We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High octane ambience”
Review of Citta dei Nicliani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Citta dei Nicliani
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Koita
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights for my husbands 60th birthday & this hotel more than lived up to our expectations. Great attention to detail & extremely friendly owners & staff. We have no problem in recommending this hotel & we will certainly be visiting again.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms with easy access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Babs5319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2013

The place between the ruins and the location in the beautifull Mani.. Very nice people, the owls. The very nice homemade breakfast Our perfect spot.
All year around a nice hotel. Nearby restaurants in the village. Cows on the road. Howling Jackels. Surprising.
Paul and Monica Holland

Room Tip: All suites have the right atmosphere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We spent just one night in this lovely little hotel, but it made a lasting impression and we will definitely be back! The rooms are decorated with attention to detail, and they are comfortable and elegant. The sitting area outside, by the little pebble-filled pond, is just magical, and it is a perfect place to relax in the late afternoon and watch the sunset. The breakfast was a delight, beautifully presented, and using local products and delicacies. We are really sorry to have missed dinner, but we are sure to make up for it next time! The stuff and owners are hospitable, friendly, and very accommodating to any special request, a big thanks to them!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dafnitin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Well, Greek tourism looks nothing like last year. It is back with a vengeance. Because services are better, hotels are better managed and prices are dramatically down. This small hotel in the Mani region of Greece is the proof of this. This family run hotel has only 7 rooms. Although Mani is not a very popular summer destination, as is off the beaten track it is for travelers and not for tourists, this particular hotel was booked solid. The family that has the hotel are travelers themselves and don't be surprised when with your breakfast they bring you salt from persia and tea from Darjeeling that was bought by them. Being a castle house (typical of Mani region) of the once very powerful Nicliani family the rooms could not be modified in size, so rooms are small and extremely clean. Every room has cable TV so that you can be connected to the outer world and free WIFI to keep up with your investments in the material world. The family is fluent in English. The breakfast of the highest quality and the fried pancakes that the lady fries just for you is a will breaker for the most dedicated dieter. On my personal opinion there are some points can take a degree of improvements. This hotel is a summer hotel, they don't have a sitting or restaurant area inside when the weather is chilly. (the food at dinner DIVINE) The window panes did not have stoppers so when it is windy they rattle. The bed spread that they put between the sheet and the bed (for youngsters that are active also at night) is plastic and when you turn it is noisy and make you sweat. (I took it out myself) Small details in a sea of beauty. Ask the younger member of the family Mr., Panos for the activities in the region and he will give you a detailed map. Don't miss Tenaro. And if you are a hiker this is a hikers paradise. Ample water and good shoes as it gets very rough and hot. Be good and keep on traveling.

Room Tip: The number 6 on the upper floor has a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YakoDogiou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We spent four nights in this fabulous hotel and will definitely be back. The ambiance is mystical and magical at the same time reflecting the general mood of this side of Mani. The buildings & rooms are designed with total respect to the surroundings with such elegance. The proprietors, Elias & Tanya, are such a pleasure to be around and incredibly helpful & knowledgable of the area. Make sure that you spend an evening for dinner at the hotel. Elias is also the chef and his cooking is exquisite. With soft jazz playing in the background, the stillness of the night interrupted only by the odd sound of an owl or jackal in the distance, amazing gourmet food & a fine selection of wines to choose from, (carefully created by Panagiotis) this is definitely a night you will remember. Breakfast comprised of a selection of local produce & fine tastes that differed each morning served with such delicate style. Style & good taste is the best way to describe this jewel, the Citta dei Nicliani.

Room Tip: Room 06 has windows on all four sides of the tower & a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank athenhol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

All the positive comments made about Citta' are pretty much on the money....or should I say 'mani'....;-

A few tips, therefore, to get the most out of your stay. First, the Mani is a very different proposition from the rest of the southern Peloponese: it's landscape is flat, mainly scrub or olive, with the Taygetus running like a brutal rocky spine down the middle of the peninsula all the way to Cape Matapan. It's a lot hotter and drier and lacks the larger sandy beaches, lush bays, verdant vegetation and cute villages of the Koroni peninsula: here, cute villages stop at Kardamyli (though Areoplis is an authentic and thoroughly good option for evening food).

The Mani is historically more remote, cut-off and poorer.... and the evidence is plain to see. Don't run away with the idea that the photos you see on Citta's website reflects the rest of the Mani: this is not, in any way, a kind of grecian Tuscany.

There is, one might argue, a disconnect between Citta's owners and the Mani landscape it finds itself in. In some ways this is a compliment because Tania, the lady of the house, is a very gifted interior designer and you can see this in many (expensive) fittings and the gradation of colours and finishes she's introduced into the bedrooms. Indeed, given our pretty extensive experience of Tuscan villas and hotels, I'd say Citta's bedrooms are more knowingly colour-matched and finished than we've seen in Tuscany at twice the price (of Citta). So, full marks here.

In fact the sheer gentillesse, sophistication and cosmopolitan outlook of Citta's hosts is so out of kilter with the rest of the tiny hamlet of Koita that the abovementioned "disconnect" springs to mind. So long as you understand that Citta' is a little oasis amongst a much harder, less sophisticated and more basic environment then you'll be fine.

The Mani south of Koita is scattered with a few bays and (mainly) pebbly beaches but it's not the kind of place where you can spend an entire week, unless you have a specific set of reasons. We don't think there's really enough to see and do, relatively speaking. If you want to chill by the beach we'd recommend the Koroni peninsula, Pylos, Voidokilia etc.: it simply gives you more options. So, you could argue that Citta is a bit of a victim of its surroundings.

Also, bear in mind that (at the time of writing) Citta does not have a plunge or swimming pool, so in July and August , unless you're a bedouin arab, you'll melt on the spot. Luckily all rooms have aircon but there is one to avoid where the aircon does not reach into the roof void where there's a mezzanine bed. It's a wonderfully cute little room but to be avoided between June and August given the heat-soak.

So, there you have it. Lovely hosts, excellent breakfast, attentive service, superb interior decoration, well cooked (an optional) evening meals and a generally friendly and warm environment. Stay duration: 3-5 nights maximum. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank CiboCiboCibo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Mani is a unique place in Greece. One of the territories that had not been conquered and that due to its family owned fortresses.
Citta dei Nicliani is one of them.
Very nice restoring job from the owners who love their land and business. Rock and wood with an elegant touch of modern facilities.
The breakfast in the yard is composed of local products and very well presented.
One of the best places to stay in Mani and we cant wait to revisit it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RebeccaSkevaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koita
2.4 mi away
Kyrimai Hotel
Kyrimai Hotel
#1 of 2 in Gerolimenas
382 reviews
11.6 mi away
Limeni Village Hotel
Limeni Village Hotel
#1 of 2 in Areopoli
222 reviews
16.5 mi away
Castello Antico Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Petra & Fos Boutique Hotel & Spa
12.7 mi away
Porto Vitilo Boutique Hotel
11.5 mi away
Pirgos Mavromichali
Pirgos Mavromichali
#2 of 3 in Limeni
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citta dei Nicliani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citta dei Nicliani

Address: | Anatoliki Mani, Koita 23071, Greece
Region: Greece > Peloponnese > Laconia Region > Koita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Koita
Price Range: £79 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Citta dei Nicliani 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary refuge where timeless values and romantic images meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Citta dei Nicliani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing