We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A chorus of approval”
Review of Amanbagh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Amanbagh
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ajabgarh
Certificate of Excellence
LONDON
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 347 helpful votes
“A chorus of approval”
Reviewed 28 February 2013

So many guests have said so much about Amanbagh, we were tempted to simply say, “Hear! Hear!” and leave it at that.

There are a special few (often luxury) hotels in India, that seem to get it absolutely right and Amanbagh is one of the very best of them.

It is secluded and in a lovely valley. If the setting is rural, the property is sophisticated and immaculate with flawless lawns and clipped hedges, mature eucalypts and date palms. The swimming pools are in deep green marble and the buildings in a soft sandstone colour.

We stayed in a Garden Haveli Suite close to the main building. It had a balcony and a beautiful terrace lined with dwarf bougainvillea, overlooking the rest of the property. The rooms were spacious and superbly designed in a classic take on traditional Indian style. The design is perhaps a little ultra-luxurious-international rather than specifically Indian but there are enough traditional Indian architectural elements to make one aware that one is in Rajasthan and not Saudi Arabia or Bali.

The tremendous care taken over the design of the suites is reflected in every item in the Amanbagh. There is not a piece of cutlery, a bowl, a light-fitting or a cup that isn’t pleasing to the eye and a pleasure to use.

Completely private, elegant and peaceful it is clearly an outstanding property.

The staff, many of whom are local, offer charming and immaculate service of the very highest standard. They are discreetly unobtrusive but always friendly. It is to the credit of the management team that some of the staff have achieved the highest standards having started as village people with little or no English. Nothing is too much trouble. If the staff are faking their concern for the guests’ comfort then they deserve Academy Awards.

The management seem to have thought of everything, from the cane in the umbrella stand should one need to threaten the monkeys who occasionally come over the wall foraging for fruit, to the placement of the power-points liberally throughout the suite. Not that monkeys are a problem and there are monkey-men on the staff who deal with any intruding macaques or languars.

The website and the literature make the property seem almost impossibly immaculate. The reality is that a large team of gardeners and other staff ensure that what you see in the photographs, is what you get in reality.

There are interesting excursions organised by Amanbagh. We greatly enjoyed the visit to the City of Ghosts and the village tour. We also enjoyed a stroll from the back gate to the front via the wall of a local dam where we watched flocks of bee-eaters in the trees and painted storks in the water.

We sometimes say that there is always a serpent in Paradise and that if you look hard enough you will find something amiss in the best run hotel. As far as we are aware Amanbagh is an exception. The only drawback is, at the end of the day, you have to pay a very considerable bill. It’s worth it.

Room Tip: We thought the Garden Haveli Suite facing the central pool and with an elevated terrace perfect. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Boulbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    20
    2
    4
    0
See reviews for
42
116
4
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
milan italy
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We stayed for 2 nites enroute from Delhi to Jaipur. While it was very remote and the small road into amanbagh was bumpy and windy for about 45km, we soon forgot the tribulations once we arrived at the property. Not much to do, I have to fore warn others, but enjoy the birds and beauty of the place.
We had a room overlooking the pool and definitely recommend this over the lower level courtyard Room. We ate all meals there, no other choice really, but it was good and competent except for the breakfast pastries which could be improved on.
All in all, an architectural marvel in the middle of nowhere. One gripe was the unheated pool which meant it was not really useable. No one else was using it either. February is way too cold to swim in an unheated pool in rajas than.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christopherong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This is an experience worth coming for and driving a ridiculous amount of distance and time for. We drove from Delhi to Amanbagh for a ridiculous 7 hours. The road once you have to take the turn towards Ajabgarh was unfinished, and reaching took forever. But once you get there, you are treated like royalty. We had suites, each room is exquisite. The bathrooms are jaw droppingly lavish. If you don't feel like a king here, I don't know what will! The food was amazing. It's a place to come for a weekend with your friends - a pricey one though. Make sure you take a drive up to the glorious Amanbagh fort. Make this trip knowing that getting here is a bother, but its worth the effort. It's a place to celebrate your anniversary, or a romantic getaway. No one makes you feel more like royalty than a trip to Rajasthan, and this property even more.

Room Tip: They have rooms with private pools, as well as suites on top with jharokhas. Ask to see both, and ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FizzyGubbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

The Hotel driver picked us up @ New Delhi airport @ 11pm and it took hours to get to the Hotel; it was a bizarre and unique experience, we thought we were about to die at the next corner but we did it and got in one piece to the Amanbagh Resort.

Glad that we ventured!

Everything @ Amanbagh is close to perfection, even for the standards expected from an Aman Resorts - we are Amanjunkies and know well other properties.

We took by the word the activities program recommended by the Hotel and it was wonderful; even the outdoor Yoga @ 5:30am was super, I must confess that my wife did push me hard to wake up @ 5am but it was "the experience".

If you like history, Amanbagh was the place where the Mughal Armies stayed before invading Delhi and, still to these days, there are some examples of Mughal architecture that you can see - ask your guide to take you to the old fort and to nomadic Mughal houses - yes, the Mughal nomad people is still between us ( if I am not wrong; the Mughals set around Amanbagh in nov/feb every year).

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garrincha02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, UK
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Really all the other reviews say it all - a magical place , wonderful staff ,wonderful food - the hotel arrange for you to visit the villages, places of interest & walks etc. Excellent Spa.
Well worth getting off the beaten track for. We came from Aman-i -Khas & the hotel arranged the transfer etc. with an excellent driver.We stayed in a pavilion room which is out of this world, but all rooms are stunning. This place is a jewel - visit now if you can.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyBKent_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

There is something very special about the location of the tranquil Amanbagh. It is only two hours from Jaipur and is a beautiful spot to recover from the city life and just BE. The staff is wonderful. I saw a review that said they could use room for improvement, but I did not find that to be the case at all. They greet you like you are a special guest.....and then the entire staff sees you off when you go. The hotel itself is beautiful. We stayed in a Pool Pavilion Suite, which was over the top luxurious - with his and her closets! SUCH decadent accommodations! We looked at the other rooms as well and they are all VERY spacious, very beautiful and you simply couldn't go wrong with any of the room types. If you want a view, make sure you reserve the right category. We were there for three nights, which was perfect. There are many things to do there - walking tours, the abandoned city of Bangharh, the local village. It was so interesting! Their spa treatments are fantastic. Definitely get the foot reflexology while there!
The food was phenomenal- you'll not run out of choices during your entire stay. There is Indian and Continental to choose from. When we complimented the chef on a breakfast item, he printed the recipe for us! We felt like guests in someone's home. The place is a palace, it is definitely worth making the drive to this property. For those who do not feel like driving, they have a helipad and can arrange for a helicopter. They also have a private airstrip about 20 minutes away. This property is nestled in the most stunning location. Aman is the Sanskrit word for 'peace' and this property truly is peaceful. It was the best sleep we had during our entire two weeks touring India. Absolutely wonderful.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SafariSnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malibu, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Just imagine, driving in the middle of India, going through towns, all of a sudden you are driving down a dusty road and enter heaven! We were greeted by 4 beautiful women, who gave us offerings and sang to us. This was the welcome we experienced. This hotel and the surrounding villages and people, made our stay very memorable. Nothing is overlooked. The Rooms are perfect. The food delicious, the staff gracious, the Spa heaven. We rode camels, watched a camel polo match while having high tea. I celebrated my birthday here on Christmas and they made me feel so very special. The flower art around the property is amazing, the garlands hanging everywhere were beautiful. The lights and candles at night were a sight to see. We walked into the village one morning and had chances to be among the beautiful people. I would go back in a heart beat! LOVED IT!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ajabgarh
14.4 mi away
Sariska - Tiger Heaven, A Sterling Holidays Resort
16.6 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Ramgarh Lodge Jaipur
21.6 mi away
Achrol Niwas A Treehouse Resort Jaipur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Grand Hira Resorts
Grand Hira Resorts
#2 of 8 in Neemrana
142 reviews
19.5 mi away
The Tree House Resort
The Tree House Resort
#6 of 418 in Jaipur
576 reviews
24.8 mi away
The Shiv Vilas
The Shiv Vilas
#52 of 383 in Jaipur
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanbagh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanbagh

Property: Amanbagh
Address: Ajabgarh 301027, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Alwar District > Ajabgarh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ajabgarh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Amanbagh 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amanbagh is a verdant oasis of mature palm, fruit and eucalyptus trees lying within a walled compound, once the staging area for royal hunts. Evoking the palatial elegance of the Moghul era, Amanbagh's Haveli suites and pool pavilions provide a tranquil base from which to explore the rich heritage of Rajasthan, India's dramatic frontier region. Amanbagh's award-winning design features domed cupolas and private courtyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and MrandMrsSmith so you can book your Amanbagh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanbagh Hotel Ajabgarh
Amanbagh Hotel Alwar
Amanbagh Resort Alwar
Amanbagh India/Ajabgarh, Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing