We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NOM NOM NOM!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Oscar & Lalo

Oscar & Lalo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Caribbean, Latin, Seafood, Central American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Wonderful Palapa Restaurant since 1982 with a pebble floor, mayan sculptures, waterfalls, hammocks, exotic birds, a peaceful garden with a fantastic jungle setting. Excellent Seafood, Authentic Mexican and Yucatecan Cuisine. World Famous "Lalo's Special", a dish made with fresh shrimp, lobster, calmer, fish and chicken fajitas is Superb. The ceviche made of fresh fish, shrimp, lobster, octopuss and lemon is also exceptional. The most relaxing place to laze in a hammock after a delicious feast.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“NOM NOM NOM!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

After our tour with Virginia and her staff, they had brought us here for lunch. Since we were a group of nine, we strategically ordered everything so we were able to share this food family style. Given that we were nine guys and starving after zip lining and snorkeling, we probably ate all the food in 15 minutes and it was delicious! This was probably our first authentic meal we had ever since we landed in Mexico. The guacamole was to die for! We received excellent service and there was never a time where we had to wait to get service. Thanks for the wonderful lunch!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Raymond V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    611
    136
    56
    22
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Yum - with a playground for children!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We had an early lunch at Oscar and Lalo's. Everyone's meal was fabulous and margaritas were enjoyed by all. As a bonus for those travelling with children, there was a PLAYGROUND that was visible from the outdoor seating area. Solid food, nice atmosphere, we will come back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ssnpp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEW YORK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best meal on my vacation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We had the privilege of stopping at Oscar and Lalo's during a tour and it was a great unexpected authentic Mexican lunch. Honestly, the best meal we has on our vacation and we stayed at a 5 star hotel. The atmosphere is tropical quaint jungle with details like the table settings and fresh coconut water right out of the coconuts that really make it special. There are hammocks to rest after filling your belly and a pet spider monkey "Lala" that my kids got to play with! My daughter has been asking for Lala since we left. Great spot!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ARTGEEVEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level Contributor
103 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Expectations were too high”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

The food was very nice, but the wait was quite long and we were seated at the biggest circular table ever (we were 8). Drinks were good and the service was friendly. A little pricier than other local restaurants, but not excessive.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike28a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panajachel, Guatemala
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We enjoyed being entertained by a small spider monkey on our table, she drank tea from my glass. It was so much fun! Food and service was excellent. It was nice to visit with Lalo's son in law, he and his wife are doing a great job carrying on the family tradition. We look forward to our next visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank susanmabry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oscar & Lalo also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Soliman Bay, Riviera Maya
 
Soliman Bay, Riviera Maya
Akumal, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Oscar & Lalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing