baseball_fan_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coolum Beach
0.7 mi away
The Point Coolum Beach
The Point Coolum Beach
#2 of 4 in Coolum Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coolum Beach Resort
Coolum Beach Resort
#4 of 4 in Coolum Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coolum at the Beach
Coolum at the Beach
#3 of 4 in Coolum Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Element on Coolum Beach
Element on Coolum Beach
#1 of 4 in Coolum Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
10.2 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Coolum Caprice Luxury Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach Retreat Coolum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Retreat Coolum

Property: The Beach Retreat Coolum
Address: 1750 David Low Way, Coolum Beach, Queensland 4573, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Coolum Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Coolum Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Beach Retreat Coolum 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Beach Retreat Coolum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beach Retreat Coolum Hotel Coolum Beach
Flag Hotel Coolum Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing