We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Great location, beautiful and clean...”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Glorious beach right in front of AQUAMARINE. Beach front  swim up SUITES with pool, 3 steps to sand.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
17 reviews
Glorious beach right in front of AQUAMARINE.
Beach front  swim up SUITES with pool, 3 steps to sand.
Romantic getaway for you and your loved one.
Lets celebrate life.
Beach side house view, standing in the edge of water.
Yin &Yang SUITES fabulous kitchen and dinning.
YIN & YANG SUITES living areas. Fabulous.
Beach-pool  level Yin &Yang terraces and dining table.
KS bed with AC, sweet relaxation.
Yin & Yang  SUITES  view from bed. Open floor plan.
Free kayaks to explore the bay or go snorkeling.
SERENITY SUITE in upper level, hammocks for the nap.
Enjoy, relax, build fantastic memories.
Open floor plan view, standing by the glass doors.
Build memories for a  lifetime.
Aquamarine Yin&Yang  beach side view.
Yes, you can have it all!
Bring your camera, this is sunset!
Fabulous bed in upper level Serenity 2 bedroom bungaloft.
Vegetation everywhere. Jungle view in Upper level Serenity.
SERENITY SUITE terrace siesta time.
Come and check this by yourself in the reef.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Soliman Bay, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
plitton
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great location, beautiful and clean accommodations, just two limitations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
10
people found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights in April, 2013. We had a lovely vacation. The house was clean, great amenities, helpful staff, easy to get to and easy access to Tulum for groceries or restaurants.

Here are some details that may not be apparent in the listing.

LOCATION
Solomin Bay is a beautiful, large bay protected by a coral reef. There is one access road to Solomin Bay and at the end of it is a security guard (think orange cones and a small Mexican as the gate--nothing more but adequate). There's a small hotel and a restaurant on the bay. And that's about it for commercial. The rest are privately owned houses that are rented in part or in whole. So accesses to the bay and its beach which all the houses back up to is very limited. During our stay we saw few other people--10 at the most. This made it cozy and calm. So a BIG thumbs up for Solomin Bay, regardless of your chosen venue.

The bay is north of Tulum, about a 10 min drive to groceries, cash machine, etc. This is convenient if you don't want to be eating out every meal. There's a smallish grocery store (on American standards) San Francisco on the west side of the highway into town. This will more than meet a vacationers food needs. If you turn east towards the Tulum beaches there's a big new store like a super Target or Walmart. Groceries, housewares, apparel, etc.

If you keep going east, you'll reach the Tulum beach in 5 min. and all that line it. No protected bay here so lots of waves. The road along the beach (there's only one road) is packed on either side with accommodations, dining and shops. It's a totally different vibe than Solomin Bay. For us, nice to visit in the evening for a dinner or two and happy to return to Solomin Bay.

THE HOUSE
Casa Aquamarine is near the security gate which just makes access to the rest of the world by car easier. The layout of the house is 2 1-bedroom apartments on the bottom floor and a 2-bedroom apartment on top of them. The walls facing the beach are all glass with large doors that open up to the pool and beach. The 1 bedroom units walk straight out to a covered patio. Each unit has its own table, chair and hammocs. The two units share the same deck and there's a transparent artful wall separate the two but it provides no privacy. The roof above the patio is the private deck of the two-bedroom unit on the second floor. During our visit we were the only ones in the entire house--we stayed in one of the one bedroom units. So we had nothing but privacy. If there had been other renters it would not have been so private. Given the closeness of the 1 bedroom units it may have been a little uncomfortable and awkward. Too the glass walls facing the pool provide lots of light but no privacy until you draw the curtains. If we return to Aquamarine, we would strongly consider renting the top unit, just to maintain some privacy and intimacy outside. The only other drawback to an otherwise great rental is the toilets. There is a sign next to the toilet and we were asked by the staff to throw ALL toilet paper into the trash can next to the toilet--none down the drain. This includes everything that one wipes up from between their legs. I've traveled around the world and this is a first. Obviously it's an unpleasant process and resulting smell, even if it is cleaned up daily.

So with just these two issues we'd still highly recommend Solomin bay as a destination and Aquamarine as a top-notch house along it.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Solomin bays privacy and tranquility, the location, service and cleanliness of the rental
Liked least: Some compromised privacy in the 1bedroom units and the toilet.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The location, immaculate maintenance, design
Liked least: Water pressure could be greater
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AMG77
El Paso, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolute Paradise - My favorite place in the world!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I have stayed in Soliman Bay three times now over the past 6 years (we even got married on the beach here), and I have to stay that this is my favorite place to stay now. When (not if) I return to Soliman Bay I know I will be returning to Casa Aquamarine. Serenity suite provided breathtaking views of the ocean, a nice breeze, and everything needed to make your stay very comfortable. We have traveled all over the world and I still say that Soliman Bay is my favorite place in the world, and now Casa Aquamarine is going to make future visits even more special. If you're looking for a place away from the crowds, direct access to the beach, and modern accommodations in the midst of natural beauty, I highly recommend staying here.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Location and modern ammenities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aliensoup
San Antonio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Can't think of a better place in the Mayan Riviera”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012
2
people found this review helpful

I can't say enough about how happy my girlfiend and I were to stay in Aquamarine. Originally we had planned 2 nights in another place in Tulum, and 3 nights in an all-inclusive resort in Puerto Morelos. I'm so glad that I changed my plans when I found about Aquamarine. We stayed 5 nights and we had the most wonderful vacation. We preferred to be in an isolated beach, with the sand being just steps away from our room. We also preferred to do our own cooking. We saved some money this way, and we actually ate a lot! We cooked inside and we also grilled next to the pool.
The staff in Aquamarine was very nice. Rosi kept the place squeaky clean every day.
The bed is great and confy. The kitchen has pretty much everything that we needed.
It's also great that the wash sink is outside the bathroom.
Also, the beach is beatiful as you would expect in this area. Great snorkeling just outside of Aquamarine! We saw beautiful fish and stingrays.
The place is absolutely gorgeous inside and out. We'll definitely stay in Aquamarine again.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The convenience of A/C in this beautiful isolated area
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
14 Sep 2012
Hello Matt: I am glad you had such a good time and everything was fine in your trip. Thank you for your excellent review, I highly appreciate it!
Thank you, Lorena.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
lferrada
Montpelier, Vermont
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“8 days of paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

The perfect mix of comfort and simplicity in our sweet studio on the beach. Strollong out to the beach chairs with morning cofee, a dip in the pool, a wonderful breakfast on the patio and a long walk on the beach, i could do this for a long time. Beautiful ruins, cenotes for snorkeling, caves, kayaking....if only we'd had more time. Highhly recommended! We completely enjoyed the beautiful bay, the quiet beach, the lovely care to details. Hope to come again! Thank you for creating such a lovely place.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Quiet beach, lovely bay for swimming, peaceful property, pool
Liked least: The bay os weedy near the beach, but we didn't care
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlyWill...
Manitoba
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Our Only Regret Was Not Staying Longer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012 for a stay in February 2012

Casa Aquamarine is a well cared for, beautiful house. The care takers live right on site and are there if you need them for anything. Soliman Bay is a great location, very close to Tulum, great snorkeling, kayaking, beaches. This was an amazing place to relax, enjoy the view, and pool. We can't wait to go back!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing