We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Service! Beautiful Beach!”
Review of Hotel Jashita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Jashita
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Soliman Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
“Fantastic Service! Beautiful Beach!”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The service is what makes this hotel great. The small and friendly staff is quick to learn your name, make reservations for you, plan day trips, car service - anything! Breakfast is great - and free with your stay. Fresh fruit and fresh juice. The Huevos Mexicanos are the best! The rooms are clean and the hotel is very well kept. Free WiFi! Our room had a soaking pool which was a little disappointing. It's basically a big bathtub without a drain or water flow (and cold) so it wasn't very appealing. I'd recommend saving a little money and getting the garden view room. The pool is clean but there isn't a place to sit or move around the pool so it's a bit more like a square fountain. That said, the ocean is so warm why waste time in the pool? They also include free snorkel gear, beach bags, kayak and paddle board rentals and fishing trips. Roxanna and Abbie will greet you at the front desk and THEY ARE AMAZING. There's a third woman who we didn't get to know as well but she seemed as nice as the rest.

Room Tip: Soaking tub isn't terribly impressive - save a little money. The garden rooms on the first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BYETZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    601
    62
    13
    0
    0
See reviews for
139
413
16
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Jashita is the kind of place you want everyone you know to experience. This was our second time visiting and it was just as relaxing as we remembered. We've done a lot of traveling and this is the most quiet relaxing place we've been. It's so different from other beach resorts with loads of people and screaming children. I can't tell you how many times a day my husband and I said to each other how relaxed we were. Jashita is a small boutique hotel on a beautiful, reef protected, cove. The water is crystal clear and so calm. There's never any fight to get a beach chair, no matter how late you sleep. The restaurant is not only delicious, but also very intimate and romantic. We stayed for a week and only went out for a meal one night. They also have a band come once or twice a week for dinner. I can't say enough about the thoughtful attentive staff. We felt so welcome and pampered. Thank you so much Tomaso and staff! Jashita really is everything you could want to completely relax and recharge. We can't wait to go back next year!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roslynreynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

If you despise big, 'all inclusive' hotels - you'll love Hotel Jashita! It's a small hotel with about 20 rooms and really beautiful grounds/lobby/dining spaces. Great vibe..luxury, but not pretentious. The location right on the beach in Soliman Bay is excellent..it has a serene feeling to it. Here's a couple things/experiences that we loved:

-Yummy breakfast with a fabulous view. Fresh juice, tropical fruit, yogurt, croissants and eggs every morning. It's served until 11, so a late breakfast can tide you over until dinner (with a couple pina coladas in between of course)

-It's great having the use of paddle boards, kayaks and snorkel gear included at no extra charge. The bay is a perfect playground for all of these activities. We saw lots of fish, beautiful coral, rays and flamingos flying overhead.

-We stayed in room 10 and room 5. Definitely preferred 10 as it had an ocean view, but both rooms were very spacious and perfectly appointed. Maid service twice a day too.

-Go to Chamicos! It's on the other side of the bay (about a 15 min walk). There's no sign, but just walk up the hut and then get seated at one of the plastic tables on the beach. Incredible ceviche and lobster..with beers of course. It's not as cheap as you think it will be, so bring enough pesos. It's open from 10-5pm

-We went to Dos Ojos Cenote and had an amazing experience. My husband dove with Dos Ojos Dive Shop and I did a snorkeling tour. Have never seen anything else like it.. We'd heard it's one of the better cenotes to visit, plus it's really close to Hotel Jashita.

-Visit the Tulum Ruins at 8am, when it opens. We were one of the first people there and it was so worth it. By the time we left there were gobs of people there arriving on tour buses from Cancun, cruises etc. Wear your swim suit and go for a dip at the beach right by the ruins.

I would say the only negative experience (and not really that negative) were the massages at Hotel Jashita. Both my husband and I felt like we had headaches after it was over..I think it was the table or positioning of the head rest. We of course could have said something, but didn't.

Also, if you're expecting Mexican fare at Sahara Cafe, you'll be disappointed. The food is primarily Italian.. We enjoyed it (we ate there almost every night), but just go into it with the right expectations. Lots of fresh fish, shrimp and seafood choices as well. The quesadillas at lunch were good.

The service was very good, but I didn't necessarily feel like it was super personal..other reviewers said everyone knew them by name...I definitely didn't feel that way, but that sort of thing isn't a huge deal to me.

We debated renting a car, but we were glad we didn't. With the hotel transfers and maybe 5-6 cab rides, we spent much less than if we rented a car.. But, the hotel is isolated and a bit of a hike from Tulum resorts (farther than I expected), so if you want to do a lot of exploring and eating in Tulum, a car would be necessary. Relaxing on the beach was our priority, so cabs worked great when we wanted to go do something.

All in all - highly recommended!! Stay here - you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Room 10 has an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank harbourcitygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stay at suite 24 on the second floor. Right over the beach with a clear view of the ocean. Huge room beautifully done, this include the bathroom. Love the stay and very relaxing. If you are a beach person, you will be in heaven. Breakfast is included and it is great. Table service, with four type of juice, fresh cut fruits and eggs dishes. I especially like their version of egg rancheros. We try lunch and dinner too and the chef has talent. So try it, not cheap.

Room Tip: Go to suite 24
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2014

The best thing about this place is that there are loads of best things. The secluded nature of it and "private beach" feeling, the beautiful restaurant and rooms and the affable staff are just some of the things that made our stay so great. I proposed to my girlfriend (happily now my fiancee) and the hotel were very accommodating with my (long!) list of requests for setting up a romantic dinner on the beach.

I also left my cufflinks behind which the Italian owner very kindly returned to me by post after I had left.

Only (very slight) negative is that the rest of the beach is not as nice as the bit immediately in front of the hotel. Too much seaweed, not enough tropical turquoise...

Oh and it would be good if they had room service (given the prices charges), but they dont. And get a hire car as otherwise leaving the hotel could be a chore.

All in all though, great stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlitoMaravski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a week in Mexico. Our room was wonderful - 1st floor with perfect sea view. The restaurant served an excellent breakfast, though we thought lunch was a limited menu, and we had much better Tacos elsewhere. Dinner was delicious though anymore than 3 nights there it might be difficult to find enough choice. Given how relaxed we felt, driving to Tulum itself for dinner was too much effort! The massage was excellent and not overpriced. One point to mention that commends the hotel the most is the service - everyone knew us by name and nothing was too much to ask for. The beach is nice, but swimming is not easy as the reef means the sea is never more than about 5ft deep anywhere! So don't expect to be doing much actual swimming. We took the snorkelling kit supplied with each room which was fun.

All in all a wonderful hotel, very tastefully done and would recommend for 2 nights of isolated relaxation before heading to Tulum to enjoy the better beach and varied restaurant selection.

Room Tip: Room 23/24 - 1st floor sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RupertPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We loved Jashita; a perfect end to a great holiday! We stayed for 3 nights after touring around and once we got there we did not get back in our car until we were headed for the airport and that really is not like us at all. There was a real sense of belonging and being looked after from the great reception staff to the waiters and cleaners - a real team approach. This plus great design throughout the hotel lends itself to such a calm vibe.

We had stayed 3 nights in Tulum before we got to Jashita and whilst the beach in Tulum had the edge it was not peaceful and relaxing like Soliman Bay, nor was the water as calm or warm. If we come back to the area we would definitely stay again.

A special thanks must go to Clemente who looked after us from the minute we arrived and was such a lovely man. We had several lovely surprises during our stay and felt really spoilt.

Food in the restaurant was really good and well priced for the quality and the pace of the night was good, with the lounge and dining room filled with candles. There were always nibbles before dinner and the spiced carrots and onions were top! One evening there was an excellent flamenco guitarist and Hang drummer duo on which was really relaxed and interesting (especially as Bob is a drummer). Breakfasts, as all reviewers mention, was top notch and set you up for the day.

If you need it, the WiFi worked well in our room and in the restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob+Diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soliman Bay
7.7 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
11.8 mi away
Be Tulum Hotel
Be Tulum Hotel
#27 of 96 in Tulum
858 reviews
11.5 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 96 in Tulum
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 96 in Tulum
1,262 reviews
10.3 mi away
Cabanas Tulum
Cabanas Tulum
#13 of 96 in Tulum
803 reviews
9.3 mi away
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jashita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jashita

Property: Hotel Jashita
Address: Bahia Punta Soliman, Soliman Bay 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Soliman Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Soliman Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Jashita 4.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small eco friendly luxury Hotel is bathed by the colors of the Caribbean nature, the gentle aromas of bougainvilleas and the turquoise Soliman bay. The beauty of this bay is not only its heartbreaking color but also being probably the most protected bay of the Riviera Maya. This allows you to swim and snorkel safely all year long. Let yourselves feel free and enjoy this miracle of nature that lies in front of your eyes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Jashita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Jashita Mexico/Soliman Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing