We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away from Home”
Review of Arden House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arden House
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Recently stayed for 5 nights during the NEC Spring Fair and it was like a 'home away from home'. It was a welcome refuge after spending long, hard days tramping around the NEC. Very clean, comfortable rooms with all the necessary amenities, delicious breakfast and great heating system - especially valued during the recent cold winter weather! Everyone at Arden House is very welcoming, friendly and helpful - would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ViceChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2012

My partner and I stayed at Arden House and had a fantastic stay. We were welcomed by the friendly owners who made every effort to make sure we were happy and comfortable. The room was very spacious with a modern ensuit bathroom. They recommended a lovely restaurant called Longfellows where the hearty english food was a cut above the rest. Breakfast at the Guest House was made fresh and had plenty of options to choose from. I would definitely return, thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naomideverillsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2011

stayed for one night as went to a concert at the NEC, staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. We stayed in the the double deluxe room which was very spacious and clean. Enjoyed the breakfast. The staff went above and beyond to accomadate us. would definately recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: choose double deluxe
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

This was the second time we have stayed at Arden House. First time we booked a double room there back in April. The hotel met all our needs - located about a mile from Birmingham airport(we were coming back from our holiday); the price was reasonable compared to some of the other hotels we looked at; no problem with late check-in.
We were made to feel welcome as soon as we arrived. Our Hamlet room was nicely presented and spotlessly clean. It had the most comfortable bed we've ever slept in, a quality of bedding was excellent. There was everything that you could need in the room; all the facilities were good(shower, TV, tea&coffee). We were nicely surprised with the quality of breakfast. It was plenty of choise and cooked to order(as you would expect it at 5star hotel). We had scrambled eggs with smoked salmon on the v.tasty granary toast. I was particularly pleased with my coffee - strong and full of aroma. It was very enjoyable stay!
Last week we went to the Classic Motor Show at the NEC. We booked a room at Arden House again. It was nice to come back after 7months and find this hotel at the same high standarts. From the moment we checked in the service was brilliant (personal attention of the owner/manager, excellent information - directions, taxi cost, restaurants). This time we stayed in Portia room, which was very comfortable too; a big nice bathroom.
Breakfast was delicious again. The staff were very friendly and chatty. This hotel has a homely feel about it.
Would definitely stay here again and again and would highly recommend to anyone who wants comfort, cosiness and excellent hospitality!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rastinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Well where to start, yes very friendly couple, but that is where it stops.
Previous occupants bag of shoes, papers/notes and worst of all toiletries still in room and bathroom!!! Very small single bed, see-through curtains that don’t meet in the middle hence awaked when day breaks. Heating not on but very hot room so had to have windows open not ideal when under take off path for airport. On a housing estate so no eatery/ pub nearby!
Breakfast was mediocre up to when I found a curly hair in my coffee at which point it became unbearable and I left. Worst £70 I ever spent and that was supposed to be at a discount!

Room Tip: Avoid at all cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sakkie342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Me and my husband have exhibited at the NEC and found this lovely friendly b&b very convenient and relaxing after long days work. We had a great evening meals and chat with the owners and another guests. Beds are amazing and very comfortable! It's more expensive than an average b&b - but i suppose you pay extra for good size room, handy location and nice atmosphere :) Totally recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sliva-a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

Great place to stay. Was in the Hamlet room, very comfortable. 10 minutes from The NEC, highly recommended place to stay. The proprietors were very warm and welcoming and very helpful. I would recommend anyone to stay here and with free wifi too you cant go wrong. Oh and the breakfast was perfect...Thank you very much

Room Tip: Hamlet Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mal_Jutley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marston Green
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
#28 of 118 in Birmingham
1,153 reviews
1.9 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC
1.3 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#29 of 118 in Birmingham
1,886 reviews
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arden House

Address: 74 Maple Leaf Drive, Marston Green, Solihull B37 7JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Marston Green
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Marston Green
Price Range: £88 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arden House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Arden House ...a boutique hotel offering quintessentially English country guest house hospitality in a semi-rural location; the epitome of a modern luxury bed and breakfast near the National Exhibition Centre (NEC).It is ideal for busy executives requiring quick access to the business world, and just as handy for visitors to Birmingham and Shakespeare’s Stratford Upon Avon. Arden House is the closest luxury guest house to the NEC, the LG Arena, The National Motorcycle Museum and Birmingham International Airport...only 3 minutes away by car. Just 2 minutes to Birmingham International (Rail) Station.Sometimes referred to as a 'Shakespearean retreat', the house is inspired by William Shakespeare's great literary works, there is even an oak panelled library dedicated to the bard's works, life and times; read, socialise or take tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Arden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arden House Marston Green, Solihull, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing