We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B n B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The White House Quality Bed & Breakfast
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We stayed in a twin room costing £68 in total, including breakfast. It was a lovely, comfortable room and the owner, Carolyn couldn't have been more helpful. It was very convenient for the Airparks car park and subsequently the airport. Only negative is that the shower kept running hot then cold but we only stayed the night so we made do. We went into the local village and ate at a fantastic indian restraurant called Rasa. The breakfast in the morning was satisfactory - nothing special but certainly no complaints.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2013

We stayed here as the B&B that we prefer was booked up, We stayed in the room with the whirl pool which was lovely, the room was spotless as was the bathroom, the room lead onto the conservatory, if the weather had been warmer we would've probably used it. The breakfasts were ok, as massive fans of the Full English it was a little of a dissapointment portion wise, and having to share a jug of orange juice with other tables which was ok, but i'm not one for approaching another table whilst they're in the middle of eating to grab the OJ. If you're a light sleeper i would probably not go for this room as you can hear everything upstairs including guests rolling over in bed. Otherwise we had a lovely stay, the host was lovely, and we would come back again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel12582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Wonderful host Carolyn who accomodated our needs. Finding dinner locations close by was tough but there was a Chinese restaurant in walking distance and a pretty good fish and chip place. Carolyn was fine with us bringing food back and eat in the dining room. We had an early start time at the NEC on the first stay and she made sure we had some breakfast items ready in the fridge. There was a little corner wine store that was handy to get some beers etc.

Room Tip: Ask for the room overlooking the street it is a very nice room with a really comfy bed.....I was sor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe90Aurora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

I stayed at the White House Qulity Bed and Breakfast on the weekend of 23/25th November. Some friends and I were attending a show at the NEC. I booked this B+B due to its proximity to the NEC. When we got there we were welcomed by Carolyn who I had been very helpful with the booking in the first place.
The accomadtaion was warm and the rooms were perfect for us. The beds were clean and comfortable and the house was very very clean as well. Breakfast was excellent nicely cooked and very tasty with a range of teas coffee juices etc.
I would havde no hesitation in recommending The White house as a place to stay. Whether its business or pleasure. The guest house is ideally located to Marsdon Green railway station which offers easy access in and out of Birminham or further afield.
Well done Carolyn, TOP MARKS!!. We will see you again on our next visit.
Padraig Riordan,Glanmire,Cork City Ireland

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Padraig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

A lovely clean, welcoming b&b, inviting from the outside and cosy inside. Stayed overnight while visiting Birmingham NEC for the crafting fair. Nice and easy to find just one train station from the NEC (Marston Green) and had a look on google map before travelling. Carolyn was the perfect hostess showing me around, arranging time I wanted breakfast etc. Had a good fill up the next morning with a delicious breakfast for my busy day ahead. Nothing was a problem for Carolyn, not even when I picked her brains for specific shops on the way back to the train station. I would definately book again when in the area......... maybe next years craft show ;-)

Room Tip: I am confident that all the rooms are as lovely as the one I stayed in -upstairs, front right
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwen_c18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We have been using The White House for 3 years staying 3-4 times a year visiting our grandchildren who live nearby. Carolyn has always made us feel welcome and makes us feel like friends not just guests. Carolyn always asks after the grandchildren and remembers what we have told her in the past. The breakfast is excellent full english freshly cooked and hot. We have stayed in 3 different types of rooms over the years and we cannot fault any of them - very clean, comfortable and with shower cream etc in the bathroom. There is ample off street parking even when full.

All in all I would recommend The White House and especially Carolyn as she is a very kind and personable lady.

Room Tip: If you are a couple the front de-lux double is a very nice bright airy room and very quiet even thou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We were 11 weeks into a 17 week around the World trip, having just left 6 weeks of European food and feeling the need for some good POM food to settle our system down. Carolyn's rooms are tasteful, clean and very homely. The first morning we had a good filling POM breakfast and continued so for the 10 days we lived there visiting relatives in Birmingham. The bonus is that parking was always available and easy.
Carolyn is a great host and we would recommend her Bed and Breakfast to anyone arriving in the West Midlands for a visit to Birmingham or the National Exhibition Centre. The house is situated close enough to the Motorways from all over the UK, and also the Birmingham Airport and Train station.

Room Tip: Write to Carolyn giving her your requirements and she will respond, as she did for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussiePomKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marston Green hotels
0.9 mi away
Heath Lodge
Heath Lodge
#1 of 1 in Marston Green
111 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arden House
Arden House
#3 of 4 in Marston Green
92 reviews
0.9 mi away
Black Firs Guesthouse
Black Firs Guesthouse
#1 of 4 in Marston Green
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pebble Cottage
Pebble Cottage
#2 of 4 in Marston Green
2 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The White House Quality Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House Quality Bed & Breakfast

Address: 33 Elmdon Road | Birmingham, Marston Green, Solihull B37 7BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Marston Green
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Marston Green
Price Range: £78 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality bed and breakfast 1.5 miles from National Exhibition Centre (NEC) and 2 miles from Birmingham Airport. Holiday and business parking available. Various en-suite rooms include twin, single, double, family, and double suite with whirlpool en-suite also a triple room which is not en-suite but has its own personal shower room. Full English breakfast is included with cereal, fruit and yogs. Walking distance to Marston Green railway station only 1 stop to NEC/Airport and takes 3 mins. Birmingham City centre is 14 mins on the train. Close to amenities but not noisy and not under the flight path. Quiet road opposite local church with large parking area to front and overlooking large private garden at rear. Easy access to motorways M6, M42 and A45. Ideal location for exhibitors showing at the National Exhibition Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your The White House Quality Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White House Quality Bed & Breakfast Marston Green, Solihull, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing