We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The whole is greater than the sum of the parts”
Review of Heath Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Heath Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marston Green
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I stayed here with our practice manager whilst attending a conference at the NEC. I must confess that reviews on here, the website and the fact they had room availability when no-one else within ten miles from the NEC had any rooms made me a bit apprehensive.

This establishment is run by an older Sikh gentleman and his son. The welcome was warm and genuine. Check-in was quick and friendly. I was told by a Sikh colleague that hospitality is a fundamental part of Sikh culture and I have to say these guys are just that. They are two lovely, happy and frendly people.

The room (number 7 on the ground floor) was spotlessly clean and warm, if a little bland. The view out of the window was poor with garden waste and old ironwork up against the fence. The TV didn't work but I was told this was due to a local broadband upgrade causing problems in some rooms. But the shower was lovely, water warm and good strong flow. Soft large towels and comfortable bed. Adequate drawer and hanging space for a one night stay. WiFi was adequate if a little slow.

I had left my phone charger at home and they happily found me a suitable one to borrow.

I slept really well.

The big surprise was breakfast. The Sikh son was the breakfast chef and the poached eggs and bacon were absolutely perfect. My colleague had the full English which looked good too. The cold buffet was a bit sparse but you can forgive this when the cooked breakfast was so good.

Taken in the context of what this place is, it's actually not bad at all. The warmth and hospitality of the hosts, and the breakfast, really made it for me. If you're staying here, look beyond the slightly faded first impression and you'll be happy enough.

My tip to the owners:

1) Resurface the car park and refurbish the front of the hotel.
2) New contemporary style hotel carpets and a few pictures in the rooms.
3) Tidy up the space outside room 7 - a couple of small planters and a climbing plant against the fence will make a huge difference.

Room Tip: If you can, choose an upstairs room at the back of the hotel. These are quieter and have better view...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonothan_and_Elaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
There are newer reviews for Heath Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2013

This was a most pleasant small hotel to stay at. Management were helpful and attentive. We had an excellent evening meal in the restaurant which was had very comfortable seating, and service was good. I had scampi which I hadn't had for years and it was lovely. Portions were just the right size. Breakfast the next morning was included in the price of the room and a full English breakfast was available, not just help yourself but full service, which was much appreciated.,

The only downside was that the TV in the room wasn't working properly with a signal that kept breaking up but when we mentioned this when checking out, we were told it was an ongoing local problem out on the road.

We were visiting an exhibition at the NEC and the bus-stop was close by which was very handy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juliet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Surprised it was a hotel. More like a B&B. Walls and stairs were dirty and shabby - walls needed painted and stairs need hoovered. Rooms were extremely basic. Tea and Coffee facilities and a carton of OJ were available in the room. Small TV on the wall. Very noisy. Heard every floorboard creeking. It was a busy weekend as there were alot of events on in the NEC.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank D-Belfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Family run Hotel, management and staff are always very kind and helpful. Very good price for car parking if you stay at the Hotel and travel to the airport.

Food quality is excellent, breakfast in particular.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marka61_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Very convenient for the NEC This small but comfortable hotel was perfect for my overnight stay. I was in a twin room which if I am honest would have been cramped for two people and the bathroom was tiny, (sitting on the toilet the sink was only a few inches from my face!) that said it was clean comfortable and well furnished.
Breakfast was served in the relatively spacious restaurant area, cereals, fruit juice, yogurts and tea and coffee are help yourself and full english breakfasts can be ordered from the waitress. I didn't have the full english as I don't like a heavy breakfast so can't comment on the quality or quantity.

Room Tip: Maybe the doubles are bigger than the twins
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hallasbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Super food, lovely staff - plain but does what it says on the tin................
5 mins from the NEC - great location. Staff very helpful & what good value comparing the more immediate hotels down there. Rooms small but good. Wifi a charge but good!!!
Would heartily recommend..........................

Room Tip: Eat there!!
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RowlandC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

One night stay and it will be my last. Poor standard of accommodation in the room, walls made of something akin to hardboard and a crazy wi-fi service where you are charged £4.50 (charging, in this day and age ??) and are not even given the wi-fi codes, the staff type them in to your laptop!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GJack734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marston Green
1.7 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
#35 of 118 in Birmingham
1,114 reviews
1.2 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#26 of 118 in Birmingham
2,448 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heath Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heath Lodge

Address: 117 Coleshill Road, Marston Green, Solihull B37 7HT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Marston Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marston Green
Price Range: £57 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Heath Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Heath Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heath Hotel Birmingham
Heath Lodge Marston Green, Solihull, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing