We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend!!”
Review of The Windmill

The Windmill
Ranked #3 of 4 Restaurants in Wymondham
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“Great Weekend!!”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

What a great weekend we've had. Spent one night camping in this idyllic location, felt like we were in the middle of no where and our daughter loved it, especially looking around the windmill. Enjoyed great food in the tearoom also, great service...the owners really made us feel welcome, would definitely recommend and we cant wait to return!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LynneP26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    14
    7
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Visit to Wymondham windmill”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Very disappointing. Tried a second visit after finding the cafe smelled of chip fat the first time. Waitress completely ignored us and upon eventually being served, the crockery, pot (smeared with marks) of tea, milk jug and packets of sugar were virtually thrown onto the table without so much as a word. Such a lost opportunity at an otherwise very pleasant site with interesting shops. A smile, a few words and pretty, clean crockery and utensils would have made all the difference.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely family afternoon out.”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We have visited The Windmill several times before and loved it so much we took the family along for lunch and an afternoon in the sun. Its always great service with lots of choices for lunch, all the usual favourites along with a great specials board and I make sure to leave room for one of the fabulous cakes! The children loved the outdoor space and play area (I love the shops) and the in-laws enjoyed themselves so much they booked a weekend on the caravan site.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BodgeitandScarpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing! ”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Lovely location, a shame about the service, truly awful, the miserable waitress more or less threw our order onto the table. Pot of tea for four barely filled 4 cups. Cakes were bland - made with margarine!
Very poor!

Helpful?
2 Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Banana cake”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Excellent cafe. I can recomend the Banana cake. We visited last Saturday with friends. Well worth the trip.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Windmill also viewed

Wymondham, Leicestershire
Wymondham, Leicestershire
 
Wymondham, Leicestershire
 

Been to The Windmill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing