We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We love this place!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Soliman Bay, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Steve S
1 review
“We love this place!”
Reviewed 14 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018

It's hard to imagine what could make it any better. The home is beautiful. Each room fantastic. Plenty of room for everyone to spread out or be together. Soliman Bay is perfect. The reef in front of the home has some of the best snorkeling we have ever encountered. Tons of fish, beautiful coral and very few people. The beach is beautiful white sand. There is a bit of seaweed that rolls in overnight. But Santos was up early every morning raking and cleaning it off. The a Bay is located about 15 minutes away from Tulum. I would recommend having a car. There are some great places relatively close and it is more convenient to not have to call a cab. We had a great time. We felt very safe. I would highly recommend this home. Nancy, the home owner was great to work with as well.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonovanM
Center Valley, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect spot in the middle of the bay”
Reviewed 22 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We just spent a week here and it has been one of our most memorable family vacations and the house was perfect. Including a bunch of kids we had 21 in total, five over their max, but they made an exception as we had a bunch of little ones.

The house has been perfect for us.

Pros!
Location, location, location. By far the best spot on the beach. Secluded private bay meant we had solitude, perfect snorkeling and kayaking and quiet family evenings sitting on each with wind off bay as we drank wine and watched stars and lightening storms in distance.

The kids played in pool non-stop and loved it.

Lots of turtles and fish to observe in bay.

We payed for cooks and it was best decision ever. We've done this a few times and it's always worth it. They were amazing - authentic Mexico means.

Cleanliness - they cleaned daily and kept everything looking great.

Cons
House hosts and cooks only spoke Spanish, so google translate was our best option - just be aware


Recommends
Purchase some more beach chairs - couple breaking down

More towels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle...
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Overall a wonderful experience”
Reviewed 20 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
4
people found this review helpful

We booked our vacation rental through LocoGringo, a third party based in Mexico that we had used before and Katy was Fantastic! Very quick to answer questions and help us organize the Chefs.
The Chefs were phenomenal - be sure to hire them, you will be so happy you did! The food is delicious and the gentlemen are both very nice.
The villa - We loved the beach and the location of the villa on the beach - right in the center of Soliman Bay! The beds were very comfortable, the ac in the bedrooms worked well and overall we enjoyed the villa.
That being said the owner really needs to invest a bit of money into the upkeep. There was peeling paint, the "stereo" was broken and when I asked for it to be repaired or replaced it never was. We had to request for 2 additional hammocks for the beach palapa as there were only 2 upon arrival - we did get the other 2 - 2 days later. There was only 2 chairs on the rooftop patio - quite unfortunate as this area was GORGEOUS! And we would have all liked to enjoy more time up there especially at night to enjoy the stars however with nowhere to sit we barely used this space.
The staff were nice but don't seem to be "invested". They really only did the bare minimum - making beds, emptied the bathroom trash and swept. Not once during our stay did they reorganize the beach chairs (which half of them were ripped/torn and in need of being replaced), reorganize the dining room chairs, clean off the outside table - things they should know to do at a "luxury" villa rental and not need to be asked.
Would we return to Soliman Bay - yes! Next time we might try a different villa though. We did enjoy our time and would recommend the MarCaribe - just want to share our experience so others have a clear expectation. :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, beach
Liked least: property needs some TLC - paint, new stereo,etc
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themilla
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Bay, Decent House, Bad Experience”
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The Good:
The Chefs - Get them! They were great!
The location - 10 min drive away from the town of Tulum (and ruins), and 15 mins away from the 'hip' part of town.
Hammocks - Enough said! So relaxing...
Chamico's - Best seafood right down the street from the house! Amazing hut on a beach serving fresh ceviche, fish, and lobster!
Hotel Jashita - Another great hotel/restaurant down the street. Definitely more upscale than Chamico's, but worth it. Book early, as they fill up.
Soliman Bay - Great Bay! No waves, so you can kayak out pretty easily. We saw turtles, manta rays, and so many fish.

The So-So:
The House - Lots of little touch ups needed here and there. Broken screens, jammed doors, chipped/peeling paint - The place just needs some TLC. The House is huge, and each bedroom has a bathroom. The AC in each room worked. As stated in the ad, there is NO AC in the main part of the house, so it leads to a lot of stale/stagnant air during the summer months. Some of the rooms smelled a little moldy, but maybe that comes with the territory. The paddle boat was broken, which was a bummer since we didn't realize it until we lugged the huge thing out to the water. The outdoor grill looked bigger in pictures; turns out its just a tiny charcoal webber style grill.

The Ugly:
Seaweed - Apparently the area is being hit with a LARGE swell of seaweed. There was so much of it that you had to wade through a lot just to get into the ocean. I don't think it's typical, but it's a good question to inquire about. The seaweed sits on the beach for days at a time, and starts to rot, so you have high temps, mixed with rotting seaweed, which all adds up to a great odor-ific party. To the point of several guests feeling nauseas during a strong breeze.
Owner Communication - It was fine before the trip. Some emails took a while to answer, but she was accommodating. Once the issue with the seaweed started, the emails because very accusatory/defensive. We just wanted a clean beach. Several other houses on the bay had people cleaning up the beach daily, but for some reason, ours did not. After dealing with the smell for 5 days, we decided to take matters into our own hands, and shovel it up ourselves. We never got an apology or 'thank you' for the clean up, only requests for photographs to prove my friends were doing it themselves, and then a response that 'seaweed is an act of nature, and not covered as stated in the agreement.' This was after several polite emails requesting that something be done to help with the seaweed. For the amount we paid for a week, we'd expected to have a little more assistance to clean up the area. In the end, we were offered a small refund (<3% of the total).

We wouldn't recommend this house to any friends based on lack of accountability/communication with the owner. We would definitely look into one of the other homes on this bay... There were some beautiful homes.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshuajoe
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A place of paradise needing a bit of repair”
Reviewed 25 June 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Overall we had a great experience. The layout is perfect for a couple families to share and it is close to many attractions. The building itself is starting to show its age and needs some attention. When you're paying 6 grand a week it seems odd that simple things like the roof top electrical isn't in safe working order. The paddle boat was broken and the flippers were ruined as well. Don't get me wrong it's a lovely spot and the caretakers were great. This was a lovely get away it just needs some revenue put back into it.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jjhrtrave...
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“10 Days in Paradise”
Reviewed 17 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We stayed at Villa Mar Caribe (booked through Akumal Properties) in February with 7 adults and 4 children. The villa had more than enough space to accommodate all of us - 3 living spaces, a full kitchen, plus a bar. We never ran out of space. The villa used to be a duplex so the flow isn't as good as some of the villas. The main floor is completely integrated, but the 2nd floor is only connected by the balcony. There were a few maintenance issues that we've reported to the owners, but overall the house was good. All the amenities you need for your vacation, including a well-equipped kitchen with more dishes than you could ever use in a day. The roof top is a great place to catch the last rays of sun in the afternoon and to view the stars at night.

The grounds and location are perfection. Tons of loungers around the pool and on the beach, and a great outdoor seating area with comfy outdoor couch and chairs that we used nightly for an after-dinner drink. There is a charcoal grill and a gas grill that were in great condition.

We snorkelled constantly and used the kayaks several times a day. Note, there are no snorkel masks, and only a few large sets of fins but there are a few kids lifejackets and several adult ones.

Soliman Bay is amazing, I'd recommend it to anyone and would likely stay at Villa Mar Caribe. It's not quite as fancy as neighboring villas of the same size, but it's priced lower as well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location & outdoor living space
Liked least: Flow of the house
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ambersigm...
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely STUNNING”
Reviewed 18 December 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We rented a half side of this house. It was absolutely stunning. I had been there to see it one year before and had forgotten how grand the house is. The tile floors, bedrooms, the bathrooms, all gorgeous, along with the views. We had our some of our family/wedding guests stay here. There were all the amenities, along with paddle boats, snorkels, hammocks. It was a great option for guests to be by the water and still have modern amenities like AC, along with the quiet. We love Tulum, but our family wanted more modern amenities, and they were very happy with them. I didn't snorkel, but my husband did and said the snorkeling here was the best he had been to in comparison to a cenote and another place in Akumal we had visited. This place was incredible. The house keepers on site are always there to help. They didn't speak English, but we were able to communicate with them simply by showing them if we needed something. They were always so hospitable. Such a gorgeous place, and a nice place to call our own during our vacation there. Definitely recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house in general is gorgeous!!! Plus the pool and views.
Liked least: The beach has plant growing in the water close to shoreline so harder to wade in spots, but makes for better snorkeling. Still gorgeous!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
No pets
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing