We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Any Closer, we'd be in the water.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Beach Retreat Coolum

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Beach Retreat Coolum
Warwick, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Any Closer, we'd be in the water.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Booked online, asking only for ocean views. The Beach Retreat is right across the road from the beach. Just a short walk from at least 20 eating places, coffee houses and pubs, so you can find any type of food you want. The pools are great, the one bedroom unit we stayed in has plenty of room. Washer/dryer if you are staying a while. Yes, they have been there a while, but are very clean and well looked after. Large balcony with a good size table and chairs. We will book again.

Room Tip: We were in the middle, the security lights go all night, BUT they do have great black out curtains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jude O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    98
    53
    30
    19
See reviews for
59
148
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bundaberg, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Very central to everything in Coolum Beach and the room was clean and it was value for money. No microwave or toaster though! The only pet motel on the Sunshine Coast was only 20 minutes away at Noosa. Beautiful part of the Sunshine Coast...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

Had a week here in a very nice spacious apartment, with fully equipped kitchen, washing machine, dryer, separate bedrooms, comfortable lounge with large TV, movies and many channels. Ocean is just across the road, and views of this from the balcony, enabled us to watch numerous surfers riding in on the waves.
Under cover lock-up parking was most helpful, as we could park the rental car without any concerns. Coolum is a small resort town on the Sunshine Coast, with shops and many cafes and restaurants just a few metres' walk up the road. If you're a sea swimmer, the manned surf club is nearby. A full meal at the bowling club (we're not members) cost six dollars; at the surf club twelve dollars. Prices in cafes and restaurants are similar to NZ.
The Beach Retreat has a heated swimming pool, spa pool, children's play pool, and sauna for the use of guests. Our trip was bought on a package deal that included return flights from Auckland, and accom for seven nights, all incl. for less than a thousand. Great value.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

Great place to stay, clean manicured grounds, lovely heated pool and spa,sauna. Underground secure car parking. Rooms, clean spacious and well appointed, would have appreciated an exhaust fan in kitchen.Laundry facilities in bathroom were great as coin operated machines were not required although they are available. Would stay again anytime !

Room Tip: Room on the south are quieter, in winter east facing units get more sunlight
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

I stayed here during the Queen's Birthday long weekend this year for a wedding close by.
From the start I experienced nothing but friendliness. I called several days earlier to try and arrange an early Check in and spoke to Amber, this was sorted out without any issues and I was able to make the wedding in record time!

The Hotel is withing walking distance from anything in town (although there is a great little cafe underneath) and has great views of Coolum beach. I stayed in a studio by myself and couldn't fault it!

I do suggest that if you get back to your room late (and a little tipsy) as I did. Do not use the WIFI, It's very expensive and unnecessary. A mistake I won't make a second time.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mullo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wooroolin Qld
Level Contributor
115 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

This apartment is set on the rise looking over the exquisite Coolum Beach. There are several excellent restaurants and cafes within an easy walk and the main shopping street is 100 metres away. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment which was tidily furnished with a comfortable bed and all th e requisites you need for a stay away from home. The balcony allowed a good view of the beach set up with a table and chairs. I think the studio Apartments on the front offer an even better view though as they are closer to the beach so the beach is not obscured by the other buildings. There is a lovely pool and BBQ area although we didn't use them preceding to go across the road to the beach and eat out- our favourite restaurant is just 20 metres away. It has a bar which looks over the beach so you can have a relaxing coffee or cold drink. If you prefer you can sit at a table most have great views of the water. Great location, lovely helpful staff and reasonable prices and we will go back for sure.

Room Tip: For 2 people just choose a studio which are right on the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendyxlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

Reserved a one-bedroom oceanview unit at the last minute for the ANZAC holiday. Very pleased. Price was reasonable, furnishings were fine, view was great, restaurants and shops were within easy walking distance. Appreciated the gated underground carpark. Having laundry in the unit was very helpful. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HawaiianHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coolum Beach
0.7 mi away
The Point Coolum Beach
The Point Coolum Beach
#2 of 4 in Coolum Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coolum Beach Resort
Coolum Beach Resort
#4 of 4 in Coolum Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coolum at the Beach
Coolum at the Beach
#3 of 4 in Coolum Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Element on Coolum Beach
Element on Coolum Beach
#1 of 4 in Coolum Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coolum Caprice Luxury Holiday Apartments
9.0 mi away
RACV Noosa Resort
RACV Noosa Resort
#2 of 10 in Noosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach Retreat Coolum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Retreat Coolum

Property: The Beach Retreat Coolum
Address: 1750 David Low Way, Coolum Beach, Queensland 4573, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Coolum Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Coolum Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Beach Retreat Coolum 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your The Beach Retreat Coolum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beach Retreat Coolum Hotel Coolum Beach
Flag Hotel Coolum Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing