We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An opportunity for a quick winter get away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Manning Park Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Manning Park
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An opportunity for a quick winter get away”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Manning is in such a great setting. We can't help but feel there is a bit of a missed opportunity here. The environment made up 90% of our stay. The lodge is basic, but clean and comfortable. Service was friendly. They advertise a Bon fire, but it was just smouldering, with no one around. Maybe they should give out free marshmallows at a certain time to draw a crowd. There was tons of water on all the walkways, the restaurant is good, but no ambience. I understand there are new owners; I think there is a huge opportunity to make this a great winter experience. In the meantime, the setting itself is worth the trip.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimandrob78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    117
    69
    23
    22
See reviews for
111
99
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Blaine, Washington
Level Contributor
91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

This was a snowshoeing trip for my wife and I and our first time here and had a very nice experience. We arrived early but was allowed to check in early (it was a weekday). Front counter was very friendly and helpful. Nordic Center people (Jo & Toby) were very helpful in recommending the best snow shoe routes. We had the three routes we traveled to ourselves with one exception. Room was spotless and quiet. Nearby restaurant (Pinewoods) proved to be a very pleasant bonus to the trip. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: We always request an upper floor room for quiet, no elevator but easy stairs. Should stay on a week...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank usdeputysurveyor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
135 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We had booked MPR and then rented a car (as we decided to go carless as much as possible - an environmental thing!). MPR then called to say they had on-line booking problems, there was no room, and we could not stay there. There was NO apology, no indication they would compensate us. Well, a friend with a youth group was going, had extra rooms booked (we only found out after we were cancelled), so we got one of his rooms. We went and had a good experience. The weather was superb. The cross country skiing was good. Some of the downhill chairs were not working, no indication why. The skating rink, the pool and steam room were all great. The food at the restaurant was average ( we both didn't feel well after one meal). The people were good to us, very attentive and worked to make everyone's experience good. They had memory foam mattresses and they were not so much fun - we kept rolling into each other at night and woke up with sore joints.

Room Tip: Listen it's not a first class place, but it's a good three hours from Vancouver and it does...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 111Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Coast, CAnada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We love coming here for a little bit of winter fun. The Resort is simple in its finishing but has what you want. Based on the current room rate of $110. for a mini suite you can not beat the deal. Spacious room with a table you can sit around to eat or play cards and lots of space for your gear. Beds are comfortable and the room is clean. We were told the rates were going up significantly and if this happens we will be looking at other options. For now we enjoy going to Cross Country and Snowshoe. The trails are groomed and offer a good variety. We also enjoy the hot tub and pool after a day in the snow. Have not eaten in the restaurant but have had drinks and a meal in the Pub. Games room downstairs in the resort for family use. They now have Internet which really helps when you are pretending to work.
Please don't raise the rates and we will be back next month. click Like if helpful.

Room Tip: The mini suite is worth the current price and makes for a enjoyable stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RTravelExperiences
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

This is my first time staying in Manning since the changing of ownerships. The biggest improvement that I noticed is the new management finally changed the bedding! Everyone had a goodnight's sleep. They have nice facilities around as their pool has two hot tubs and two steam rooms. The outdoor ice rink was open and there is a fire pit right beside the rink so it was such a great feeling having a campfire in the winter. Then of course Lightening Lake is just a short drive away from the resort.
There are two negatives I can list. There are less than 10 channels on tv & you have to pay for wifi. But watching television and surfing on the internet were not high on my priority list as that can be done any time in the city.
Overall this place is awesome if you love the outdoors.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JVancity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Though we only stayed overnight at the newly reopened Manning Park Lodge , it was a dreadful night to remember & forget, hence the late review. One hope that the new management has made all the necessary changes.
After a long drive from the east Kootenays we settled into our room but quickly discovered deficiencies, missing remotes for the tv & none at the front desk, torn furniture, broken fridge & later at night a toile that backed up & created several inches of water on the floor. Management couldn't do anything other than move us at midnight to a new room!
Won't be returning anytime soon!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Selma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Manning Park Resort, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
I am responding to apologize for the poor experience you had at Manning Park Resort.It looks like you stayed at the resort in May, although that may be incorrect. In any event, it sounds like we really dropped the ball, especially after such a long drive. So that you know we did take over the resort in May of this year 2013, after it had been in receivership for 3 years.
I can assure you that we have been focused on improving the facilities and service in many areas of the resort. As I mention in an earlier response, we installed a new satellite TV system in August to have 10 channels, only to discover that the TV's didn't work. We now have new flat screen TV's in all of the lodge rooms with remotes that also work!
Also in August we installed a WIFI system that provides customers with 10 minutes of complimentary internet from the front parking lot, Pinewoods Restaurant, and the Lodge rooms. Additional time can be purchased at the front desk.
We have also painted buildings, refinished the wood carvings, cleaned, and continue to improve the restaurant menus, the country store stock, and are now starting to work on the ski area.
This fall we are also in the midst of updating our beds through the purchase of new bedding and memory gel foam tops.
While we are sorry that you had such a poor first experience, we hope that you will give us another try.
Thank you for taking the time to bring this to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manning Park hotels

Trail, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Got a 45% off deal and am glad we stayed there, great location, quiet and clean rooms. Love the area. The staff seemed nice and parking was close to room. Wifi was free for 5 minutes, then you have to pay! Would take my family here or just spouse for a get away. Booked online with no problems!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manning Park
24.9 mi away
Sunshine Valley RV Resort & Cabins
0.0 mi away
Bear Claw Lodge
Bear Claw Lodge
#1 of 1 in Kispiox
7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kicking Horse Kabins
Kicking Horse Kabins
#11 of 42 in Golden
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manning Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manning Park Resort

Property: Manning Park Resort
Address: 7500 Hwy 3, Manning Park, British Columbia V0X 1R0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Manning Park
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Manning Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Manning Park Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YOUR FOUR SEASONS DESTINATION.Manning Park Resort and EC Manning Provincial Park has your four seasons covered. With Alpine and Nordic skiing in the Winter; snowshoeing and exploring in the Spring; canoeing, camping, hiking and swimming in the Summer; fishing, hiking (check out the Larch trees on Mt Frosty) and boating during the Fall - there is always a beautiful outdoor adventure waiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Manning Park Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manning Park Hotel Hope

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing