We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value at a top spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Beach Retreat Coolum
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We stayed in a 1 bedroom unit with ocean view for 3 nights. The view was magnificent. We were able to sit on our balcony and have full view of the beach (worth the extra dollars). A noisy road was between us and the beach but we didn't hear it at night (close the doors and turn on the air/con).The unit was exceptionally clean, comfortable and freshly furnished. We had a fully functional kitchen but limited our cooking due to the stern warning about triggering the smoke alarm. The BBQ in the garden is a good option. We enjoyed swimming laps in the heated pool with a spa to follow. The grounds are very well kept. The coffee shops and restaurants are in this vicinity. It was also very good value compared to other resorts in the area. We thoroughly enjoyed our beach holiday and will return to the Beach Retreat (but not in summer - the unit would be extremely hot).

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for an ocean view. Autumn is a great time weatherwise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buzz767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2013

We have stated here on 2 separate visits and both been enjoyable. Rooms were ample. first time we were luck y to get a free upgrade to ocean front view 3bedroom apartment - which we will try and book next time we stay.There are two pools one for babies/toddlers which is a great, along with the larger pool, both hated which is a plus!There is a great BBQ area with nice ocean vies. Best for us with a four year old was the 5 min walk into centre where bars and restaurants are. The plus in Coolum is the Surf Club. Best location and fab food and across her road from this hotel.

Room Tip: Go for the second/third floor for better ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missie_Moo_Moo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

It was our first stay in Coolum as we have family who just moved to the Sunshine Coast to live. We found that we had been
upgraded from a studio to a one bedroom apartment & it was remarkably spacious & well furnished. An underground car park
kept our families car cool & secure too.
The staff at reception were very helpful at all times.
Some really good restaurants are closeby & I would highly recommend Harvest.
We have already booked our next trip back.
Dhon & Tina Armour

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Dhonarmour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We stayed in a 2 bed apartment with my baby and my parents, rooms were large and airy great views of the ocean and good facilities, could have been a bit cleaner, but would go back again for sure. The location is awesome some nice restaurants near by and short walk to bowls club, slsc, Coles etc. would recommend

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Having booked unseen, I was rather wary of what we would get but, on arrival, I was quite impressed with what we received. I had booked a studio room but, when we arrived, we were told that we had an ugrade to a one bedroom unit. This was impressive as it only cost $450 for three nights over Easter. How's that for a bargain. The facilities were also excellent. A heated pool, sauna and Spa outside and a spa bath inside... what more could you ask for. 50 metres to the beach and a great boardwalk up to the point.......great views of the ocean and a very welcoming Surf Lifesaving Club less than 5 minuters walk away. The girls on reception were very helpful, especially over the phone, and other guests were very friendly. All in all, a very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobinC645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

After reading mostly positive reviews on tripadvisor and a recomendation in Lonely Planet, we made a last minute booking directly with The Beach Retreat on a quiet Sunday when there were plenty of vacancies and paid $180 for a 1 beroom ocean view apartment. We were advised that Reception closes at 4pm on Sunday so we altered our plans to make sure we arrived before then as there is no one on site after hours. Despite a friendly and efficient welcome at check in our first impression on entering our apartment was of disappointment. However, later in the evening, when floating in the pool that was the perfect temperature, i noticed that at the bottom of the sign in front of the hotel it said "Resort Motel" and realised that perhaps it was my expectations that were too high. This is just an older style motel that qualifies as a resort as it has pools, spas, sauna etc. On the positive side the location is right opposite the beach and walking distance to restaurants and shops, free undercover parking, it is only 3 stories not highrise, rooms are spacious , well equipped and reasonably clean, pool and spa were clean and temperature of water perfect, there was an ocean view from my balcony even though the foreground was dominated by the children's pool and a busy road, the bed was comfortable for me though it may be too hard for others, the airconditioning was very efficient and the linen supplied was clean. On the negative side everything is tired and dated and no matter how well cleaned looks grubby. There was a patch of mould on the curtains, the airconditioning is very very noisy, the lift from the car park was slow and you still need to negotiate steps to get to and from your room, the fire alarm system was out of order, no toiletries or face cloths supplied, internet access and movies are expensive. We woke the following morning to find a large puddle on the kitchen floor that we had to mop up which seemed to be condensation from the airconditioner as we could not see any other leaks. Rooms are not serviced and there is no management on site at night. Just not my idea of a resort on the sunshine coast but nothing really bad about it and I now realise that this sort of accomodation is the norm for this area. Had the cost been cheaper or included more I might have felt less disappointed and let down.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank dandylionlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in a studio room and paid only $125 per night. The room was basic, but comfortable, clean and tidy. The bed was good and bathroom a good size. If we stayed again I would pay a little more for a 1 bedroom ocean view, because we had ocean glimpses from our balcony and I was envious of the people in the front rooms! The location is the feature of this accommodation. Right across from the beach, a short stroll to the shops and there were many restaurants close by. We didn't use the pool facilities but it looked inviting and was lovely and clean. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: I would recommend an ocean view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenMountainCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coolum Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
The Point Coolum Beach
The Point Coolum Beach
#2 of 4 in Coolum Beach
289 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coolum at the Beach
Coolum at the Beach
#3 of 4 in Coolum Beach
166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coolum Beach Resort
Coolum Beach Resort
#4 of 4 in Coolum Beach
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Element on Coolum Beach
Element on Coolum Beach
#1 of 4 in Coolum Beach
221 reviews
0.7 mi away
Coolum Motel
Coolum Motel
#15 of 18 in Coolum Beach
32 reviews
0 mi away
Coolum Caprice Luxury Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach Retreat Coolum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Retreat Coolum

Address: 1750 David Low Way, Coolum Beach, Queensland 4573, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Coolum Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Coolum Beach
Price Range: £50 - £544 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Beach Retreat Coolum 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Beach Retreat Coolum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beach Retreat Coolum Hotel Coolum Beach
Flag Hotel Coolum Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing