We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views to do for”
Review of Coolum Surf Club

Coolum Surf Club
Ranked #1 of 73 Restaurants in Coolum Beach
Price range: US$8 - US$26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: WINNER BEST CLUB QLD AND BEST DINING QLD 2017 Our Beachfront Restaurant serves lunch and dinner 7 days a week. We have an exciting menu ideal for those long, leisurely lunches or special dinners. You’ll find something on our menu to suit all tastes, from fresh local seafood to homemade gourmet pizzas. Our wide variety of salads, juicy steaks and our fabulous house made desserts will be sure to tantalise your taste buds. Our surf club is the ONLY surf club in Australia to feature a genuine wood fired chargrill, all our steaks are cooked over this iron bark fuelled coal pit giving them a sweet smokey taste you won’t find anywhere else. You can watch our chefs cooking up your delicious steaks on this impressive piece of equipment in our state of the art open kitchen. You can enjoy our delicious food listening to the waves on our stunning deck or inside where we’ve created a comfortable eating area with uninterrupted views of the ocean. Whatever your choice, you are certain to enjoy our fantastic service, delicious food and breathtaking views. The restaurant is also open for breakfast every Sunday morning. Come and join us for a lazy Sunday brunch or kick-start your day with the famous beach-side breakfast – guaranteed to fill you up for the day ahead!
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Disliked nothing. More or less typical club food with perhaps a bit more presentation. A wonderfully refurbished club looks fantastic. Sit outside and listen to the surf - views are fantastic. Staff exceptionally helpful.

Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolum S, Manager at Coolum Surf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at our club, we love to hear peoples feedback from their visit and we are glad to hear how much you enjoyed it.
With whale season upon us the views can only get better!
We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (790)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

666 - 670 of 790 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

Hard to believe it is winter - sitting inside the club on a beautiful sunny winter afternoon - almost the meeting hub of Coolum locals - some of the meals can be expensive but there are other options such as the wraps for only $10.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolum S, Manager at Coolum Surf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience of our club, yes it is hard to believe it's winter!
we look forward to sharing our beautiful club with you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I had a lovely toasted wrap for $10 with a fantastic view on the deck and relaxed with a free newspaper. Great value, great food, great view. Staff are nice too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stefan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolum S, Manager at Coolum Surf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. We love to hear when people enjoy their visit and are happy that we could provide you with this experience.
Please check your inbox for a little thank you for your 5 star review.
We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Visited this club on a Sunday night with some friends who were locals. They suggested we go there for the proximity to where we were staying . Whilst the club has great facilities and a magnificent view over the beach I dont think this gives them the right to charge the prices that they do. Our local friends said they used to go here frequently but don't anymore due to the expensive prices for both food and drinks and we can understand that now.
They are charging restaurant prices for club style meals where one has to order at the counter and obtain your own cutlery and condiments. The pizzas are probably the best value option .
I normally don't object to paying extra for a premium beer but to pay over $7 for a James Squire tap beer is daylight robbery!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bribiejeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolum S, Manager at Coolum Surf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our club, we take on board all comments made in these reviews and do our best to rectify any problems we can.
Unfortunately the prices we charge reflect those of the suppliers and when we are sourcing quality ingredients while supporting local suppliers and businesses these can sometimes be a little higher than some establishments.
We do have specials available on a daily basis so we do hope you will look out for those and return to the club in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

We are locals and love this place. The views are amazing and the staff are friendly too. The food is great and there is always something on the menu to suit everyone. To all the people that complain I'm sure that no club is perfect in your world. This club goes very close.

Thank Garyth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolum S, Manager at Coolum Surf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you so much for your great review of our club, it is lovely for us to receive reviews like this one!
We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
P.s If you check your inbox there is a little "Thank you" in there too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coolum Surf Club also viewed

Coolum Beach, Sunshine Coast
Coolum Beach, Sunshine Coast
 
Coolum Beach, Sunshine Coast
Coolum Beach, Sunshine Coast
 
Mount Coolum, Coolum Beach
Coolum Beach, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Coolum Surf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing