We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and reasonably priced”
Review of Heath Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Heath Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marston Green
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Convenient and reasonably priced”
Reviewed 5 February 2012

This is a great little hotel for NEC visitors who have an aversion to the chain hotels that predominate in this area. The hotel staff were friendly and our room; though smallish, was warm and very clean with a comfy bed. The breakfast was pleasant.

There is also a direct bus service into central Birmingham from a bus stop about 200 meters down the road which then takes about 40minutes. This is good option if you don't want to have to drive to a restaurant. The receptionist gave us directions and it was very convenient.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oliderby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    36
    17
    15
    12
See reviews for
16
18
10
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gamlingay
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

My husband and I have stayed here 3 times now, overnight before going off on holiday from Birmingham airport. We have enjoyed each stay - staying in different rooms each time. All rooms have been spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The bathrooms are a bit small but adequate and the free toiletries are a great help. We have an evening meal and have had no complaints, plenty of choice and always very hot when served. Breakfast is also very good. We leave our car here whilst on holiday knowing it is safe and an eye is kept on it then take a taxi to and from the airport (only about 10 minutes away). I would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone who's flying out from Birmingham on holiday or just visiting the NEC.

Room Tip: Try to get an upstairs room they are quieter than the downstairs room, especially if people are in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hull uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2012

my husband, my daughter, her husband and i stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. from the minute we arrived the owners were so very friendly and welcoming. the reception area was nice but quite noisy if people decided to stay up and have a late drink as our rooms were downstairs because of mobility issues.the car park seemed to have ample parking spaces. the pillows on the beds werent very good but the bed was ok. the rooms were very small, especially the en suite bathroom, that was mega mega tiny, the shower was so small it was difficult to bend down and pick anything up if you dropped anything.the hot water at the sink took absolutely ages to come through but was ok when it did.i think the door needs swapping for a sliding door because it hit the sink if you werent careful when you went in. the bedroom itself was quite clean, the towels were lovely and fluffy and smelled really nice and fresh. it was a lovely touch having soft drinks and cookies in the room, along with tea, coffee and hot chocolate and decent sized mugs to drink out of. the cooked breakfast was really nice, hot and freshly cooked. not much of a choice if you only wanted a continental breakfast, choice of fruit, cereal and juice was not too good. dining room was quite nice though and the waitress was very pleasant, polite and friendly. all in all the stay was good, the location was nice and handy for the NEC.

Room Tip: my husband and i stayed in room 3, my daughter and her husband stayed in room 4, both on the ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beverleycoverdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2011

I stayed here with my parents on the Friday before an exhibition at the NEC. It takes about 7-10 minutes in the evening (less in the morning) to travel from the NEC to the hotel, which is on a main road and well signposted.
Ample car parking available. Friendly, polite and helpful staff greet you at reception.
We had a single room on the first floor and a double on the second. Both rooms of adequate size and spotlessly clean. Comfy beds. Good selection of tea/coffee and a soft drink which was a really nice touch. It is rather noisy in the morning - ut this is not the hotellier's fault but down to inconsiderate guests who think slamming doors at 6am is acceptable!
Bathrooms also spotless with really nice towels. Hot water takes is time but is good when it arrives!
Restaurant is very nice. Good selection on the menu. Can high recommend the chicken balti. Waiting staff extremely good.
Breakfast although billed for a 7.00 start was well underway by 6.30 which was appreciated (they know their clientelle and are happy to go the extra mile to please them!) - cooked breakfast hot and fresh and quality ingredients.
Not extra cheap, but very good value.
The only downside is the stairs which are quite steep and narrow and if you have lots of luggage (which we did) or are not completely mobile it can be difficult negotiating them! However, I would not hesitate to recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Landican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Stayed here with a friend after a long day at the NEC (about 5 mins away). The staff couldn't be more helpful, even when English wasn't their first language. Room small but extremely clean and had recently been refurbished. Stairs steep and narrow and no lift so if this bothers you ask for a lower room floor. Quiet vicinity so no noise problems at night. Food was value for money - nothing great but not bad either. Breakfast again was fine, not great just fine, but definitely worth every penny of the £80 b & b room rate for 2 people. Totally recommended and when I'm at the NEC again I'll definitely be staying here.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gillgill2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Stayed for one night as attending conference at NEC. As a business woman travelling alone I thoroughly enjoyed the stay. Immaculately clean room and bathroom. Warm welcome and attentive to every need! Taxis arranged & changed at no extra cost or fuss. Nothing was too much trouble- even rustling me up a delicious and freshly prepared "out of kitchen hours" supper plate delivered to my room on arrival. Very good price and value for money- and breakfast was lovely too! A great homely spot if attending the NEC. Will go again!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

My work colleages and I all stayed here for the RWM show which was held at the NEC in Birmingham. Ideally located - only a short car drive away. The service provided from when you step through the door to entering your room are fantastic. The rooms are small but very, very clean. How pleasant to find a couple of cans of coke waiting in your room (if you are not a tea/coffee drinker). We dined both nights in the restaurant and the waitress was exceptionally friendly and helpful; the food was very good but the breakfast sets you up for the day.

If you are looking for a friendly hotel, you could not get any better than the Heath Lodge Hotel. I would certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: Choose the top floor rooms if you are looking for single occupancy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rach B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeathLodgeHotel, Manager at Heath Lodge, responded to this review, 16 September 2011
We thank this Guest for the kind words and observations posted in her review.

It is nice to be appreciated. Seeing such feedback motivates our team to try even better for our future Guests especially when we see they have had happy stays and good services from us.

We use such feedback for learning what we are doing the right for our Guests.

Thanks again and hope to see you again.

RSK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marston Green
1.7 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#23 of 117 in Birmingham
1,792 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
1.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heath Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heath Lodge

Property: Heath Lodge
Address: 117 Coleshill Road, Marston Green, Solihull B37 7HT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Marston Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marston Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Heath Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Heath Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heath Hotel Birmingham
Heath Lodge Marston Green, Solihull, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing