We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surf Camp located in Paradise!”
Review of Bahia Surf Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bahia Surf Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Salvador, BA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Surf Camp located in Paradise!”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We booked on two different days 2 hours of surf lessons. A taxi picked us up at our hotel in Salvador City and brought us to this wonderful place. Before we started the surf lesson we had a rich breakfast in the middle of this beautiful surf camp. The surf lessons were done by Beto and Lorenzo. They teached us very well in english/german/italian so we were able to achieve some success. We had so much fun we even did 3 hours of lesson instead of 2 hours. As the surf camp is located in a private area we were the only ones at the beach and in the waves! Other places we have been were quite crowded and you had to pay a lot of attention not to get hit by other surfers. After surfing we enjoyed a nice lunch which was done very well. The rest of the day we spent either on this wonderful private beach (never saw a more beautiful one during my 3 weeks in Brasil) or in the sun chair in the surf camp. In the late afternoon the taxi brought us back to Salvador City. You really get good value for the EUR 80.00.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philipp P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    7
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
6
22
56
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2013

My partner and I have stayed at the surfcamp recently for a week before going home after a year of travelling around the world. The camp was definitely one of our highlights. If you love surfing, nature, beaches and want to chill out, this is the place for you! Beto, Lorenzo and the rest of the staff do everything to make you feel at home and make sure you get as much surfing in as possible. The food was excellent, very diverse and more than enough. The camp's location is absolutely gorgeous. Often, we were the only people on the beach and in the water. This really is a chilled out place, surfing is a chilled out sport, if you want a hotel style service, go stay in a hotel and if you just want to party just stay in Rio. I am really glad I didn't believe some of the previous reviews here and highly recommend this little slice of paradise

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanaRaLi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2013

First of all, This place is a great surf camp, people shouldn't confuse it with Resort Hotel,
or anything like this. For surfing - there's no greater place, for those who enjoy wild nature, calm environment of the ocean beach, that's the place to go.
Price is equivalent to the services rendered, and airport transfer is included.
If you are after bars, discos, and city lights - why even going do the surf camp?

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frequent_flyer_ru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
103 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I turned up just about able to stand up in the white water on an 8ft longboard and left catching the green waves breaking in the line-up on a 6ft....well...some of them ;-)

I had a great time here, chilling in the grounds, watching sunrise on the beach, surfing everyday and getting tips from Beto and Matteus to improve my technique, yoga at sunset.....it was a perfectly chilled week at the end of a crazy year backpacking around South America.

The rooms and common areas are perfect and pristine and the food is great. Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thecuriouswolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Spent 5 days at the camp, and definitely wish I had stayed longer. Beto and the rest of the staff are excellent, the food was great and the camp itself is gorgeous. The private beach is stunning with waves for all levels of surfers. My surfing skills improved tremendously within the first lesson. I highly recommend Bahia Surf Camp to anyone looking for a relaxing time in Salvador with great surfing.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pdub P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mty
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Spent four nights at the Bahia Surf Camp and regret not staying more. Had an incredible time. Great scenery. Great people. Great food and great service. Learnt to surf in the first day. Highly recommend it to anyone who would like to spend a highly enjoyable weekend learning to surf.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raul11433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2013

I spent a bit more that a week at the Bahia surf camp and had an amazing time. I couldn't hope for a better holiday. I learnt to surf and much more.
Everyone there makes you feel welcome and the camp is probably the safest place I have seen in Brasil, situated in the middle of a secured resort, it is a quiet, inspiring and beautiful place.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abrantes
1.5 mi away
Bahia Plaza Hotel
Bahia Plaza Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abrantes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mais Hotel
Mais Hotel
#3 of 8 in Lauro de Freitas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
8.3 mi away
Catussaba Resort Hotel
Catussaba Resort Hotel
#38 of 111 in Salvador
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Vila Gale Mares
Vila Gale Mares
#1 of 5 in Camacari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,161 reviews
7.1 mi away
Pousada A Capela
Pousada A Capela
#1 of 8 in Arembepe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
2.1 mi away
Pousada Porto das Ondas
Pousada Porto das Ondas
#1 of 2 in Abrantes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Surf Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Surf Camp

Property: Bahia Surf Camp
Address: Ba 099 Km 08 | Busca Vida Beach, Abrantes, Camacari, State of Bahia 42841000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Camacari > Abrantes
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Abrantes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Special Lodging in one of the most beautiful and exclusive beaches in Brazil. Private and secure area inside the property home from a Surf Legend of Bahia Brasil. Beto provides all necessary care and information for your vacation in his home town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Bahia Surf Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Surf Camp Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing