We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Savary Island Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Savary Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Savary Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Savary Island
Calgary
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

"The Magnificent Seven" recently experienced Savary Island, and what a treat! Savary Island Resort was perfect for our group, and we enjoyed biking, kayaking, walking and the wonderful beaches. Kim and Mike were attentive to our questions, and advised us well. Our favourite beach was at the Sutherland Trail, where we were the only ones there for a glorious morning.

Accommodations were just what we needed, and the wonderful kitchen allowed to cook some great meals, including oysters we gathered.

Thanks, Kim and Mike--we will certainly recommend your resort.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SallyDune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavaryResort, Owner at The Savary Island Resort, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
Hi Ladies,
Having guests like you is what makes this a fun place!!! You guys were a total blast to be around. We can't thank you enough for your kind words and taking the time out of your busy lives to write us this amazing review. Thank you so very very much and we sincerely hope to see all of you again.
Sincerely,
Mike and Kim Wall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
18
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

We love Savary Island, it truly is magical! There is something there that is intangible, but extremely special. The water, the forest, the spirit of the place is worth experiencing at least once in one's life. We really enjoyed the Savary Island Resort and the nature that surrounds it. One of my favorite picture was taking from the high bank of the south side of the Island, looking down at where a group of people were playing volleyball the day before. Take a look!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pantix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavaryResort, Owner at The Savary Island Resort, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
Thank you so very much for taking the time to write a review after staying with us on Savary Island. We sincerely appreciate the kind words about Savary and about our resort. We hope to see you again on Sunny, Sandy Savary
Cheers!
Mike and Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bothell, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

When I read the reviews I thought Kim and Mike must have gotten lots of friends together to review their place!--kidding, but everyone does give a rave review. Walking in, it seemed modest - until we started to notice all the details. This place really is special. Their labor in building it from the land/trees, with incredibly beautiful and unique touches and classy materials, is a pleasure to experience. The suites were impeccable, the beds perfectly luxurious and so many little comforts and well-chosen details, amazingly stocked kitchens for preparing a fabulous meal (make sure to pack a gourmet cooler!)--it all was truly wonderful and completely enjoyable. We loved the fun outdoor shower, hammocks, spotted baby deer exploring the garden, firepit.
Most of all, Kim and Mike do "make the place". She was incredibly kind in going the extra mile for us in some ways that we really needed but that took her time and effort to do for us, and she was so gracious--with some of the best chocolate ever, thrown into the bargain! They're the perfect hosts, and if we return we wouldn't think of staying anywhere else. Guess we add our enthusiastic thumbs up!

Room Tip: We stayed in the luxury suite and had our 3 teens in the bunkhouse - worked perfectly. Make sure to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doug and Mary L... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavaryResort, Owner at The Savary Island Resort, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
WOW!!!! Thank you so very very much you guys. That is one amazing review. We are glad that you had a good time here and felt like you were taken care of. We hope to see you here again sometime soon....maybe another kayak trip up Desolation next year???...:) Thank you very very much
Sincerely,
Mike and Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Savary Island Resort this past week and had an amazing time! Kim and Mike were wonderful hosts and very helpful with helping us navigate the island. They were attentive without being intrusive and we enjoyed chatting with them! The resort is lovely - we stayed in the bunkhouses and used the common area for cooking and hanging out, although the weather was amazing so we didn't spend a lot of time inside. The grounds were beautiful and well maintained. The kitchen had everything we needed to make our meals and was plenty big for multiple people to be in it at a time. It was a mini family reunion with 2 grandparents, 3 parents and 4 kids ages 10 - 12. We also had an 11 week puppy who was welcomed by Kim and Mike. We love that the resort is kid and pet friendly! The beach was a very short walk from the resort and the water on this side of the island was warmer than we expected! The kids snorkelled and beach combed - tons of sand dollars, oysters and other marine life! The evenings were spent around the campfire roasting marshmallows and telling stories.
Thanks Kim and Mike for creating such a wonderful getaway on Savary - our whole family would highly recommend the resort to all who want to take a break from their hectic lives!

Room Tip: The luxury suites are beautiful so if you want to splurge they are definitely a significant upgrade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pclark19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavaryResort, Owner at The Savary Island Resort, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Thanks so much you guys. Your family were fantastic guests and we would love to see you come back sometime. We very much appreciate you taking the time to write such a nice review.
Thank you again
Sincerely,
Mike and Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manhattan beach
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

The Savary Island Resort is like stepping into time, into a movie, into a whole different way of life. It's life on a rustic, island, the rain forest, a place with two restaurants and a candy shop. Then, meet the Resort, a luxury hideaway with running (hot) water, a roaring camp fire, beautiful kitchen and really nice bedroom. There's so much here--an outdoor shower (enclosed) BBQs for all, and to die-for treehouse like views from all sides. Can't say enough about the place and the hospitality of the owners, Kim and Michael.

Room Tip: go all out, skip the bunks and go for the luxury.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grahamphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavaryResort, Owner at The Savary Island Resort, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
We can't thank you enough for your kind words. Thank you for taking the time to do a review for us. We hope to see you again sometime soon on Sunny, Sandy Savary
Sincerely, Mike and Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosengarten, Germany
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

We were on Savary Island from Monday - Friday, enough time to be lazy and to sort your mind.

We booked the luxury suite and were very impressed about the room. We enjoyed the tub and the gas stove the most. We used the kitchen every day, it has really everything you need. And if something is missing, you are always welcome to go down to the larger kitchen. Oh, and put some meat to your luggage so you're able to use the wonderful barbecue :-).

If you don't want to miss on luxury but loooove nature, Savary Island and the Savary Island Resort Luxury Suite is the best combination you can get in our opinion.

Kim and Michael are happy to recommend hiking routes if you like walking.

We can highly recommend staying at this wonderful place on Savary Island. It's not just a eyecandy, it's a spot where your soul gets pampered.

(for readers: with "Restaurant" i'm rating the kitchen/bbq)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AHeigold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavaryResort, Owner at The Savary Island Resort, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
We can't thank you enough for your kind words. We hope to see you sometime again on Sunny, Sandy Savary. Sincerely, Mike and Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qualicum Beach, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

Just got back from another amazing weekend at the Savary Island Resort. Picked fresh oyters from the beach just a few minutes away, sat around shucking and eating. Nice to see lots of improvements made to an already spectacular property and it was great to be able to sit around the fire with guests and the hosts and share lots of stories and laughs.

Room Tip: The bunk rooms are nice but if you go, definitely check out the luxury suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arnold S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Savary Island
4.3 mi away
Historic Lund Hotel
13.2 mi away
The Old Courthouse Inn
The Old Courthouse Inn
#1 of 7 in Powell River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
18.9 mi away
Old House Hotel & Spa
Old House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Courtenay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
16.8 mi away
Beach Gardens Resort Hotel
Beach Gardens Resort Hotel
#2 of 7 in Powell River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
21.0 mi away
Painter's Lodge
Painter's Lodge
#2 of 16 in Campbell River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savary Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savary Island Resort

Property: The Savary Island Resort
Address: 1721 Vancouver Boulevard, British Columbia V0N 2G0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Savary Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Savary Island
Hotel Class:4 star — The Savary Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our resort is open from May Long Weekend until October 31 every year and consists of 4 bunk rooms and two decadent luxury suites. Each bunk room has a queen size bed plus two XL twin bunk beds. The main building consists of a communal living area with a big screen TV, games, books and movies to rent. There is a communal kitchen with two 4 burner gas stoves, two large fridges plus all the pots and pans and dishes you'll need. The main building has two luxury suites. Each suite hosts a king size bed, 6ft bathtub, a flat screen TV plus a mini kitchen and outdoor BBQ. There are men and women's indoor bathroom & shower rooms. There is also a two person outdoor shower. The Resort also has a store which sells gourmet sausages in a bun with fried onions and sauerkraut, Island Farms Ice Cream, Baked goods from Nancy's Bakery in Lund, Freshly roasted "Savary Island Blend" coffee brewed with a pour over method. We also sell frozen fare from The Chopping Block in Powell River such as crab cakes, salmon cakes and the best bacon you will ever taste. We look forward to see for a minimum of 3 nights between May and October....:) ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing