We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room....but the manager.”
Review of Blue Sky Tulum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blue Sky Tulum
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Soliman Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Super clean and comfortable room. Made service was excellent. They made a little bambino for my pregnant wife out of towels. Nice personal touch. The view is nice...the glass doors open to the pool area and the beach can be seen somewhat from the bed.

The beach has a fairly narrow sand strip that gives way to a rocky bottom. Not great for floating... but some decent snorkeling can be found not too far out.

The restaurant is overrated. The beach side of Tulum has lots to offer in good to very good food. This was pretty flat compared to many others. The pizza seems to be the draw...but there are several wood fired pizza ovens pull off the ubiquitous Neapolitan style better..despite the manager's provenance.

About Tony (the manager): I don't trust him. Several attempts to overcharge. Fortunately I was able to limit the amount interaction on this trip...but I WOULD NOT STAY AGAIN because of my experience with him.

Room Tip: The rooms are nice...but not worth dealing with a shady manager.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueSkyHotel, Gerente at Blue Sky Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

Dear Kevin,

Thank you for your review about Blue Sky Hotel, I am glad you left with a good impression of our property.
I am very sorry to hear you had a bad experience with Tony, he was the manager three years ago and he is longer working with us.
Blue Sky Hotel is close since September and we will open on December.
We are looking forward to hosting you in the future.

Cordially,

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2012

My husband and I visited the restaurant, they may have around 8 tables, its very quiet and neat, coctails are fresh made, and pizza is awesome, thin crust, you can select your ingredients or they already have a good selection where you can choose from. We came back twice, first for pizza and after for pizza and fish tacos wich were also very very good, i recommend it

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Spent a week @ Blue Sky and had a great time. The rooms were great, food was excellent, staff charming and location was beautiful. This is a small, (6 rooms), hotel on the beach w/ a small pool and a great restaurant, featuring wood fired brick oven pizzas but all the food was great. If you prefer all inclusive resorts this probably isn't your place, but if you want to get away from it all but don't want to cook and still be within 1/2 hour of tons of activities then you can't do much better.
Tankah Bay is gorgeous and the snorkeling underrated, we swam w/ eagle rays, Hawksbill turtles and great variety of fish. The reef here is in much better shape than much of the Mayan Riviera. It is rocky and shallow in front of the hotel but up or down the beach a short way and you can easily get in.
Looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tml-michigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Off the beaten path, you think you are going to somewhere that nobody knows about. You may be right, but you will be pleasantly surprised. Friends of ours that are locals that live in Playa del Carmen took my wife and me to see the beautiful "Cenote" (natural spring that is like a small river) that ends off to one side of the Blue Sky Hotel and that feeds fresh water into the ocean. After kyaking and snorkeling (some scuba dived) in the crystal clear Cenote of mangroves with fish, crabs birds, etc., which was fun, we sat down to eat lunch at the Blue Sky hotel. In such a secluded spot, our expectations were not high. However, we were greatly surprised. The hotel is very clean, well kept and has no problems in communicating in English. Then, the meal came out... WOW! The best meal we had the entire trip. Shrimp Ceviche, Tuna Tartar, Chips and Guacamole, the "Blue Sky salad" and lots of cold beer. It was delicious, even our Mexican friends were impressed!

We asked to see a room and the managment was more than happy to show us around. The rooms are very nice and clean and the pool is a few steps from your room and the beach just a few steps beyond that (the photos on their website are exactly the way it is in person). If you want a place to go get away from it all, this is it! If you have a rental car, it's easy to get around and see the sites that everyone goes to like Tulum, XelHa, etc. (if that's what you want). For us, next time my wife and I travel to Cancun or Playa del Carmen, we will stay at this hotel and just enjoy doing nothing, but soaking up the sun, swim in the ocean, layout on the beach and eat like Mayan Royalty!

Room Tip: If you get a room, make sure it is OCEAN VIEW! It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carlos P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We traveled to Blue Sky a few times during our vacation. Their Pizza was fresh and really delicious. The staff, were accomodating and our meals felt like the food was made with love. It is a quaint hidden jem between Tulum and Akumal and it is easy to miss but it is well worth the drive off the beaten path. Go during the day so you can also snorkel in Manatee Cenote and snorkle in Tankah Bay as well.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are directly on the beach. This is a tidy, well appointed boutique hotel with trink...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noeyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

We stopped by to see if we could access the beach to snorkel the reef. Alonso said, "Of course. You can even use the kayaks." and he hoped we stayed afterwards for drinks and maybe a signature pizza. We did of course. The hotel is gorgeous. The pizza was wonderful, the vibe is luxury but laid back.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank blaise d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Being from Chicago, I KNOW PIZZA. Traveling back from the beaches of Sian Kahn with my buddy Shaun (also form Chi-Town), we saw a sign for "Brick Oven Pizza" at Blue Sky Hotel. We had a long day and decided to stop for refreshments. It was a great call.

This quaint modest Hotel was bathed in white, brick and stonework and is beautiful and soothing. We were met by a very nice women who sat us under a really cool wooden terrace.
(Another good call in July) right next to the brick oven.

After we ordered our pizza, we watched the chef make them up from fresh. Crisp crust with lots of toppings straight from the garden. (Really, the chef went to the garden and picked chives and basil right in front of us)

The drinks are superb and the beer is ICE COLD....

After eating, you can walk to Tankah Bay to sit and chill. (40 Feet!!!!) NICE!!!!

Tankah is a very quiet and relaxing residential area (10 or so houses) but only has a couple of eating establishments and MABEY 2 or 3 shops of higher end jewelry.

It's ALL about the Bay.

So go and visit Blue Sky's Resturaunt and see Tankah for all it's natural beauty and Chill.

Tell them "Chicago Joe" sent you....
P.S. I'll be there in January 2012.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank FRANZESE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soliman Bay
0.6 mi away
PavoReal Beach Resort Tulum
0.8 mi away
O'Tulum - Adults Only
O'Tulum - Adults Only
#53 of 100 in Tulum
57 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Jashita
Hotel Jashita
#1 of 2 in Soliman Bay
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#38 of 100 in Tulum
451 reviews
6 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
9.4 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 100 in Tulum
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Sky Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sky Tulum

Address: Fraccionamiento Tankah III MZA 3 | Lote 35, Soliman Bay 77760, Mexico (Formerly Blue Sky Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Soliman Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Soliman Bay
Price Range: £181 - £362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Sky Tulum 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With ten air conditioned rooms, pool and lots of sand and blue water, this cozy little beach hotel could be the antidote for your urban anxiety. The Blue Sky hotel is located in tranquil Tankah Mexico on the Riviera Maya coast, roughly 70 miles south down the coastal highway from Cancun. If you are looking for a place to kick back and relax away from the crowds, and still not sacrifice your creature comforts, this is an excellent choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Blue Sky Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Sky Yucatan Peninsula
Hotel Blue Sky
Blue Sky Tulum Mexico/Soliman Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing