We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent atmosphere”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Soliman Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Dolce Vita - Soliman Bay
Bruxelles, Belgique
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

Made our stay in Mexico most pleasurable. Perfect environment for relaxation and meditation and early morning walks on the beach. Soliman bay is the most beautiful beach area that we visited in Mexico. The smell of ocean breeze each morning and the solitude of a the beach makes it highly recommendable!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simonv80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    6
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
37
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
denver, colorado
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

We've stayed in numerous places in the Tulum area and this was the best yet -- will definitely return! Great hosts, lovely property with nice pool and sunning areas, convenient to nearby sites, stores and restaurants. Chris immediately answers any questions or confirms bookings via email.

Room Tip: Check out excellent property website!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank forsrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2011

Everything we wanted and more. The staff were accommodating and friendly and the scenery~AMAZING! bottled water always available, mini fridge in room, wifi in the common area, delicious homemade breakfasts(!), privacy and small town feel. A little removed from everything (Soliman Bay is outside of Tulum) but totally worth it if you just want to relax away from it all, or if you rent a car/use public transport. There is only one (delicious) restaurant in walking distance so plan to rent a car, or become regulars like we did! can't wait to return!

Room Tip: top room-better view and more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunInCali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everett, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2011

What a find! We never thought it would be such an awesome experience! We were going to do so much site seeing, etc.. but almost the entire time we chose to just hang out and relax at this beautiful place. It was so nice to go to a place that was not a large hotel with lots of visitors. This place only has two rooms and either one would be perfect. We stayed upstairs and it overlooks the bay. The breakfasts were the BEST! Perfect amount of food and excellent! The owners take pride in making your visit perfect. We also felt like the couple that stayed below us could not have been more fun to 'hang out' with. We will go back, no doubt! I must add that the beach and water were so beautiful. We snorkeled to our hearts content! Saw a lot of beautiful fish, even saw a turtle. We walked everyday and did not miss 'not having a car'. I also had a massage on the beach. She was great!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjoski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2011

Our family rented both of the B&B rooms, one for parents, one for 2 teens. We loved snorkeling right off of the beach, hanging by the pool, getting massages on the beach, and cooling off under the palapa. The proprietors are wonderful and helpful. Great breakfasts!! Definitely check out the Grand Cenote'. Of all the cenotes in the area, it is the most amazing. We stayed for 2 weeks, and it was sooo relaxing. Prepare to not cook, because there isn't kitchen access. Rooms are clean and nice. We hope to stay there again some day!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SunnyDayPlus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2010

We stayed at This villa for the 2nd part of our Mexico trip, for relaxation, and privacy while visiting the Tulum area. This place is beautiful and quaint little bed and breakfast, and just as I imagined it would be.

The villa: It is right on hte beach. The beach area is not large, but perfect for one or 2 couples that are looking to get away together. It will give you your owwn private beach, and private pool to enjoy. the landscaping around the vila is incrdeible, and the layout is perfect for a nice relaxing quiet retreat in the tropics.

The room: the room is clean and simple. there are many books there if you forgot a book, or needed an extra one for reading. My wife and I both read from the books they had available. there is no TV, so consider this a getaway for people looking for a brewak from technology and reality for a while. It is a grea tplace to just enjoy and focus on the person you are with. There was mini fridge in the room stocked with sodas, water, and beer which was a nice touch.

The beach: the beach was nice. ther is a lot of seagrass in the water in front of the beach, as this is a protected bay off of a live reef, so that might affect your abilty to get in water if that bothers you. otherwise there are hammocks and lounges to enjoy the sun

The pool; is great and very private. one of the reasons we stayed here was ability to do some sunning sans clothes. we were not dissappointed. pool and beac hat times is great place to be able to tan clothing optional if you so desire.

Overall, this place was perfect for quiet getaway, while exploring Tulum. we would recommend to anyone loking for peace and quiet on their trip. we loved it.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mdcouple1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2010

Review - Villa Dolce Vita

Do you want this:
… an absolutely gorgeous property with flowers and coconuts to have machetted down for you to sip.
… hosts who let you into their “home/property” but never intrude, yet magically are there to give you company when you most need it (the magic of tuned-in New Yorkers).
… A lovely mid-sized pool kept immaculately clean
… elegant breakfasts served as courses with fresh pastries, fruit, juices, coffee, and a main dish. Never the same entre.
… Gregarious hosts, Connie and Chris, are friendly, hip, laid back ex-pats, and in a smooth groove.
… a giant palapa that spans the area between the great house and the building with your room in it. So in rainy moments, you have total comfort and coverage.
… hosts who know every facet of getting you down there, what to avoid, what to do, and where to eat.
… Gaspar! A gentleman who lives on the property and maintains the place along with the efforts of Connie (the hubby) and Chris. Superbly landscaped grounds and ne'er a flower out of place.

Now if you absolutely despise the things I've listed, then I suggest a vacation in the Twilight Zone with Rod Serling blowing smoke in your face.

You are right on the beach. The breezes waft in from the bay and keep the place wonderfully temperate, so you don't need the A/C much of the time. Hunter ceiling fans. A nice mini-fridge. And they have inexpensive foam coolers to store massive amounts of ice, if that's your thing.

And, unlike so many places, you get your own giant bottle of purified water, refilled when ere it's near drained.

And maybe the most wonderful luxury of all (you who have traveled along the coast will understand this:) you can flush your t.p.!!!!! I write this oath in blood on a square of t.p. “you can flush me”. I was stunned. Bless Connie and Chris for eliminating this elimination task.

All of the equipment in the room is in tip-top shape. And if you need anything, the ever-happy Gaspar is there to help. He is truly a gentleman and someone who takes care of all your needs.

What do I think of Dolce Vita? If you want a bay almost to yourself, miles of beach to walk, and lush grounds with flowers cascading down on your rental car, this be the place, folks. And it's ridiculously inexpensive.

What are you waiting for! Write them!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Big-Steve-Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soliman Bay
0.0 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#18 of 93 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Jashita
Hotel Jashita
#1 of 2 in Soliman Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Sky Tulum
Blue Sky Tulum
#2 of 2 in Soliman Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma
Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma
#8 of 412 in Riviera Maya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.0 mi away
Intima Resort Tulum
Intima Resort Tulum
#3 of 119 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Dolce Vita - Soliman Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Dolce Vita - Soliman Bay

Property: Villa Dolce Vita - Soliman Bay
Address: Soliman Bay, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Soliman Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Soliman Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Villa Dolce Vita - Soliman Bay Hotel Soliman Bay
Villa Dolce Vita - Soliman Bay Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing