We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!!!”
Review of Tankah Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tankah Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Soliman Bay B&B and Inns
Tehachapi, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place!!!”
Reviewed 14 December 2011

We just returned from a four day stay (9-13 Dec.). The owner is engaging and funny, the room was very nice (with A/C AND a KING-SIZE BED), the location on the beach can't be beat, and the included breakfast is excellent! You will not regret a stay at the Tankah Inn. Tell 'em Dave and Juanita sent 'ya!!!

Room Tip: We liked the Xel-Ha room. In the center of the complex and a stone's throw from the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigdaddy1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    4
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
6
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LondresMilanBruxelles
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We read so many positif reviews about that that place that we were really excited to stay there.But we were a bit disappointed by what we got... and especially by an owner more interested in his "own point of view" and tips given to his employees (does he pay them at all ?) than by the well being of his guests...

Anyway, here we go for a quick brief :

Positif :
-small structure with 4-5 rooms
-rooms are quiet big, with an ocean view (even if small view for the first room), clean, provided with drinking water
-excellent breakfast !!! Also according to your own taste (if you like hot, he'll do it, and the way mexicans eat them!)

Negatif :

-if you want to swim by low tide, its impossible, you need to take a kayak and go out "a bit"
-narrow beach and not that extraordinary compared to some other beach nearby
-lack of transats on the beach
-very few restaurant in a walking distance
-owner attitude towards guest ; that guy must have the monopoly of thruth !

In a nutshell, ok for 1 or 2 nights, not more.

For info, I've lived in Mexico for 1 year and know the region quiet well

So, enjoy your stay and especially these marvellous breakfast !!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pegase320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We stayed at the Tankah Inn for 3 nights of our July 2011 honeymoon. We had excellent service throughout our stay, Poncho's breakfast was so good it had us getting up quite early! Our room was very nice with an amazing view. The small fridge came in handy too! We really enjoyed the kayaks and the snorkeling in the bay. I highly recommend the Tankah Inn it was a beautiful place with lots of fun things to do nearby.

Room Tip: We liked the Tikal room, it was the brightest and had the best ocean view, lots of windows, not for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emily w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rurla MN
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2011

We stayed in the Tikal room 7 nights, loved the view and the accomodations. Weren't bothered at all by sounds from neighboring room. At least once a day we paddled a kayak out to the reef and went snorkeling. The reef has several types of coral and many, many fish. Willie & the staff were very friendly. Many days we were the only people on the beach.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grndmatigerlilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2011

This was our third time at the Tankah Inn B&B, and can't wait to go back again and again. Excellent rooms, staff, breakfasts made to order, great snorkeling (tons of coral, fish and huge rays) and so peacful, especially under the palapa out front, swaying in the hammocks to the gentle Caribbean breezes. And at night, (the hammocks are doubles) what a romantic place to stargaze with your loved one. And to top it all off, the prices make it the best value in RM, hands down. When we were there all 5 rooms were booked, and everyone felt the same way. We highly reccomend the Tankah Inn B&B to everyone.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fishingwahoo24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2011

This was our second stay at Tankah Inn and we had a great time. The hotel is literally steps away from the ocean and the snorkeling out front is fantastic. The made-to-order breakfasts each morning are wonderful, and the fridges in the rooms allow you to stock up and not go into town so often. We didn't need the AC at all - windows and a powerful ceiling fan were all we needed. The room with the best view, I think, is Tikal - it has a wall of windows facing the ocean as well as a small balcony - but it deserves a word of warning: if there are guests in the adjoining room (Uxmal) you can hear EVERYTHING. We weren't aware of this and requested to stay there, then spent several days annoyed by neighbors who weren't even that noisy, but every tiny noise was audible. There is wireless internet, but our iPad couldn't get a signal in Tikal. The signal upstairs in the common area was fine. Rooms are basic but spacious and clean. I imagine we'll go back in the future, but doubt we'll request the ocean-front Tikal room.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hikermc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2011

This is a great place to stay if you're looking for a quiet relaxing beautiful beach to hang out at. They have a couple of kayaks available to paddle around the bay, nice snorkeling and there's a great cenote only a short walk away. The breakfast, made and served by Pancho, is fantastic! There are only 2 other restaurants within walking distance, so it was really nice to have a car to find other places to eat dinner, as well as explore the area. No regrets whatsoever staying at this little hotel, would definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petersonduo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soliman Bay
0.3 mi away
PavoReal Beach Resort Tulum
0.3 mi away
Blue Sky Tulum
Blue Sky Tulum
#2 of 2 in Soliman Bay
203 reviews
1.1 mi away
O'Tulum
O'Tulum
#50 of 97 in Tulum
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Jashita
Hotel Jashita
#1 of 2 in Soliman Bay
680 reviews
9.1 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 97 in Tulum
859 reviews
7.0 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#22 of 97 in Tulum
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tankah Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tankah Inn

Property: Tankah Inn
Address: Tankah III | Lote # 16, Soliman Bay 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Soliman Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Soliman Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEACHFRONT INN sleeps 1 to 14 people. Located at Tankah Bay ~ Tankah Tres, one hour south of Cancun International Airport and ten minutes north of Tulum. * Air Conditioning all rooms. * 6200 square feet. * Two story. * Five ROOMS - main floor With Air Conditioning. * Five full baths in rooms & two half baths/dining * Common Area - Ala cart menu included in rate and social area. GROUND LEVEL * Five spacious bedrooms with A/C down a long corridor with private entrances and private terraces with views of both the Mayan Jungle and Caribbean Sea. * All bedrooms have their own very large bathroom and shower. * All bedrooms have a view of Tankah Bay. * All bedrooms have two chairs and a table. * Our beds have box-springs, not concrete, for extra comfort. * Hand-woven bedspreads. * Air Conditioning and Cross ventilation and Hunter fans keep you comfortably cool all day and night. * Our experienced maids clean your rooms every day except Sundays. THE TIKAL ROOM * King-size bed, private bath, and private terrace. * Has a connecting door (sound proofing) to Uxmal (great for families or two couples). THE UXMAL ROOM (pronounced ooshmal) * Two double-size beds, private bath, and private terrace. THE XEL-HA ROOM (pronounced shell-ha) * King-size bed, private bath, and private terrace. THE COBA ROOM * King-size bed, private bath, and private terrace. * Has a connecting door (sound proofing) to Coba (great for families or two couples). THE TULUM ROOM * Two double-size beds, private bath, and private terrace. SECOND FLOOR - "Common Area" * Enjoy your breakfast menu here. * Honor bar * Large social area. * Large terrace with fabulous views of the coast line and Tankah Bay. * The sunrises from the terrace with coffee is a beautiful beginning for any day. * Enjoy the incredible clear-blue Caribbean or watching the ships and sail boats that pass. * Afternoon drinks on the terrace while swapping stories of your Mexican adventures is a great way to wind down your day. * The moonrise from the terrace are extraordinarily spectacular, they simply have to be seen to be believed. Keywords: Bead & Breakfast - Guest House - On the Beach on Tankah Bay in Rivera Maya ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tankah Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tankah Hotel Tankah
Tankah Inn Mexico/Soliman Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing