We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice spot”
Review of Coolum Surf Club

Coolum Surf Club
Ranked #1 of 72 Restaurants in Coolum Beach
Price range: US$8 - US$28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: WINNER BEST CLUB QLD AND BEST DINING QLD 2017 Our Beachfront Restaurant serves lunch and dinner 7 days a week. We have an exciting menu ideal for those long, leisurely lunches or special dinners. You’ll find something on our menu to suit all tastes, from fresh local seafood to homemade gourmet pizzas. Our wide variety of salads, juicy steaks and our fabulous house made desserts will be sure to tantalise your taste buds. Our surf club is the ONLY surf club in Australia to feature a genuine wood fired chargrill, all our steaks are cooked over this iron bark fuelled coal pit giving them a sweet smokey taste you won’t find anywhere else. You can watch our chefs cooking up your delicious steaks on this impressive piece of equipment in our state of the art open kitchen. You can enjoy our delicious food listening to the waves on our stunning deck or inside where we’ve created a comfortable eating area with uninterrupted views of the ocean. Whatever your choice, you are certain to enjoy our fantastic service, delicious food and breathtaking views. The restaurant is also open for breakfast every Sunday morning. Come and join us for a lazy Sunday brunch or kick-start your day with the famous beach-side breakfast – guaranteed to fill you up for the day ahead!
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The Surf Club at Coolum is like a lot of other clubs: decor, layout, people.
There are some renovations happening at the moment to enhance the bistro area, which will be good.
The selection on the menu was quite good, as were the specials board. Nothing out of the ordinary though.
We did come in towards the end of the meal time, and it was very evident that it had been a busy Sunday lunch.
Two burgers (and they did cater for gluten free), as well as the salt and pepper calamari.
The calamari was cooked well and not tough at all. Could have done with more pepper though as that didn't appear to come through, taste wise.
The burgers were good, and yes, the juices were running down the hands, so that is always a good endorsement.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MisterD-01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolum S, Manager at Coolum Surf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for your review and photos, we are glad that you enjoyed your visit.
The renovations will be completed in September which will give us a brand new kitchen which is very exciting!
We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (832)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

700 - 704 of 832 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

This is a great pub on the beach at coolum. The service here is really good. The view is fantastic. The location in the beach is perfect. As a pub its a great place to have a drink. The food is OK, but it is just pub grub..

Thank dwt991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolum S, Manager at Coolum Surf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for your review of our club, we are happy to hear you enjoyed your experience and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The pizza is very basic and hard base, although the topping was alright. Other meals were reasonable considering the price

Thank 563,323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolum S, Manager at Coolum Surf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our club, we appreciate any feed back which is taken on board in order to improve.
We hope to welcome you back at the club soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Best view with beers and food! Great atmosphere, friendly staff and you could go there daily!! It is relaxing to enjoy a beer watching the waves roll in. The have a great variety of food and drinks as well as great entertainment!

Thank Matt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolum S, Manager at Coolum Surf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you so much for writing such a fantastic review of your experience, we are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your visit.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Please check your inbox for a little tank you for the 5 star review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Many years ago we visited the Surf Club at Coolum and have always recalled it as a very friendly establishment that was part of the community.I am pleased to say that on our visit this time we found that the club had expanded, offered great views of the beach,and the service was still of a high standard.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Darryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolum S, Manager at Coolum Surf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for such a lovely review of our club, we are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed everything about your visit.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coolum Surf Club also viewed

Coolum Beach, Sunshine Coast
Coolum Beach, Sunshine Coast
 
Coolum Beach, Sunshine Coast
Mount Coolum, Coolum Beach
 

Been to Coolum Surf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing