We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yet another reason why I prefer B&Bs to hotels”

Black Firs Guesthouse
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Black Firs Guesthouse
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I had to be quick with the booking as this establishment seems to enjoy a high occupancy rate because of the superb reviews. AA 4 stars and Julie was nominated to be the Most Friendly Landlady award . I was not disappointed when I got to there. It just ticked all of my usual check list: clean, quiet, a good bed and the car park thrown in. I was staying there on business and the easy access from the motor way was essential: ticked here, too. The property must have been a very nice family home and it still retains that feel of homeliness but managed with the professionalism. The lounge with a TV, a fruit basket and all comfy arm chairs is available, completely separate from the lovely breakfast room, which seems to be an extension with the windows all round overlooking the well maintained garden. (This would be a very useful space for a small conference of probably up to a dozen people. A very pleasant venue.) As to the bedrooms, as far as I could snoop around, they are mostly twins. Mine was. They are not that spacious, I must admit, however, decorated with a good taste and everything is kept in a pristine condition. In a compact bathroom with a shower cubicle, I found a generous collection of amenities. And it’s so quiet. I was there for 3 nights and never was I disturbed by any noise. My colleague from London said “It’s too quiet!” Breakfast – I can’t find any more words to praise it than so many that have already been posted in the past reviews. The Cumberland sausage was memorably good, and a vegetarian breakfast is available, too. I had my eggs both scrambled and fried, and looking at my colleague's poached eggs, too, I could see Julie was professional at it. No paper napkins, nor polyester table cloths. Julie’s pal, Stacey makes sure that everyone is happy in a very charming way. So all in all, I had a very pleasant stay and decided that this would be my first choice of accommodation if I am to be back in this area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goldenfeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julieelizabethmatthe, Owner at Black Firs Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you very much for your kind review, hope to see to both again on your next visit to Birmingham N-E-C, Kind Regards Julie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Myself & colleague are currently staying here, this is our 2nd and last night of our stay here whilst attending Best of Britain & Ireland at the NEC as we are owners of a 53 Bedroomed Hotel in St Anne's Lancashire. I am so happy that we decided to stay at black firs Guesthouse for the following .....
Fantastic Hostess who is warm and welcoming, tastefully decorated rooms (warm & comfy) the breakfast was outstanding and served with a smile, very attentive and beautiful garden. Thank you so much we will be returning next year

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank AshtonParkHotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julieelizabethmatthe, Owner at Black Firs Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Hello Leanne, Thank you so much for your very kind review, I wish you every sussex in your hotel, keep up the hard work, And hope to see you next year on your return visit to the N-E-C, best wishes Julie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Stayed overnight with my mother while visiting Crufts. Room (twin en suite) was clean and comfortable with hospitality tray and tv. There was also a lounge with large tv if required. Plenty of parking. Breakfast superb! Julie and Tracey were very friendly and gave us good clear directions to the NEC which is only a few minutes down the road. Would certainly go back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hertswalker_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julieelizabethmatthe, Owner at Black Firs Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank for your very kind comments, We do hope to see you again on your next visit to Birmingham N-E-C,

Kind Regards Julie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed at Black Firs Guest House on 5th/6th March 2014 whilst attending Crufts dog show, it was a wonderful place and Julie was a superb host we would have no hesitation in recommending Black Firs to anyone, it was spotless, room very nice, bed comfortable and the breakfast well it was fantastic such choice and the quality of the food was 100%.

Julie is assisted by her sister and she too is a very good host and Clive Julies husband was very personable and helpful in advising us on where to eat our evening meals.

Thank you all at Black Firs, hopefully one day we will be back.

Room Tip: Every room is good so nothing to worry about.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leader64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julieelizabethmatthe, Owner at Black Firs Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Hello, Thank you very kindly for taking the time on your comments about Black-Firs,
Hope to see you again when you visit Birmingham, Best Wishes Julie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We booked a 2 night stay as we were visiting Crufts. It was ideally placed for the NEC and we were able to get a bus from across the road. The whole property was immaculate and welcoming. Our room was a double with en suite; the room was clean and warm with a very comfortable bed. It was also quiet bearing in mind it looked out on the car parking at the front of the property and the road. The shower was excellent. Breakfast was the best we have experienced-good quality sausage and bacon and fresh tomatoes and mushrooms; also fresh fruit and brand name cereals. A delightful breakfast room looking out on the garden completes the experience. Julie and Tracy are friendly and efficient. We had a most enjoyable stay and would recommend Black Firs without hesitation.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sloellamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julieelizabethmatthe, Owner at Black Firs Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Hello, Thank you for taking the time on your very kind review, glad to here you enjoyed you stay and break-fast, hopr to see you again on your next visit to the Birmingham N-E-C, best wishes Julie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Great hotel very central . Julie and Tracy looked after us , made us very welcome . Rooms clean . Great selection of breakfast , loved the poached eggs .Would stay here again 10/10
The Glasgow Crew xx

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank cabbi01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julieelizabethmatthe, Owner at Black Firs Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Hello to you all, Glad to here you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to see you all the next time you visit your family, And thank you for taking the time for the review, Best Wishes Julie and Tracey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

The Black Firs Guesthouse is a real gem of a guesthouse.

It is very close to the NEC (+/- 7£ taxi trip) but at the same time in a quiet and relaxing area so to all business people looking for a place to stay for a couple of nights: don't waste your precious time and stop searching: book this guesthouse immediately, you will not regret it.

This guesthouse is extremely well hosted by warm, kind and gentle people that love their business, you can feel that in the smallest details.

Reception and service is personal, warm and very kind. In the evening we got a suggestion from the host to have diner at Rasa Indian restaurant, a really well-appreciated tip: the food and atmosphere were indeed excellent at Rasa.

Bedrooms are tastefully decorated. Nice soft beds and pillows in a very clean and comfortable room.

Breakfast was above expectations, as many Tripadvisors already described.

From the beginning till the end an exceptional charming experience.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisvissers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julieelizabethmatthe, Owner at Black Firs Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank you for your very kind comments, we hope to see you again in the near future, Kind Regards
Julie and Tracey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marston Green
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
#24 of 118 in Birmingham
1,186 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heath Lodge
Heath Lodge
#1 of 1 in Marston Green
111 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arden House
Arden House
#3 of 4 in Marston Green
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The White House Quality Bed & Breakfast
1.2 mi away
Pebble Cottage
Pebble Cottage
#2 of 4 in Marston Green
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Firs Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Firs Guesthouse

Address: 113 Coleshill Road, Marston Green, Solihull B37 7HT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Marston Green
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Marston Green
Price Range: £75 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Firs Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Black Firs Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Firs Guesthouse Marston Green, Solihull, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing