We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Tropical Setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sahara Cafe

Sahara Cafe
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, View, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
California
Level Contributor
258 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Perfect Tropical Setting”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We stayed at a B&B near the Sahara. One day we walked to the Sahara for lunch and a drink. Life doesn't get any better than this. Sipping pina colada's while sitting under a palapa looking out over a beautiful beach and the azure waters of Soliman Bay. The drinks were good, the service excellent, and the food perfect.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachWizard4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    23
    14
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Fresh food, beautiful setting”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed at Hotel Jashita for a week and liked Sahara Cafe so much that we only ate one meal elsewhere. The food is fresh and there's a good variety of options. For lunch, the fish tacos are delicious. For dinner we loved the gnocchi, lobster dishes, and my favorite was the chile relleno which was on special one night. The calimari salad was another favorite, and I ended up having the flan for dessert every night because it was so good. We ate at the table closest to the water every night and usually had no one around us. Great place if you want a romantic, quiet setting for dinner!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mhunter29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwest Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place, but”
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

We went to Sahara last night for dinner, so let's start with the good news, it was lovely, with the tables well spaced and the greeting and seating was prompt and efficient. Drink order was taken and filled. On Tuesday and Friday nights they have a wood grill barbecue, so I ordered a steak and my wife ordered chicken. The sides were mashed potatoes and spinach. So after a nice tomato caprese salad the entrees arrived and they were lovely but both sides were cold and the side of rice was also cold, but the meats were delicious. We followed the entrees with dessert and they were fine, but then we waited and waited and waited to finally get someone to bring a check.when it finally arrived they had added a gratuity to the check of 10% and that was fine, so I gave the waiter my credit card. In a few minutes another waiter came over and insisted that the tip be left in cash. Luckily I had enough cash on me, but after all of the waiting, to be treated rudely was a little too much. So enjoy most of the food but make sure you have cash for the tip.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank swvabob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great italian slash mexican menue”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

such a beautiful setting you rather not leavethe hotel. Great food and fun service. Don´t miss Clemente.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ebba B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

My husband and I enjoyed two meals at the Sahara (a lunch and a dinner) when on vacation last week and would definitely recommend the restaurant. We were staying at a wonderful place further south on Soliman Bay (Villa Dolce Vita - loved it and highly recommend!) and so we could walk to the Sahara, which is a selling point for us. The food and service were excellent with great ambience, we had the same table overlooking the bay both times. There is lots of choice on the menu but some items are a bit pricey by local standards.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barb_and_George_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sahara Cafe also viewed

Soliman Bay, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Soliman Bay, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Sahara Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing