We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Soliman Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nah Uxibal Villa and Casitas
Hermosa Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to relax”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My husband and I booked Casita HA for a birthday celebration and it was the perfect place to hide out on my birthday! The casita was simple but had everything we needed to cook our own meals when we didn't feel like going out, and had a comfortable bed and great open air shower. The palapa on the beach was a great place to hang out and relax; some days we didn't venture too far from it. Good snokeling right out front. Both Tulum and Akumal are easily accessible for dinners out. There is a new Chedraui Market in Tulum for groceries and supplies. Try Hartwood in Tulum for dinner, divine food. This is a great place to just go relax, highly recommended. The birds were not a big problem, I think they just gave the place a Tiki Room vibe. We slept great.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lindycarroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    6
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
22
67
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

What can we add to the other rave reviews? Nah Uxibal is a gem. If you are looking for glitz and night life pass this one up. But if you love the exquisite and fragile meeting of sea and sand and want to stay in a place that respects the natural environment, Nah Uxibal is for you. The layout of the delightfully modest, low-rise buildings, nestled in a lush garden of palms, flowers and birds, offers peace and privacy. The beach is classic: a throw back to before the Caribbean became Vegas-ized. One practical consideration: Although it is possible to stay there without a car, having one makes forays into town, the ruins, restaurants, etc. easier. But once you get to Nah Uxibal, you may not want to leave

Room Tip: The casitas are the best--cozy little one-room houses with verandas right on the beach. But the stu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

For close to 10 years, twice a year, my wife and I have been travelling to all-inclusives mostly in the Yucatan peninsula, but also at other locations in Mexico, Cuba and the Dominican Republic.

This spring, we have opted for a different kind of vacation and wanted to enjoy the magnificent Mayan Riviera from another perspective by renting accommodations only. After a lot of research and a lot of hesitation, we have finally selected Nah Uxibal, on Soliman Bay, as our destination of choice; we could not have chosen better. We’ve stayed in casita IK’ for a week, from April 5.

Because of the way we have been travelling previously, our two main concerns were getting there, and eating. Through the internet, we’ve rented a car in Playa Del Carmen. Booking was easy, as was the driving and finding the place. Jeannette provides really clear directions as to how to get there. Really no problem with transportation, and it was good to be free and autonomous.

Our meals turned out to be much less problematic and more fun than what we had expected. We’ve enjoyed cooking our own breakfast every morning, and eating on the beach, 15 feet from our straw-roofed casita. We had ceviche on the beach at walking-distance Chamico’s snack shack, went to Oscar y Lalo’s, 5 minutes from the casita, and had succulent fish tacos at Mateo’s down in the Tulum beach area. Moreover, Victoria cooked us one of her fantastic traditional meals directly in the casita. She is a very nice woman. In summary, the food was an experience on its own and we just loved it!

The location of Nah Uxibal is great. The premises are in harmony with nature, quiet and so appeasing. It is very well maintained and Javier, Victoria’s husband is of great help. Javier has been with Skip and Jeannette, the owners, for close to 20 years, so he understands our needs and knows how to assist us. Victoria is also doing a great job in keeping the well-equipped casita spick-and-span. We did not use the pool and the barbecue, but the area was really nice. Internet connection is very good as the cell phone signal.

The beach, a few feet from our front door, is well maintained, clean, serene, and offers everything you need. The first 25 feet of the seabed is grassy and opens up to a superb spectacle, full of life on a white-sand bottom. The water is clear, shallow and allows for fantastic snorkeling. Most mornings I watched a magnificent sun rise from the point, while sitting on the beach… in my pyjamas.

Falling asleep and getting up at the sound of the waves was just what we needed. I do not hesitate in recommending Nah Uxibal if you want peace and quiet, or would like to discover the Tulum area. If you are used to all-inclusive hotels, this is a great place for a new experience, and if you are used to renting similar places, you can’t miss by planning your next trip to Nah Uxibal; my wife and I were totally charmed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ViajeroDelS0L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

My husband and I spent a week in Nah Uxibal with another couple and had an amazing time there. I really recommend the place for the beautiful, peaceful and wild setting. The house is located on the beach, very comfortable and the hosts are adorable and helpful. Skip gave us many good advices about the region and Victoria cooked a delicious dinner for us. We stayed in the Kaan house which is perfect for 4 people.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliet1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We stayed in a Casita - an idyllic position with the aspect straight on to the rock free beach and sea. Certainly the best location in Soliman Bay.
The Casita does need a little updating inside, beginning to look tired - the oven is old and rusty, kitchen and bathroom mats were stained and the bed linen was past its best, but as the resort is up for sale this may or may not happen.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank footlooseski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

I honestly cannot imagine anyone not falling in love with this place. We plan on booking for next year as soon as possible. Middle of March- prime spring break time- and we found a place where we could be all alone on a secluded beach, just 75 minutes from the Cancun airport. This place attracts an older crowd, but it was also perfect for us and our 4-year-old. She could have free range on the beach and we never worried about her. The bay is shallow and calm. We took her out in a kayak, which she loved too. I am worried about letting the secret out about this place- everyone will want to come here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank picklebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We recently returned from our third trip to Nah Uxibal and our second time staying in Ka'an. What a wonderful place. Unbelievable views (especially from the third floor bedroom), great breezes and Mimi the resident dog kept us great company. Lu'um Ka'an is the newest building on the property and is a very comfortable villa with great kitchen and dining areas, and is overall a very lovely place. As others have said, the birds can be a bit loud in the morning but with the amazing sunrises over the bay, you should be up early anyway! I've also read that others have commented on their accommodations being a bit run down and I'm surprised at that, because we've stayed in the casitas and they were wonderful as well. Javier and Victoria were gracious and friendly as always, and kept the place spotless. They are wonderful, warm people and we really enjoy their company. This year Javier hacked up some coconuts for us so that we could play coconut bocci on the beach.
Soliman Bay is a very peaceful and safe area, away from the hustle and bustle but close enough to Tulum that you can jump in your car and be in town in 10 minutes. (If you go to Tulum, get off the beaten track; some of the best eats and drinks are down the many side streets in town.) The snorkeling is fantastic, especially out at the reef, which you can kayak out to and tie off to a buoy while you snorkel. Jeannette (the owner) runs this place extremely well, follows up immediately and is always helpful with information and tips. We can't wait to be back again next year.

Room Tip: Lu'um Ka'an has the best beach area - it's more secluded
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJCMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soliman Bay
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jashita
Hotel Jashita
#1 of 2 in Soliman Bay
676 reviews
1.5 mi away
Blue Sky Tulum
Blue Sky Tulum
#2 of 2 in Soliman Bay
201 reviews
0.9 mi away
O'Tulum
O'Tulum
#49 of 96 in Tulum
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
PavoReal Beach Resort Tulum
7.5 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
6.5 mi away
Villa Pescadores Tulum
Villa Pescadores Tulum
#10 of 96 in Tulum
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nah Uxibal Villa and Casitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nah Uxibal Villa and Casitas

Property: Nah Uxibal Villa and Casitas
Address: Soliman Bay, Soliman Bay 88870, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Soliman Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Soliman Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come relax in a hammock, listen to the sea, feel the warm breeze and the soft white sand between your toes. Let the beauty and magic of the Maya Riviera sink deep into your bones, restoring your energy and your love of life. Weather you are on your honeymoon, anniversary, or just celebrating life together as a couple or as a family Nah Uxibal can prvide just the right accomodations for a perfect vacation.You are right on the water in the romantic beachfront casitas with thier magnificent views. The front decks are a perfect place to sip a margarita, watch the sunrise or hang out in the double hammock with a good book. Families of 4-14 people can enjoy tbe Main House, with it's large outside terrace, beautiful views, and spacious rooms all under a gorgeous 35ft high round palapa roof. You may rent the just number of bedrooms your family needs, from 2 to 6, all with king beds, private baths and ceiling fans. Our romantic beachfront Casitas are perfect for couples or a small family with one child. These casitas are just 25 steps from the waters edge with wonderful views and are our most popular units. Come and enjoy Nah Uxibal, the snorkeling and the beach are incredible, the accomodations will be more than you hoped for and Javier and Victoria will take care of your every need. You will love it, everyone does! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nah Uxibal Villa And Casitas Mexico/Soliman Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing