We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and warm welcome from owners”
Review of Arden House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arden House
Makati, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location and warm welcome from owners”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

stayed at Arden house for 5 nights for an exhibition at the NEC. Shama, the owner was very warm in welcoming us. it is very accessible to the NEC and shama would make sure to get you a taxi every morning. she even dropped at at Marston green to have dinner at an Indian restaurant. it was an excellent stay. the owner made sure that we had everything we needed. i love the breakfast! always looking forward in the morning to indulge with the tasty breakfast prepared by the cook. will definitely recommend this guest house. Worth it stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jen102307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    10
    16
    4
    5
See reviews for
3
27
10
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cullompton
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Well what a pleasant surprise this little place was. I booked over a year in advance for a concert at the LG Arena and have to say the price was held and honored.

On arrival it does look like you've arrived at a house in a housing estate but on entry you are transported into a "Shakespearean" retreat and welcomed warmly. The property is owned by a lovely couple who immediately make you feel as if they are friends and it does feel like staying in a friends house.

There are maybe 5 rooms in total all named after characters from Shakespeare's plays. Our room was comfortable with wonderful little touches like a free "minibar" with a selection of soft drinks and snacks, homemade biscuits and free trade tea etc. The room and bathroom were spotless and decorated with modern furnishings and quality linen.

We only stayed the 1 night but will definatley consider this for another visit to the area.

Only 1 slight "issue" and by no way a complaint but the water pressure was low and meant there was little water coming from the shower head and also my wife is only a size 10 and I'm not the biggest guy around but the towels supplied only just covered her dignity... there are wonderful robes / slippers provided and I guess if you have time to slip into these to dry off then that would be fine.

Superb service , quality rooms and good breakfast whilst being just a short ride from the airport
make this an ideal retreat for any traveler either pre or post flight also..

Room Tip: Take a large towel or ask if they are available
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Furryflaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

My Partner & I stayed here for an exhibition at the NEC. We were greeted with a very warm welcome by Sharma. Recommendations were given for local restaurants (and we were also offered a lift to one of them....). On site parking. Taxi fare to NEC around £6, but we decided to drive and park there instead. Room was very clean and tidy, lovely décor, homely feel. Complimentary goodies/mini-bar which was a really nice touch. Breakfast was fantastic, fresh and made to order, a great selection of cooked or cereal and fruit. Bathroom was spacious and immaculate. The ONLY slight negative was that the shower wasn't very powerful, but this wouldn't stop me returning. Would certainly stay again, highly recommended!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Em1Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We stayed for one night as we wanted somewhere close to the NEC and this was ideal. Everywhere was beautifully presented and spotlessly clean and the room was perfect. We stayed in the hamlet room; this was a good size and the little touches to it like the complimentary mini bar made it even better. The breakfast the morning after was great too. We loved it in this guest house! The guide in the room was brilliant, with personal reviews for many local restaurants and pubs, I can recommend the Shabar Indian Restaurant....very friendly and food outstanding. Thank you Arden House :-). Will definitately return given the opportunity.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We stayed for one night as we wanted somewhere close to the LG/NEC and it was great it was about 5 mins by taxi to the arena.

When we arrived the owner allowed us to check in early and asked us if he could order us a taxi for later on in the evening which he did. The room was great we stayed in the hamlet room which was a good size for me and my boyfriend and the little touches to it like the complimentary mini bar made it even better. The breakfast the morning after was great the only thing I think my b

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatrinaAndSte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights with my girlfriend for our anniversary.
House was in very good location for visiting local amenities if you didn't want to stay in the hustle and bustle of birmingham city centre.
Our room, the hamlet, was beautiful and very warm. Sharma did an amazing job making us feel welcome and provided a beautiful bunch of flowers and sparkling rose on arrival to surprise my girlfriend like I had requested, these exceeded my expectations.
Breakfast was nice, but could maybe do with a slightly larger menu and being served a little later.
Other than that, loved it in this guest house!
Thank you Arden House.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leify_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amberley
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Whilst so convenient for the NEC when I visited Crufts dog show, the location is very quiet and pleasant. The owners could not have been more helpful and drove me to a good Indian restaurant at Marston Green. They have thought of everything for ones comfort. Everywhere is beautifully presented and spotlessly clean. .

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryleonaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marston Green
1.9 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
1.3 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#25 of 117 in Birmingham
1,826 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Birmingham NEC Meriden Manor Hotel
1.7 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
1.2 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#24 of 117 in Birmingham
2,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arden House

Property: Arden House
Address: 74 Maple Leaf Drive, Marston Green, Solihull B37 7JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Marston Green
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Marston Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Arden House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Arden House ...a boutique hotel offering quintessentially English country guest house hospitality in a semi-rural location; the epitome of a modern luxury bed and breakfast near the National Exhibition Centre (NEC).It is ideal for busy executives requiring quick access to the business world, and just as handy for visitors to Birmingham and Shakespeare’s Stratford Upon Avon. Arden House is the closest luxury guest house to the NEC, the LG Arena, The National Motorcycle Museum and Birmingham International Airport...only 3 minutes away by car. Just 2 minutes to Birmingham International (Rail) Station.Sometimes referred to as a 'Shakespearean retreat', the house is inspired by William Shakespeare's great literary works, there is even an oak panelled library dedicated to the bard's works, life and times; read, socialise or take tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Arden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arden House Marston Green, Solihull, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing