We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, Great Host” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White House Quality Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The White House Quality Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Kilkenny, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great place, Great Host”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

We were 11 weeks into a 17 week around the World trip, having just left 6 weeks of European food and feeling the need for some good POM food to settle our system down. Carolyn's rooms are tasteful, clean and very homely. The first morning we had a good filling POM breakfast and continued so for the 10 days we lived there visiting relatives in Birmingham. The bonus is that parking was always available and easy.
Carolyn is a great host and we would recommend her Bed and Breakfast to anyone arriving in the West Midlands for a visit to Birmingham or the National Exhibition Centre. The house is situated close enough to the Motorways from all over the UK, and also the Birmingham Airport and Train station.

Room Tip: Write to Carolyn giving her your requirements and she will respond, as she did for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AussiePomKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    16
    1
    0
    8
See reviews for
9
18
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

We were a family of five and had a great room with lots of space, beautifully decorated. The breakfast was outstanding and Carolyn was so gracious. Would come again in a heart beat. Perfect English B&B experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadianrose52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

Carolyn is so friendly and her B&B is just so nice that it made what could have been a dismal weekend having travelled up for a funeral so much better. The breakfast was brilliant and she went beyond the call of duty in letting us take the key so we could leave our bags until after the funeral and then swing by and pick them up later though we'd officially checked out. Would definitely stay there again for any trips up. Honestly, you are a short walk from Marston Green Station and it is 10 mins into Birmingham New Street. No reason to stay in the middle of Birmingham when you can stay in Marston Green and travel in so conveniently. Go, stay there now. Visit Birmingham if you've never seen it. You'll like it:)

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Just stayed 1 night here as visiting the NEC, its a superb location and easy to get to and from Birmingham as well. We stayed in the family room which has 3 single beds, and a bunk bed for a further 2. 2 Bathrooms one with a tub, and the other a shower. Excellent if a family, or single adults alike. The breakfast is yummy, well cooked and plenty of it. Will book again without bothering to find somewhere else. One tip if you are arriving in the dark look for the white lights tree in the front garden.

Room Tip: Single adults sharing get your own bed. On the first floor facing the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank forgetmeknot21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

As a business traveller, it is always nice to come somewhere that makes you feel at home.

The White House Guest house is in an excellent locality for our visits to the NEC, but in a quiet village setting.

The host always makes you feel welcome and produces breakfasts better than the wife!

Excellent value for Money, immaculately presented cosy rooms with a real homely feel to them.

We will be back yet again next year!

The only advice I'd give, is ring the guest house directly to book, as this lady deserves all the pennies she can get for every booking!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_F999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, North Wales
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

We stayed here twice in January 2012 on our way to and from the airport for a holiday flight. The reasons we chose it were free car parking for the 2 week duration of our holiday and it's only a 10 minute taxi ride to and from Birmingham International Airport. The place is spotless having just been re-decorated. I would echo what the other reviewers have said, but it would have been nice to have a lounge to relax in instead of sitting in our bedroom. It's also a little off-putting to be asked for your breakfast choice the previous evening! However, we'll be back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tregarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

Quiet location on a residential street. Immaculately clean. White House beds were great, flat screen TV, free wireless. Very helpful and welcoming manager. I stayed for four nights. On this trip I had just stayed for a week in a rather posh hotel in London, in Westminster. I noted that the in-room coffee/tea service here was far better than at the posh hotel: water kettle at the White House was top of the line and much easier to use--at the posh place the kettle did not separate from the base, and the lid always fell off as well; there were always at least 8 little pots of milk; a full jar of instant coffee--everything was just better and more convenient. This is of course a minor point, but one that was indicative of the place. The management really tries to make the stay pleasant and convenient.

Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Msafiri77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marston Green
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
1.7 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
1.1 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport
Ibis Birmingham Airport
#19 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
1.0 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#21 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,219 reviews
1.6 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House Quality Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House Quality Bed & Breakfast

Property: The White House Quality Bed & Breakfast
Address: 33 Elmdon Road | Birmingham, Marston Green, Solihull B37 7BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Marston Green
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Marston Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality bed and breakfast 1.5 miles from National Exhibition Centre (NEC) and 2 miles from Birmingham Airport. Holiday and business parking available. Various en-suite rooms include twin, single, double, family, and double suite with whirlpool en-suite also a triple room which is not en-suite but has its own personal shower room. Full English breakfast is included with cereal, fruit and yogs. Walking distance to Marston Green railway station only 1 stop to NEC/Airport and takes 3 mins. Birmingham City centre is 14 mins on the train. Close to amenities but not noisy and not under the flight path. Quiet road opposite local church with large parking area to front and overlooking large private garden at rear. Easy access to motorways M6, M42 and A45. Ideal location for exhibitors showing at the National Exhibition Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The White House Quality Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White House Quality Bed & Breakfast Marston Green, Solihull, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing